We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Norfolk
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed three nights at Woodbridge on the Derwent. The hosts were so welcoming, and full of helpful advice about the area. On our first evening we had dinner there. The food was beautiful, and sitting at the window we had a gorgeous view of the river. It was very romantic, especially since we were there on our wedding anniversary.
We loved the personal touches, such as having our names on the door of our room. We also loved the sauna and spa, especially since no one else was using it at the time!
Just up the road is The Bush Inn, which is one of the oldest pubs in Australia.
An incredible coincidence was that I was looking for some relatives from the First Fleet who were buried nearby, and John directed me to the exact obscure cemetery where they were buried. Very much appreciated! I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear ElizabethS2

How wonderful that you were able to find your ancestor's gravesite, and delighted that we wer able to help. Being a descendant of the First Fleeters is such a buzz - Makes you 'family'!

New Norfolk is such a significant centre for early Tasmanian and Australian history - it is not well known that our town pre-dates Port Arthur. I have been thinking of creating a special 'history experience' option for our guests, including a visit to 'your' gravesite where rests the first white woman to step ashore in Australia. I would be interested to hear any ideas that you have for this experience.

Thank you for the lovely photos that you posted. Not long after these were taken we had extreme heat and wind .... And the garden 'collapsed' and had to cropped right back!!

So glad that you enjoyed Woodbridge and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Laurelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Woodbridge on the Derwent
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Woodbridge, Beautifully restored retaining all the old world charm together with 5 star accomodation we were not disappointed. Woodbridge is the perfect escape if you are looking to relax, enjoy & luxury accomodation this is definitely the place to go. John,Laurell & staff made our stay both enjoyable and memorable. From the food to the sauna we enjoyed every minute,we will definitley be returning to stay on our next trip to Tasmania.
Rosemary & Andrew.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosemaryl511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Rosemaryl511

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Woodbridge.

If you loved the old world charm, the luxury and the food at Woodbridge, you will be very well pleased with our plans for next season. Each day, guests will return from their daily explorations to an elegant afternoon cream tea, before visitng the Convict Lockup wine cellar to select wines for dinner. We think that these lazy-hazy afternoons will be just perfect for those seeking relaxation and time together and I will look forward to your critique of this when next you are here.

I look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Laurelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the start of our Tasmanian trip and what a lovely surprise. Great location and a lovely welcome. The room was excellent and the food first class as was the service. The young Italian couple really made the stay with their friendly service and great food.
If we ever make it to Tasmania again (it is a bit out of the way when you live in the UK!) we'll visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Trevor R

We certainly hope that we will be able to share Woodbridge with you many times - Folkstone might be on the other side of the world, but, if you think positively, it is only a couple of meals and a few movies away, and this is a great opportunity to catch up on the movies you have missed!!

Seriously though, I am delighted that you so enjoyed everything at Woodbridge during your stay. Woodbridge and its setting on the river are quite magical, isn't it, and I will convey to the staff your compliments about the food and service.

Regards
Laurelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

we were mesmerised by the personalised name plate outside our room. it was the coolest thing we have seen. John took real good care of us, their spa is fantastic, one of a kind jacuzzi and must go to if you are staying here.
the rooms are clean as it can be, it gives the old vintage feeling with modern equipment. there is a peach tree of which we plucked several peaches and ate, the river in the front of the place is breathtaking, clean drinkable water from the river, service is top notch.
it is expensive, would love if the prices ever come down, i would surely love to stay for longer. however we got our money's worth was worth paying the price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atwin90frames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnTasmania, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Dear Harsh

We has been our pleasure to welcome you and your charming (new) wife to Woodbridge. Thank you for entrusting your honeymoon to us, and for coming all the way from Mumbai - we are indeed honoured.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you both to Woodbridge again, some time in the future, perhaps for an anniversary.

Regards
Laurelle Grimley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We (2 couples) have just had a long weekend at Woodbridge & loved every minute of it. This was our second visit – the last being about 6 years ago – and it was fantastic. From the minute we arrived around lunchtime & were greeted by Sharon, we were treated like very special guests and nothing was too much trouble for her. We arrived earlier than the normal check-in time but this didn't phase her and we weren't made to feel as though we were in the way. We were shown to a little table outside overlooking the river with drinks & nibblies and left to chat but she was always within calling distance if we needed anything.

We had dinner there the first night and were waited on by John, one of the owners, who again went out of his way to ensure we had a pleasant stay and that everything went smoothly. The food was very tasty and well presented and there wasn't too much of it so you didn't leave the table feeling stuffed. Breakfasts were well thought out with plenty of variety and nobody could ever leave the table hungry. The bedrooms were large, well presented & comfortable & had everything necessary to make for a pleasant stay. There are a variety of areas for sitting whether inside or out so the guests are not in each others' way if they want some space.

We took advantage of the limousine service they offered & took the seaplane flight (the plane landed on the river right in front of the hotel) over the South West & it was spectacular. We also went to MONA and the hotel is within an easy drive there & back – easier than staying in Hobart – & Mt Field National Park is a nice drive up the road.

John & Laurelle have done a wonderful job restoring the old building and the hotel is well worth a stay. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kez53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnTasmania, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2013

Dear Kez53

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your stay at Woodbridge. We are always delighted that guests enjoy their time here, but it is particularly special when guests return to us again and again - there can be no greater compliment for Woodbridge!

Guests are really enjoying our fabulous Experiences - the Seaplane landing on the river in front of Woodbridge is spectacular, isn't it? We will continue to develop new experiences which we hope will continue to excite and delight!

We look forward to welcoming you to Woodbridge again.

Regards
Laurelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

amazing, fantastic and wonderfull really do sum up the food, service and fview. We just were blown away with the service real gold service, like you do not get anymore. Could not fault it. Try it, you will not be dissapointed, we will definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank veramit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear VeraH

So glad you enjoyed Woodbridge. We think that 'she' is a very special place indeed, and we loved sharing her with you.

With the period charm of The Pavilion, and the wonderful service and attention to detail that you so appreciated, we like to think that we can transport people to a bygone era, if only for a little while - one elderly visitor recently remarked that it was like 'having tea with her aunt at Raffles in colonial Singapore, when she was a girl"

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Laurelle Grimley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? The moment we arrived, we were blown away with the view! The owner John greeted us and he was very friendly and helpful as it was him n his wife who helped plan our trip and booked it for us at no extra charge! Our room had a old English touch to it. AWESOME! Room was spacious and extremely clean. The service they gave us was very personalized! We had dinner there and it was amazing! We will definitely go back. Only problem is its about 30mins from Hobart CBD and 50mins from airport. this hotel doesn't provide pick up from airport. apart from that, everything was top notch!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwastherewoohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Iwastherewoohoo

Yes, I never tire of looking at that river either - there is something very soothing about looking at water, and especially when it is so close that you can see every ripple!

Delighted that you enjoyed your time at Woodbridge and hope that we may welcome you back in the not too distant future...... I personally love that drive to us, hugging the river, but next time you might consider the 'add on' experience of a limo transfer from the airport (with a black Jag option) or even a helicopter transfer !!

Regards
Laurelle Grimley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Norfolk
15.3 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#4 of 48 in Hobart
451 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
10.6 mi away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#9 of 48 in Hobart
399 reviews
15.8 mi away
MACq 01 Hotel
MACq 01 Hotel
#1 of 48 in Hobart
256 reviews
15.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodbridge on the Derwent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodbridge on the Derwent

Address: 6 Bridge St | New Norfolk, Hobart, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Norfolk
Price Range: £261 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodbridge on the Derwent 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodbridge on the Derwent is a spectacular Heritage listed Small Luxury Hotel, on the banks of the Derwent River. Woodbridge has only nine luxury suites and rooms, and a maximum of 18 guests. Amenities include the Reading Boom, the Ballroom, riverfront Pavilion, sauna, hot-tub, complimentary bicycles and kayaks.The valley and the river provide walks, cycling, kayaking,fly fishing, wineries, cooking schools. Woodbridge offers personalised service, wonderful food and wine, and rich and luxurious rest and relaxation in one of Australia's oldest Grand Homes. Woodbridge is the only Five Star hotel in Tasmania ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodbridge on the Derwent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbridge On The Derwent New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing