We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and charming escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
28 gates Luxury Farmstay and Fishery
Ranked #4 of 12 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2013

28 Gates was the perfect location for us to celebrate my husband's birthday with a short luxury getaway from the kids! The house itself is beautifully presented and full of all the important finishing touches, like fine linen and tasty treats, but what truly made the stay was essentially exclusive access to the huge farmlands where we enjoyed a couple of walks and beautiful scenery. It felt like a true escape, to a place full of lush green rolling hills and steeped in history. The morning birdsong was amazing and the host Susie was very friendly and generous. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

I was lucky enough to stay at 28 gates, it was a perfect night. The provisions were excellent and went well above and beyond what i expected, we stayed in and enjoyed the warm fire, cosy couches, a good bottle of free wine, and a very comfy bed, what more could we ask for? A lovely long farm walk the next morning, well we got that too.... perfect. Thank you 28 Gates.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We were treated to a night at 28 gates - luxury, peace and quiet, away from everything - just what we needed. Nothing left unthought of... Attention to the finer details made for such a comfortable stay. Great options for meals and amazing breakfast!

Susie is a wonderful host.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the beautiful 28 Gates accomodation with some girlfriends celebrating a 40th birthday. The Bloomfield property is the perfect location for what was a weekend of total luxury.
The wonderful old building has been transformed with plenty of space and gorgeous touches. We particularly liked the fact that artwork was produced by local artists.
On arrival we were greeted with fresh bread, wine and a fully stocked kitchen that all added to the charm. Our trip around the farm with our host Susie was also a highlight.
A tranquil, luxurious stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We recently had a night stay at 28 gates Cottage, and are unbelievabley impressed. It really is the best boutique accommodation we have stayed at.

The drive through the derwent Valley is nothing short of breath taking, rolling hills, green pasture and then once we arrrived at our location the beautiful bush and farmingland makes you want to inhale the air around you!

All the things you expect are here and there are none of the little things that genreally might annoy you.

Beds are huge and comfortable with really good qulaity bedding. Pillows are like the ones you have at home, not the big fluggy ones that hotels go for these days and your head sinks into with no support.

The place is tastefully decorated. Furnsihings are beautiful thorughout and makes you feel like you have been invited into someones home, the type of the place that you might like to live also. Accommodation is over two floors, with plenty of entertaining area's. The freestanding bath was our highlight, the overally large window that frames the bath has a view that makes you drift of into the abyss! Hmmmmm

A few more little things that get ticks: small touches like the warm home made bread waiting for us, complimentary sparkling wine, gumb boots in your size for any out door adventures, postcards stamped with images of 28 gates accommodation, and better yet they posted them for us, i dont know about you but when I have intensions of sending a postcard it tends to makes it way back into my suitcase with me! And last of all the fully catered breakfast, which we had no hessitation to fry up the next morning.

A really great place to stay with great friendly service and all the small details thought about.

A class act all around.

We stayed in September 2012.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonnySavanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Norfolk hotels
2.2 mi away
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in New Norfolk
99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Junction Motel
Junction Motel
#1 of 3 in New Norfolk
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Derwent Valley Resort
Derwent Valley Resort
#11 of 12 in New Norfolk
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosie's Inn
Rosie's Inn
#2 of 12 in New Norfolk
69 reviews
3.8 mi away
Heimat Chalets
Heimat Chalets
#2 of 8 in New Norfolk
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 28 gates Luxury Farmstay and Fishery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 28 gates Luxury Farmstay and Fishery

Address: 662 Marked Tree Rd, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia (Formerly 28 Gates Luxury Farmstead)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range: £234 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
28 gates is a little piece of boutique luxury in Tasmania's beautiful Derwent Valley, just one hours' drive west of Hobart. This stand-out building is located within the bounds of historic "Bloomfield", a 6th generation grazing property that dates back to 1862, just a few years before British troops departed Colonial Australia. It is distinctive for its 5000 acres of sweeping pastures, rolling hills and trout-rich lakes. At least 60 species of birds have been noted here, including 9 of the 12 endemic birds of Tasmania. The accommodation itself is nestled within the working farm, and on the shores of five lakes well stocked with Rainbow Trout, Wild Brown Trout and Brook Trout. The characteristic 28 gates building has been dedicated to offering premium, spacious accommodation for up to six people. Nothing has been overlooked during a complete refurbishment, transforming it from its former life initially as our stables and grain lofts, then later as shearers' quarters. Opened in October 2011, this unique and tranquil accommodation in Tasmania is now yours to discover. We offer the perfect combination of full self-catering facilities and indulgent comforts for your next holiday. 28 gates offers the ideal haven for couples wanting a romantic get-away or a serene "Baby-moon" before that special arrival. Families and groups will enjoy the wide open spaces and range of trails on tap for a dose of Tasmanian wildlife and bird watching. And fly fishing enthusiasts will be thrilled with the hunt for Wild BrownTrout, Rainbow Trout and Brook Trout in the lakes, right on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 28 gates Luxury Farmstay and Fishery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
28 Gates Luxury Farmstay And Fishery New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing