We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet gem!”

Rocking Horse Cottage & Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Arthur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocking Horse Cottage & Apartments
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My partner and I stayed overnight in the Viking Room recently. Very cosy and comfortable and the view we woke to the next morning was just lovely. A little chilly in the winter so throw that extra blanket on the bed and flip a coin to see who has to get up to turn the heater on in the morning. Quiet, peaceful location and just over the road from Possum Beach - would be a very pleasant stay in the summer. The unit comes with a small kitchenette so plan ahead and bring some groceries - food outlets and eateries are a little thin on the ground in the off season but more options may be available during the warmer months.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have lovely water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had a great experience at the Rocking Horse Cottage. We were so surprized by the beautifull room with great view. It was perfect for our one night stay and with a great view. The owner even said we could help ourselves to some apples in the garden. I will recommend this accommodation. Next time, we'll stay a few night extra as it is also great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luzelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed for one night, price was very reasonable. we stayed in the Viking room. Owners were very welcoming and friendly, rooms were clean, spacious and facilities were all very well maintained. Disagree that the rooms need updating (maybe they have been). We were offered some of the ripe plums from the tree by the owners and they were beautiful. Close to Port Arthur historic site and over looking the water. All in all a pleasant stay, no concerns.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

This guest house is located close to the Port Arthur Historic Site and is right across the road from the water where are some chairs and tables to sit and have a nice drink with a gorgeous view. The gardens are pretty but the rooms are in need of a little care. Could do with a little updating and fixing. But no major complaints and good for the price. If you need to buy groceries their is a small store with limited selection. I highly recommend eating at Lucky Ducks in nearby Nubeena.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We did not have reservations upon our arrival in Port Arthur. We planned on visiting Port Arthur historic site the following day, so wanted to find close accommodations. We stopped at a couple places, and the rates were a bit high for our budget. As we drove down Safety Cove Road we saw a sign advertising reasonable rates from what we have fond thus far. We drove up the driveway and were immediately greeted by the proprietors Ben and Jacqui. They were very friendly and welcoming, and Jacqui offered to show us the rooms she has available. There were two, one was a larger suite with 2 bedrooms and one smaller with one bedroom. We choose the smaller as it was just my wife and I and our toddler. Both rooms have direct views of the picturesque bay. The next morning we walked the well manicured property. Ben was out feeding their horse, so it added treat for our daughter to visit and pet her. The hospitality that Ben and Jacqui provided was much appreciated. They were very knowledge on the local dining and sites, and provided various options and recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myconductor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Arthur hotels
1.4 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
251 reviews
3.6 mi away
Classic Cottages
Classic Cottages
#4 of 5 in Port Arthur
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
NRMA Port Arthur Holiday Park
1 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
377 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Cottage & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Cottage & Apartments

Address: 216 Safety Cover Road, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Port Arthur
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rocking Horse Cottage & Apartments Port Arthur, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing