We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Man O' Ross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Man O' Ross Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ross
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We did not stay here but had dinner, the food was appetising and plentiful and we both enjoyed our meal. The restaurant was clean and comfortable, the price was average hotel pricing. Meals were served quite quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaGatton_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Room was quite cheap, $65 for twin beds. Shared bathrooms. Walls are a bit thin. Overall nothing particularly fancy, just a place to sleep. Food downstairs wasn't too bad, and the fireplace was quite nice.

If your looking for somewhere cheap to stay, this isn't too bad. If your after something nicer, there are other BnB's in Ross as well (that aren't reviewed yet on tripadvisor)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandrashan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but rather had dinner there. The food was delicious and reasonably priced being the only place open for dinner. The beer damper with garlic butter was outstanding in its little clay pot, roast lamb delicious but the sticky date pudding was simply to die for.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissM277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

after closing and reopening with the same staff... and now with new management and staff..
it is the best it been for a few years.... good food for a pub...and a wine list.. for august it was busy on a sunday night... overall a good dinner with a a bottle of wine all at a good price
lets hope it continues at this standard

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank old-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I came back to give it another try because I love Ross and hoped things had improved. Our dinner was absolutely delicious. Fantastic service, nice china, excellent porterhouse steak cooked to perfection, a lovely little jug of very nice Diane Sauce, delicious fresh cabbage stir fry with red onion and some garlic I think. Steamed tasty carrots and then crisp and crunchy, beautifully cooked golden chips. $25. My friend had delicious roast lamb and said it was yummy with beautifully roasted vegetables and gravy and a little pot of mint jelly. We had coffees and they were big city standard with a nice thick froth in a good cup and served with a very nice chocolate on the side. Overall a perfect dinner, by the roaring log fire in a cosy room with nice tables, carpets, and very good friendly staff. Congratulations on a fantastic hotel! It seems very well run, but with a nice country relaxed feel.

Room Tip: Sit by the fire in Winter. Delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Discerningtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We were at ross on firday night and there were about 7 tables full in the dinning room,
ordered the chicken parma, not bad at all and for the price it was good, the place still has the same feel to it, the service was friendly and the wine was average in price.

the inside is very dark and is quite old worldie, but it is a old pub, also the place is in a bit of a time warp, but We think it fits the town

keeping in mind it the only place to eat at night in Ross, it was not bad at all, and would go back next time in Ross.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank old-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We've just had what was supposed to be lunch in the restaurant of this hotel. Overall it was a disgrace. We were the only customers and firstly had to wait more than 20mins for roast pork, which was a staple on their menu. The meal was completely inedible. The pork was days old and like cardboard. How you can get a simple roast so wrong I don't know. We told the waitress and we weren't offered money back. So very disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank northmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ross
0.0 mi away
Ross Motel
Ross Motel
#1 of 3 in Ross
74 reviews
15.5 mi away
Lake Leake Inn
Lake Leake Inn
#2 of 4 in Campbell Town
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Cottages of Ross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ivy on Glenelg
Ivy on Glenelg
#1 of 4 in Campbell Town
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somercotes
Somercotes
#3 of 3 in Ross
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ross B and B
Ross B and B
#2 of 3 in Ross
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Man O' Ross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Man O' Ross Hotel

Address: 35 Church St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Ross
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ross
Price Range: £41 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Man O' Ross Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Man O' Ross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Man O' Ross Hotel Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing