We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Rosie's Inn is gorgeous””
Review of Rosie's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosie's Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
Guildford
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
““Rosie's Inn is gorgeous””
Reviewed 8 January 2012

All the rooms were exquisitely furnished. Rosie and Colin are very hospitable and friendly hosts. Rosie's Inn is much larger than I had imagined but the beautifully kept garden was not as large as I had visualised. Our spacious suite was immaculate and simply perfect. Complimentary port is supplied which was most acceptable.

After relaxing for some time in our rooms we walked into New Norfolk. It is not a particularly attractive town, but it does have two bakeries, and after some searching we found the lovely Cake Lady Café at 3 Fowler Court. We arrived a little after the advertized closing time but that is apparently fairly elastic and Stephanie Wood was quite happy to serve us; she makes all the food herself and it all looked so delicious that it was quite hard to make a decision, particularly as regards her gorgeous looking cakes.

Colin was very informative, particularly about the Gordon River cruises. Apparently a large part of Tasmania is owned by a wealthy family who live in Melbourne; they own anything with the name “Pure Tasmania” which included one of the Gordon river boat cruises. We decided to book instead the World Heritage Cruise in Strahan, the red boat, which has been family owned over many generations and is the original cruise company.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amazingfuntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

What a lovely B & B to stay in. Rooms where very comfortable and clean. Everything you could possibly need has been thought of in these rooms. Breakfast was wonderfull, then for our history tour down the hallways reading all the information of the building. Before you leave be sure to have a wonder in the gardens, just beautifull. You can definately see the love, care, attention to detail and hard work that has gone into this accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed here for a night on a brief driving tour of Tasmania. Comfortable premises with lovely hosts who have been running this establishment for over 25 years! Lots of history abounds – the walls are covered with historical photos and news cuttings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We finally found Rosie's Inn after driving some time down (or is it up) from Queenstown via Russell Falls in Mt Field National Park. When we got our directions straight it really wasn't that far off the directions per Google. We had diverted to Russell Falls.

We were greeted by Rosie and she spent time visiting with us, which was our objective, otherwise just spend the night at a motel. She has several rooms and we may have been the only guests (can't remember). I think this may have been due to the floods up in Queensland that the Aussies had not been travelling. This was after mid-January.

Rosie's Inn is located at the end of a small street and is the largest building there and is well marked and surrounded by roses. You can't miss it once you found the street. Coming into New Norfolk you go straight instead of crossing the bridge. The street will be on the left a block or two. If you are an American be sure to drive on the left and look to the right at intersections as almost got wiped out by a garbage truck.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colac, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed with Rosie and Colin again on this trip to Tasmania. The decor is very "rosy" and maybe a little fussy for some tastes, but the cleanliness and maintenance of the entire property is a credit to the effort and hard work they obviously put in to keep this property to the highest of standards. The little emergency bag is appreciated to attend to those little clothes mishaps (needle thread and all the other little bits and pieces that you never seem to have on you). Rosie's Inn reminds me of an English B & B and the lovely breakfasts and the kindness of Rosie and Colin make you feel that you are a very welcome house guest of theirs. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelliebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I have little to add to the other reviews. We needed a night to stay near Mt. Fields National Park, and New Norfolk was the closest accomodation we could find. New Norfolk is in a beautiful setting, and the inn is a quiet neighborhood location. The garden is full of flowers. The decoration might be a little busy for some; cozy for others, with patterned fabrics, lace, flowers and women's straw hats scattered all around. New Norfolk would be worth a longer stay, with great scenery, the river running through it, and walking paths and riverboat rides.
Rosie was very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadow010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Rosie herself was very helpful and friendly. She makes fantastic omelets for breakfast. Though some may find the décor a little kitsch we loved it. Very cosy and romantic. It had the feel of an old fashioned guest house. We had a spa room which was very spacious. The off street parking is under cover. Though a rail line runs behind the property it doesn’t look like a train has run along it for years.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quiet-Pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Norfolk
0.2 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
80 reviews
18.3 mi away
National Park Hotel
National Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Field National Park
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Junction Motel
Junction Motel
#1 of 3 in New Norfolk
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Explorers Lodge
Explorers Lodge
#4 of 12 in New Norfolk
64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
#6 of 12 in New Norfolk
83 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hamlet Downs Country Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosie's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosie's Inn

Property: Rosie's Inn
Address: 5 Oast St, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosie's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Bed and Breakfast Private Hotel offers you a home away from home. Elegance, comfort, attentive hosts, complimentary breakfast and all the modern facilities one associates with quality accommodation can be found at Rosie's. Situated in a quiet residential cul-de-sac close to the River Derwent and surrounded by fragrant trees, shrubs and roses makes Rosie's an ideal relaxing location to visit the south eastern part of Tasmania. Just 30 minutes from the harbour city of Hobart or the wilderness of Mt. Field National Park, historic New Norfolk with is beautiful semi-rural aspect, provides ATM's, restaurants, antique shops, supermarkets, petrol and many other services which a town with a population of 6000+ has. Don't just spend a night! Give yourself time to savour the atmosphere and attention to detail that Rosie's is so famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rosie's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosie's Inn New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing