We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality, comfortable rooms”
Review of Rosie's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosie's Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Rosie's Inn for 2 nights while visiting family and it is conveniently located for a side trip to MONA. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming. We had an immaculately clean and spacious suite overlooking the beautiful rose garden. Rosie and Colin are very knowledgeable of the local area and full of use tips and suggestions, even making dinner reservations for us. The public areas are very clean and accommodation and breakfast while was only continental, it was delicious with home made jams and stewed fruits. We will stay here again when we come back to Hobart.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Rosie's Inn was a great find. The accommodation is spacious and quite remarkable, although we found some of the décor a little kitsch. The public rooms are very large and comfortable, as was our suite. Rosie and Colin are a charming couple and they keep their accommodation very clean. We really enjoyed our breakfast and would recommend this property to anyone visiting New Norfolk. However we did find the hike into the town centre a little wearying and eventually had to succumb to using the car to do our shopping.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AidenAbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We really enjoyed our two night stay. This is a lovely property with an interesting history. The hosts are wonderful and go out of their way to make sure you are settled. We had a nice room with a sitting area and bedroom. It was immaculately clean. The gardens are excellent too.

We stayed in New Norfolk as a base to see MONA. It is a short drive and there is plenty of parking there but best to arrive early. We did not want to venture into Hobart this trip. The museum was excellent and exceeded our expectations. You need a full day to appreciate it.

The breakfast was good with the hosts making tea and toast for you. We met some fellow travelers and it was interesting to hear what they were doing.

The only drawback of New Norfolk is the eating options. YMMV

Room Tip: The larger room was worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wing6rider-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Thank you for our stay at Rosie's. This B&B is a great stopping over spot. Both Rosie and Colin were wonderful hosts and are to be congratulated on their beautiful gardens. This would have to be one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed in which is quite a feat considering the amount of decor there is. I would recommend a stay here and the only slight criticism is that the bed was a little small for my six foot tall husband. It is nice to be made so welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Collette27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place and the gardens were a delight. Very comfortable suite, which was well laid out. Rosie is an excellent host. Breakfast was very good and well worth the extra for Rosie's special omelette. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at Rosie's in March 2013 and received a warm welcome. The rooms were not particularly large though perfectly adequate as all we wanted it for was to get some sleep. The bed was comfortable. The breakfasts were very good. I would recommend this as a good value place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We agree with the other comment here about the over-the-top decor. B & B's should definitely have personality but this was just a bit much. That said the common rooms are huge even if the bed is JUST a double (and noisy). Rosie and Colin maintain impeccable gardens and grounds and were most gracious on our arrival.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Bloke48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Norfolk hotels
0.2 mi away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Junction Motel
Junction Motel
#1 of 3 in New Norfolk
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shingles Riverside Cottages
Shingles Riverside Cottages
#2 of 8 in New Norfolk
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
#6 of 12 in New Norfolk
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Colony Inn B&B
Old Colony Inn B&B
#5 of 12 in New Norfolk
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Derwent
Glen Derwent
#7 of 12 in New Norfolk
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosie's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosie's Inn

Address: 5 Oast St, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range: £65 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosie's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Bed and Breakfast Private Hotel offers you a home away from home. Elegance, comfort, attentive hosts, complimentary breakfast and all the modern facilities one associates with quality accommodation can be found at Rosie's. Situated in a quiet residential cul-de-sac close to the River Derwent and surrounded by fragrant trees, shrubs and roses makes Rosie's an ideal relaxing location to visit the south eastern part of Tasmania. Just 30 minutes from the harbour city of Hobart or the wilderness of Mt. Field National Park, historic New Norfolk with is beautiful semi-rural aspect, provides ATM's, restaurants, antique shops, supermarkets, petrol and many other services which a town with a population of 6000+ has. Don't just spend a night! Give yourself time to savour the atmosphere and attention to detail that Rosie's is so famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosie's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosie's Inn New Norfolk, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing