We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing really really dissapointing”

Tynwald Willowbend Estate
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in New Norfolk
Price range: US$19 - US$75
Cuisines: Australian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Greater Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Dissapointing really really dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We enjoyed the meal, until one of the people in our group found a live bug in their meal and amazingly on being told this the wife of the husband and wife duo, said "sorry about that and proceeded to scoop it of the plate, I MEAN! and said UNBELIEVABLY sorry about that!!!!. Then when we came to pay (there were 7 of us and we had 3 entertainment cards between us) the wife said we dont do that anymore, we have withdrawn. Well no one else seems to know about that and we will only honour 2 cards. DISGUSTING. the husband was heard to say to his wifet is not worth our while, well you agreed to go in the book, no one twisted your arm. We went because they are in the book, we will not go again book or not. Although now they have pulled out one presumes they will not be in the book next year. And the price was astonishingly expensive. For an ordinary meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank veramit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little different but great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We bought a Tasmania "Entertainment Book" before travelling around (highly recommended) that contains vouchers for all kinds of stuff, and a "free" main course at Tynwald Willowbank Estate was included.

We had to ring the doorbell to get in and were shown into a beautiful room where we sat near a honeymooning couple who were staying in the onsite accommodation.

The menu presented to us was unusual because it had only one entree and one dessert, both tasting plates, that were big enough for two to share. There was a chickpea curry with harissa, chicken and leek pie and smoked salmon with horseradish on a potato rosti. All were delicious. For mains I had lamb rump with pink-eye potatoes that were to die for. The quantity of meat far outweighed everything else on the plate - not something I'm likely to complain about. I asked for a spoon to finish the jus as I couldn't let it go to waste. My wife had the blue-eye trevalla kiev - stuffed with herb butter and crumbed. Very tasty and original. The honeymooning couple had other dishes including wallaby stew which apparently doesn't taste like kangaroo.

The chef made a number of appearances and this definitely added to the evening.

The dessert tasting plate had four items with our favourites being the brandy-flavoured sago pudding and the lemon tart made with choux pastry.

All in all, a great meal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going against the grain!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

To be honest we have eaten here twice and the food was a delight but the hosts were not! We gave it a second chance as the history and decor of the place is wonderful. But to our great disappointment is was the same as the first time and I couldn't have felt more unwelcome and embarrassed by the service and attitudes of the hosts. My parents went there for an anniversary and couldn't have been more disappointed with the service and the awful way the hosts had presented themselves with hushed arguments between the two of them, leaving Mum and Dad feeling most uncomfortable. So thats 3 times we have been there - all with a disappointing result.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 154travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Lost in Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

Loved Everything about this lost in time Estate. Accommodation rooms, dining experience and the extensive grounds are superb

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank zholsz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great hosts and fantastic B&B and Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

What a delightful place to stay! Loved the tasteful decor and historical nature of the home. Such a comfortable bed! Had a scrumptious meal in the restaurant. The venison was magnifique! Thank you Pat and Gary for being such friendly hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed having a chat with you. We will definitely call again when we are next in Tasmania! Thank you from Alastair and Glenda.

Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tynwald Willowbend Estate also viewed

New Norfolk, Tasmania
New Norfolk, Tasmania
 
New Norfolk, Tasmania
 

Been to Tynwald Willowbend Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing