We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sunrise at Penguin has it all.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunrise at Penguin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Penguin, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

alisonmP5...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunrise at Penguin has it all.”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Excellent accommodation in a stunning location. Situated literally across the road from a lovely beach this excellent accommodation and home from home has it all. The accommodation is very clean, homely and has everything you could need including those little extras that takes the hassle out of self catering. There's outdoor seating looking out across the sea and also a large garden with bbq & seating area at the rear with plenty of off street parking. It's a very short stroll from local shops and facilities and convenient for driving along the coastal road or hitting the highway for sightseeing attractions, towns/cities and airports.

Date of stay: April 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
Alison, you and your family were a delight to meet, all the way from England for your son's wedding in Tasmania. Your 5 day stay enabled you to travel to the Stanley Nut and Cradle Mountain all a little over 60 minutes from Sunrise. You were wonderful bringing your elderly mother with you to experience life on the other side of the world and allowing her time to relax reading in the sunshine. Look forward to meeting you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect position & everything you could need”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

From the moment we arrived it felt like home. Terry had suggested places for us to visit when we made our booking and checked up twice during our stay to see if there was anything that we needed. The view from the lounge is magic and was better than watching the TV! The kitchen and bathroom was the best stocked that we have ever encountered. The beds are very comfortable and everywhere is very clean.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Lovely to meet two South Australians touring our state - a very friendly mother and daughter who obviously enjoyed the views from the front lounge. So pleased your stay was to your liking and thank you for staying with us and keeping the house spotlessly tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntoast...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place to chill out”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Very clean, aesthetic decor and beach views. It was lovely to have a choice of quality teas and the complimentary port.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Elizabeth and her two sons were a delight to have as guests from a great area of NSW, Taree. The family loved the quiet location of Sunrise by the sea after visiting the rugged west of Tasmania at Arthur River. Always wonderful when guests leave the holiday home in the same neat condition as when they arrived - thank you for your kind words in the guestbook and hopefully see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRMonaro
Cooma, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Gem! One of the nicest places we stayed in our 3 week trip to Tassie.”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Unfortunately, we only had one night at Sunrise on our way back to Canberra. The house is beautifully appointed, plush, super clean and I wish we had a longer stay (2 weeks would be ideal)! Of our 3 week travels in Tassie, I rate Sunrise as the best place we stayed especially coming from a VERY expensive place at Cradle Mountain. The beds are so comfortable, the view is spectacular & the beach is 20 steps away. Terry & Fran, the owners, are so welcoming and generous with local information and supply a full book of places to visit, eat, relax and are always available if you need to contact them. We will be returning to stay and discover more of the North West coast of Tasmania. Sunrise at Penguin is a must!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2017
Wonderful to meet you Lisa and so happy you both enjoyed your over night stay with us at Penguin before departing Tasmania on the Spirit boat from Devonport. I trust you have pleasant memories of your time at various locations in Tassie and we appreciate your friend recommending us for accommodation - enjoy the winter months in the snow fields of Cooma.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suelowe54
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful home away from home!”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Sunrise at Penguin was perfectly located when we took my elderly mum for an overnight stay. The photos don't lie - you can sit back in the lounge room and enjoy the beautiful ocean view. So close to the town of Penguin, mum easily managed the walk with her wheelie and we all enjoyed eating dinner on the deck, watching the world go by.
Hi spec finish and modern, light, breezy décor - a treat for all at a very affordable price.
Looking forward to a return visit with more family in July. I'm sure our son, daughter-in-law and 2 grandchildren will enjoy staying at Sunrise at Penguin just as much as we did!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2017
Thank you Sue for your kind words and it was lovely to meet you and your mother for the first time. Am pleased you enjoyed the ocean views from the front deck plus was able to easily walk to town with your mum. You certainly left the house in a very tidy state and I look forward to seeing you again in July.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol B
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Absolutely wonderful place to stay. Directly across the road from the beach. Stunning views from loungeroom and bedroom. Every possible need is catered for. The small personal touches were appreciated. Out of all the places we stayed on our trip around Tasmania, this was definitely the best. Terry is a great host. Penguin is central to many close destinations and we definitely look forward to returning.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
Thank you Carol for your kind words in the guestbook and leaving the house so clean - it was lovely seeing you relax for your two days after the hustle and bustle of Sydney life. Would be great to catch up with you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mail646
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“home from home”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Amazing house in a beautiful town. Sunrise at Penguin feels like home, unlike most holiday rentals. Everything you need is provided and Terry is a friendly and most thoughtful host. Penguin is a beautiful little town and our favourite place in Tasmania. The town has everything you need and the surrounding countryside and coast is stunning.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2017
Lovely to see that you both have enjoyed your time at Penguin Richard and Pat. You have been warm and refreshing guests and great ambassadors of the UK. We trust you have further great experiences in Tasmania and would love to meet you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.