We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome and a great breakfast”
Review of Ross Bakery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ross Bakery Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Ross B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed overnight in the Blue room, It had it's own tiny sitting room. The rooms were clean, compact and most comfortable, fresh milk was provided and also a selection of cakes. The view from the room is very pleasant of the street and the fields beyond and the windows open. The bed was comfortable and had an electric blanket. In the morning we went down to breakfast which was provided and what a treat, there were the usual cereals, juices and bread to toast but then out came the treat, a bread tray to each table straight from the oven and what you couldn't eat you were given a bag to take it away in. Definitely value for money.

Room Tip: If you like extra space or one of you goes to bed earlier than the other ask for the Blue room as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaGatton_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Not a lot of frills, but homely, comfortable and clean. Ross was a good 'halfway stop' on the Midlands Highway.

Arrived early enough to have a good look around the very pretty town of Ross. The Bakery
was welcoming, quaint and with a lot of history. The old oven is amazing.

The next morning the breakfast downstairs was amazing. Cereals, croissants, pastries, toast,
a cob loaf, juice, yoghurt, etc. etc., and paper bags to take what we couldn't eat, away with us.

Very pleasant stay. Thank you Dot and Chris.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen_sessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Arrived in Ross weary from travelling when we inquired about Kirsty's Cottage for our overnight stay. Karl the Bakery chef and owner gave us a friendly welcome and showed us the accommodation. We were given some yummy slices from the bakery and told our breakfast was included in the cafe. We enjoyed a great nights sleep in the cottage (over 100 years old), then wandered across the road to the bakery for freshly baked bread, croissants, pastries, cereals, tea and toast and jam! We were given a bag to take away bakery treats we couldn't manage to eat! Would recommend the pies as week which we warmed for dinner in the cottage oven.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Friendly welcome and pastries on arrival, we stayed in the very comfortable Blue Room complete with small sitting area. Breakfast included the largest croissants, pastries and bread all straight from the historic wood fired brick oven. Great little village and well worth leaving the highway for a visit, coffee break or overnight stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocarinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

It was a very homely place. We stayed in Kirsty's Cottage. My family and I went for a nights stay and we wish we stayed for longer because it was such a lovely place. The beds were comfortable and the facilities were homely. I loved the room I was staying in. It was amazing and cute and was a very homely experience. The breakfast was delicious and all made in the bakery. There was soo many delicious choices, It was absolutely superb. It was a close walking distance to all these lovely shops and places.I loved it. It is the perfect place for a family or by yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Ross Bakery Inn is a great stop over if you are travelling through the heart of Tasmania. The rooms are clean and comfortable and I had the feeling of stepping back in time to the old days of early 20th century travel. Everyone was friendly and the breakfast was straight from the bakery. The coffee was great too.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

When we arrived we were greeted warmly and from that moment felt totally at home in this quaint, charming heritage-style inn.
We stayed in their quirky, 'Kiki's Room' which is themed after the Japanese Anime of the same name. As we love the film, we just loved it - that is why we decided to stay there.

Amy was so accommodating and friendly and we had a very relaxing and comfortable stay.
The only thing was that the DVD we wanted to watch in the evening (part of the themed experience) was very scratched and we couldn't watch it :-( which was a disappointment as we had been looking forward to it.

We will stay there again and I recommend the Ross Bakery to visit or to stay.

Room Tip: If you like the film, definitely stay in the Kiki room! - just one caution - it is up some very stee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross hotels
0.2 mi away
Man O' Ross Hotel
Man O' Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ross
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ross Motel
Ross Motel
#1 of 3 in Ross
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colonial Cottages of Ross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Somercotes
Somercotes
#3 of 3 in Ross
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ross B and B
Ross B and B
#2 of 3 in Ross
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Bakery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Bakery Inn

Address: 15 Church St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Ross
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ross
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ross Bakery Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Ross Bakery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Bakery Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing