We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece Of England in Tasmania”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fox and Hounds Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved this motel as the rooms were very spacious and the sunny view from the large windows of the mountains and water were fabulous. Loved the decor of the Hotel and the food was quite good. If you are visiting Port Arthur or doing a Port Arthur Ghost tour This Hotel/Motel is only 1km away I would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here due to proximity to Port Arthur tourist attraction. Rooms were reasonable price but were cold. The entrance sign said last upgraded 2008, this should be removed,The unit was a bit tired, Only one of the twin beds had an electric blanket. The staff were average. When dining we had to order drinks from the bar then were given glasses in one hand the wine bottle in the other.I think we could have had a better more friendly service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gokyo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Came across this hotel on our way to Port Arthur as had no idea where we would stay that night , They had a big sign out front for $89 a night , has a restuarant great food lovely wood fire place lots of atmosphere the room was comfortable and clean could.t ask for any thing more ,maybe the pillows not the most comfy but overall worth staying here

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed for one night at The Fox and Hounds, Port Arthur and wished we could have stayed longer but due to our schedule, we couldn't. We turned up quite late, the staff were very friendly and accommodating; the chef whipped up a wonderful hearty and tasty meal for us. We stayed in the "honeymoon suite" which was lovely with a gorgeous view of the river at our front door. This is a very English type of accommodation with much character and charm. It is neat and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We checked in at about 5pm on the 27th June and we were probably one of the few hotel guests there for the night. The accommodation looks tired and dated although fairly clean. Imagine a house and furnishings from the 1970s. The rooms were really cold despite of having one heater in the living room and one in the master bedroom. There was none in the other room and although we had our bed warmers on all night we were really cold. The television was not working so we called for assistance and they claimed that there the same problem was experienced by the whole hotel and they could only repair it the next day. We did notice that there was nothing wrong with the television in the pub attached to the reception area when we checked out the next day so it was really poor service on their part. We were given a dvd player and a box of outdated dvds for the night. We did miss the telecast of some World cup games. The kitchenette was decent. I could whip up a simple dinner for the family and the appliances all worked and were maintained. Overall, we will definitely not come again to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mummymasayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Fox and Hounds has plenty of character. Found the villas to be clean well presented and comfortable. The kitchen has everything that one would expect or want.Good value for families. Restaurant menu is fine and not expensive. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Location is close to Port Arthur historic site.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked into the hotel at 7.10pm on a Friday evening after the Ghost Tour at Port Arthur. I was surprised the young man behind the reception desk say he was about to leave a note for me regarding our room. I asked him why are you closing as we were hoping to have dinner in the restaurant, to which he replied yes I'm about to lock up. We pushed to get a hamburger as we didn't know anywhere else to go and our 10 year old was hungry.

The rooms were clean, the mattresses on the bed were either old or foam as when you sat on the edge you practically hit the floor. Our door did not fit the doorway well and although we had a draft snake for the base of the door, the cold came through the top. We had the heater going all night but it was still cold and we were disappointed we didn't get a chance to experience the restaurant and the promise of sitting in front of the log fire.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Arthur
1.5 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
587 reviews
8.9 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Port Arthur Villas
Port Arthur Villas
#2 of 5 in Port Arthur
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
NRMA Port Arthur Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Classic Cottages
Classic Cottages
#4 of 5 in Port Arthur
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Hounds Inn

Address: 6789 Arthur Hwy, Port Arthur, Tasmania 7182, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Inn)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Port Arthur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Arthur
Price Range: £74 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fox and Hounds Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fox & Hounds Inn is an Olde English Tudor style hotel situated only 2km from Port Arthur. We have both motel style and two bedroom self contained villa accommodation separate from the main hotel. Landscaped gardens, water views, native wildlife, private jetty, stunning water views, restaurant, bar and bottle shop make this the ideal place to stay when visiting the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fox and Hounds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Hounds Hotel Port Arthur
The Fox And Hounds Inn Port Arthur, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing