We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt so let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Felons Bistro

Felons Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$22
Cuisines: Australian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Felons Bistro offers quality local produce prepared simply and deliciously, a range of local wines, friendly service and great value for money. Open every evening.
Ashby de la Launde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Felt so let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

After spending a full day at Port Arthur Historic Site and doing a Ghost Tour we were really looking forward to a nice meal in a warm relaxing environment but unfortunately it didn't happen. There were only 5 other tables at various stages of their meals when we arrived but we were shown to a table furthest from the fire with the main entrance behind us, within minutes of being seated I had to ask to be moved as I was so cold I had to put my coat back on. My husbands first choice from the menu was sold out, (which I wasn't surprised as we were on a 2 course deal combined with the ghost tour and he wanted the venison which was an expensive choice on the menu). When our steaks arrived they were just not to standard, fatty and over cooked. We then waited over 30 minutes for our sweet and cheese platter only to find out that they had actually forgotten and had to be made by the waitress. By the time they arrived it was nearly 45 minutes after we had finished our main course, the restaurant was empty, everything was cleaned down and the staff were clock watching which didn't make for a very pleasant atmosphere to eat in.
I'm am sorry that I have to write such a scathing review and the waitress did try and make amends by not charging us for one of our drinks ($8.50) but after such great customer service during the rest of the day I really did feel let down by the food and service at Felons.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Public Relations Manager at Felons Bistro, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for providing us with this feedback Dee B. We are very concerned to learn that your experience at Felons Bistro was simply not to standard and quite unacceptable especially after enjoying a day on Site and a Ghost Tour.

Please be assured that we are addressing the configuration of the tables and that our staff have been advised to utilise the tables closest to the fire in the first instance during winter. Please also be assured that the venison was not unavailable because it is an expensive choice but rather it is very popular and had genuinely sold out. The issue of the steaks is inexplicable and extremely unusual as we are generally renowned for great quality and excellent preparation.

Please accept our unreserved apologies for your experience at Felons – this feedback will be utilised to redress the customer service standards across our food and beverage team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    128
    52
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top 3 Tasmanian dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Actually came here in May 2013 but the drop-down date list didn't extend that back.

Stayed in Taranna and was looking for a casual place to eat on one of the nights and came by here since we had visited the adjoining tourist centre for the Port Arthur Historic Site.

More than a year later, I still remember the dishes we had:
- Entrees - Mussel & Prawn Chowder, Quail
- Mains - Eye Fillet Steak, Seafood pasta
- Shared dessert - Chocolate Fondant or Molten Choc Cake (heavenly!)

We road tripped around Tasmania for 10 days and ate at some really nice places. What made this place stand out so much is that this 'bistro' would give many top restaurants in Melbourne a run for their money. Just wowed by the quality of food they served.

In terms of service, the waitress was lovely and that was all we needed to have a great dining experience on our holiday!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lenylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent food and service.

I am vegan and they were able to organise for me (at short notice) a delicious entree and main course.

My partner had fish which was apparently superb.

A wonderful night.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A review based on customer service experience (awful) and not the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Unfortunately we could not sample the culinary delights in Felons because we were "debased" out... and here's why. So after M and I went on a Port Arthur ghost tour (5pm), we decided to grab a light meal from Felons bistro after hearing rave reviews. Upon arriving there were 2 other tables of diners (2-4pp), so needless to say, not exactly date night at Felon's. Waiter arrives and we ordered a dessert to share and two drinks. Hearing that we were to share a meagre dessert between two, the waiter raised his eyebrows and said "Really? To share? This a restaurant, if you want something small you should probably try the cafe next door". My thoughts at the moment was: (1) a minimum order signage would have saved us the embarrassment, and (2) I didn't realise there were soooo many other diners waiting for our table to free up

So dear Felon's, here's an economics lesson for you: satisfied patrons earning you $30 in revenue will always be more profitable than disgruntled patrons being shamed out of the restaurant and earning you $0 plus bad review.

Again, this review is purely based on the unwelcoming customer service we received by a particular waiter, and not on the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funkyfishfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Public Relations Manager at Felons Bistro, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for providing this feedback. It is very disappointing and indeed shocking to read how you were treated at Felons. Your experience certainly doesn't live up to the expectations that you understandably had based on other reviews.
We are actively investigating the matter and considering signage options to minimise the risk of future patrons having the same negative experience. Thank you again for bringing this matter to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijnsburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best sea food pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The sea food pasta was one of a kind. Jummie! I would recommend this dish! The restaurant next to the Port Arthur Historic Site entree.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celin_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Felons Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Felons Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing