We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenbrook House and Cottage
Ranked #1 of 4 Penguin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We came up to do the Burnie 10 and found this place that is extremely pet freindly - our two labs were well taken care of with a fully emclosed large front yard, The hosts were great and had home bread, jams, eggs, muffins, ect. were waiting for us on arrival, They let us hang a little longer on Sunday. An excellent cottage with full kitchen and a terrific front porch to relax after the run with a few glasses of wine - have already booked again for next year (will stay 3 nights so we can see more of the north west.) - Excellent Walks around the property and a short drive (about 2 minutes) to get to some easy undullating recovery runs. (the hill down to the farm is possibly a 20% incline!!!) - in a word -outstanding!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara G, Owner at Glenbrook House and Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Glenbrook Cottage. It was a pleasure to meet both you and your very well-behaved dogs. Look forward to seeing you next year and meeting the new puppy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights but could have easily stayed 3 weeks, this is a great base for exploring the North West. All the practical things that a family needs can be found in the cottage. Our host arrived at the door unexpectedly with a wonderful morning tea tray and an unnecessary apology for what was possibly some of the worst of Tassie's unseasonable spring weather. The rain and wind forced us to relax in the comfortable, warm and cozy character filled surrounds, watch a movie and eat and drink more than we needed to (tough gig but someone had to do it!) When the hail onset our vehicle was undercover. The sun returned and so did the puddleduck family to peck at the back door and demand the immediate attention of our 11 year old daughter who delighted in their company along with visits to see the new lamb. I think there might be a song written about this place - gum trees, plum trees, sheep, kangaroo, verandah and we'll look for the old rocking chair when we return next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoliDayersMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara G, Owner at Glenbrook House and Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Glenbrook. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again some time in the future - in the meantime, we will look out for an old rocking chair!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Looked this place up for our second visit. We stayed in the B&B I've never slept so well! My daughter got to feed the sheep and chickens and ducks & collect the eggs. The muffins are so yummy. We will stay in the cottage this time. If your visiting Tassy this is a must! Go explore the creek, find the old truck and some of the other gems I won't ruin the surprises.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trinkypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara G, Owner at Glenbrook House and Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, it was much appreciated. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Found this place by chance and so glad we did.Not on the beach front but up in the hills not to far from town.Owner was great with nothing a problem.Home made muffins,bread and condiments on arrival,the cottage is delightful with everything you need for a long stay or a short stay.
Highly recommended only wish we had longer there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penguin
1.6 mi away
The Madsen Boutique Hotel
7.2 mi away
Beachway
Beachway
#1 of 3 in Ulverstone
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madsen Retreat
Madsen Retreat
#2 of 4 in Penguin
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Penguin Waterfront Escape
1.6 mi away
52 Main Beachfront Apartments
1.6 mi away
The Neptune Grand Hotel
The Neptune Grand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Penguin
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenbrook House and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenbrook House and Cottage

Address: 89-91 Browns Lane, Penguin, Tasmania 7316, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Penguin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Penguin
Price Range: £67 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenbrook House and Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenbrook is set on 50 acres of peace and tranquility, just 3kms from the seaside town of Penguin on Tasmania's north-west coast. Bed & Breakfast or Self-Contained Cottage with complimentary breakfast. Your perfect choice for a relaxing break any time of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenbrook House and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenbrook House And Cottage Penguin, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing