We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable”
Review of Blue Waters Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Waters Hotel
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Had heard bad report about blue waters decided to go anyway. The food was really great, the staff very friendly. We stayed for a few hours to enjoy the views and a little flutter on the horses .
Will be there again real soon .

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our group of eleven arrived on Sunday 23/6/13 for lunch. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Meals were excellent and thoroughly enjoyed by all.
This was the second time we had visited and dined at these premises in June. A good variety of food on offer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just spent a delightful couple of hours with our Car Club at this Motel for Sunday lunch. We found the service to be quick - great selection of food to cater for all tastes - good prices and friendly staff. Beautiful views and good atmosphere. Will visit again!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

On a public holiday we thought we should book... but there was really no need as it was almost empty. It could be such a popular eatery for the many regular shack owners (like myself) and holiday makers to Orford! However if you serve up such terrible food that will never happen. Seafood basket with seafood straight from the supermarket freezer section, steak not cooked as ordered and sauce with rubbery scallops and dry prawns, soggy vegetables and a scallop type potato topped with bottled tomato sauce and grilled chicken breast that was so dry it was not edible!! The 6 of us and anyone else we can tell will not be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank linda17095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Waited at the reception area for well over 15 mins. Two staff members looked at us but chose to ignore us and stock fridge instead. We walked away, went back - still ignored! We wanted to book accommodation for the night, book in for dinner and spend the evening having a few drinks and a game or two of keno. We did not feel welcome and went elsewhere.

Stayed: February 2013
3  Thank darren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, had everything we needed, beautiful scenery, clean and tidy budget rooms with a bar fridge, toilet, shower, heater, electric blankets and extra blanket and TV , double and single bed friendly staff , restaurant, bar, oasis lounge with free coffee etc ,balcony area where you can sit outside and look at the view, it only cost $85 will definetly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sagebear33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here a few weeks back ,6 women on motorbikes ,booked in adavance ,we got there ,the lady behind the desk abrupt and not welcoming at all ,went to our room and there was a car parked in our spot ,so we kindly asked the lady in the bar if she could ask it to be removed and she wasnt happy! hence that car was never removed and we had to park our bikes alot further down ,so carting bags and not being able to keep an eye on our bikes . Oh forgot to mention the price! $150.00,yes taking advantage of the lack of acc around that area ,room was okay (just) but shower was shocking! I have no problem in paying for what I get but I wasnt getting much for what I paid for ,next paid 28 dollars for a steak ,asked for med rare ,got well done and was hard to swallow ,very disapointed! Next went to bed ,was woken up to police radio out the front of our room ,police called because of a couple fighting ,so here we are watching a fight plus watching out for our bikes ,around drunk people! The other problem is they let the patrons park in the motel parks ,so when the pub closes ,you are woken up once again by drunk people passing your rooms and then getting in thier cars and driving off! once again ,no sleep drunk people driving near our bikes that are parked away from our rooms! Next rang and said where do we go for cooked breakfast and the guy laughed and said we arent doing that and I said oh right I just read it on your menu thing here in our room so presumed you did ,then he said you could have ordered continental breakfast last night ,I was then informed from my mate ,when she booked continental breakfast was included in the price! so it should have been there anyways! So all in all ,No sleep ,rude people ,bad food ,great place up the road for bacon and eggs though and guess what they actually smiled and made us feelwelcome YAY!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank Rayleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
2.2 mi away
Eastcoaster Resort
Eastcoaster Resort
#4 of 5 in Orford
132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orford Beachside Holiday Park
3.7 mi away
Triabunna Cabin & Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Gumleaves Bush Holidays
Gumleaves Bush Holidays
#1 of 1 in Little Swanport
63 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orford's Sanda House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Waters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Address: 28 Tasman Hwy, Orford, Tasmania 7190, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Orford
Price Range: £74 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Waters Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Hotel with a beautiful aspect overlooking the Prosser River and Maria Island. Cafe and Bistro with meals served 7 days. Nearby safe swimming and swimming platform, boat ramp just 500 m, Children's playground adjacent, Golf course, Tennis and bowls all neaby. A selection of rooms to suit all budgets. Nice, clean family accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Orford, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing