We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away in quiet cul-de-sac”
Review of Rosie's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosie's Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Tucked away in quiet cul-de-sac”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed here for a night on a brief driving tour of Tasmania. Comfortable premises with lovely hosts who have been running this establishment for over 25 years! Lots of history abounds – the walls are covered with historical photos and news cuttings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We finally found Rosie's Inn after driving some time down (or is it up) from Queenstown via Russell Falls in Mt Field National Park. When we got our directions straight it really wasn't that far off the directions per Google. We had diverted to Russell Falls.

We were greeted by Rosie and she spent time visiting with us, which was our objective, otherwise just spend the night at a motel. She has several rooms and we may have been the only guests (can't remember). I think this may have been due to the floods up in Queensland that the Aussies had not been travelling. This was after mid-January.

Rosie's Inn is located at the end of a small street and is the largest building there and is well marked and surrounded by roses. You can't miss it once you found the street. Coming into New Norfolk you go straight instead of crossing the bridge. The street will be on the left a block or two. If you are an American be sure to drive on the left and look to the right at intersections as almost got wiped out by a garbage truck.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colac, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed with Rosie and Colin again on this trip to Tasmania. The decor is very "rosy" and maybe a little fussy for some tastes, but the cleanliness and maintenance of the entire property is a credit to the effort and hard work they obviously put in to keep this property to the highest of standards. The little emergency bag is appreciated to attend to those little clothes mishaps (needle thread and all the other little bits and pieces that you never seem to have on you). Rosie's Inn reminds me of an English B & B and the lovely breakfasts and the kindness of Rosie and Colin make you feel that you are a very welcome house guest of theirs. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelliebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I have little to add to the other reviews. We needed a night to stay near Mt. Fields National Park, and New Norfolk was the closest accomodation we could find. New Norfolk is in a beautiful setting, and the inn is a quiet neighborhood location. The garden is full of flowers. The decoration might be a little busy for some; cozy for others, with patterned fabrics, lace, flowers and women's straw hats scattered all around. New Norfolk would be worth a longer stay, with great scenery, the river running through it, and walking paths and riverboat rides.
Rosie was very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadow010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Rosie herself was very helpful and friendly. She makes fantastic omelets for breakfast. Though some may find the décor a little kitsch we loved it. Very cosy and romantic. It had the feel of an old fashioned guest house. We had a spa room which was very spacious. The off street parking is under cover. Though a rail line runs behind the property it doesn’t look like a train has run along it for years.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quiet-Pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innerleithen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

It was only once you got beyond the roses that one appreciated what a very special place this is. We had not booked and had intended to stay one night and to move into a hotel In Hobart for our last night of a weeks visit to Tasmania. We so enjoyed our first night we decided it was worth the drive back from Hobart to stay a second night. Rosie and Colin Woods were perfect hosts and every aspect of the hotel was of a very high standard. A visit to the kitchen to pay my bill on departure was further evidence as if it were needed, of a very well run establishment. No complaints only bouquets of roses of course!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InnerleithenJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

Rosie's Inn was a great choice for our night's stay in New Norfolk. Located in a cul de sac and therefore very quiet, the building is surrounded by beautiful gardens which are a credit to Rosie and Colin, the gracious owners of the Inn. We chose a deluxe suite which comprised a bedroom with a very comfortable bed, a sitting room with two comfortable arm chairs to watch TV and a lovely ensuite bathroom. A generous continental breakfast was served in the dining room with other guests. (Cooked is also available) The decor at Rosie's Inn is perhaps a little dated but I feel that fact only added to the charm of the place and the uniqueness of the whole experience. We had made our booking via their excellent website, paid a very reasonable tariff and we hope to return next time we visit New Norfolk.

  • Liked — Uniqueness and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank porge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Explorers Lodge
Explorers Lodge
#4 of 12 in New Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
Stanton Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 12 in New Norfolk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Derwent Valley Resort
Derwent Valley Resort
#10 of 12 in New Norfolk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
15.3 mi away
Duffy's Country Accommodation
Duffy's Country Accommodation
#2 of 7 in New Norfolk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
#6 of 12 in New Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosie's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosie's Inn

Property: Rosie's Inn
Address: 5 Oast St, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosie's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Bed and Breakfast Private Hotel offers you a home away from home. Elegance, comfort, attentive hosts, complimentary breakfast and all the modern facilities one associates with quality accommodation can be found at Rosie's. Situated in a quiet residential cul-de-sac close to the River Derwent and surrounded by fragrant trees, shrubs and roses makes Rosie's an ideal relaxing location to visit the south eastern part of Tasmania. Just 30 minutes from the harbour city of Hobart or the wilderness of Mt. Field National Park, historic New Norfolk with is beautiful semi-rural aspect, provides ATM's, restaurants, antique shops, supermarkets, petrol and many other services which a town with a population of 6000+ has. Don't just spend a night! Give yourself time to savour the atmosphere and attention to detail that Rosie's is so famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Rosie's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosie's Inn New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing