We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Seashells95
Hobart, Australia

Enjoyable lunch

Review of Ross Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jul 2019
Stopped off at the Man O'Ross Hotel for lunch recently. Friendly service, a very extensive menu - including daily specials - at very reasonable prices. Service was friendly and we didn't have to wait long for our meals to arrive. They were so large we couldn't finish them off. We always enjoy our meal breaks at the Man O'Ross and there are plenty of other travellers doing the same.
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Carpark and gardens
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Ross Hotel
Free parking
Colonial Cottages
    0.2 miles from Ross Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    The lovely Ross B and B
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    • Expedia.com
    0.2 miles from Ross Hotel
    Bar/Lounge
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Vio.com
    • Expedia.com
    the cabin
    £108
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      £108
    16.9 miles from Ross Hotel
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £69
    • Priceline
    28.9 miles from Ross Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £87
    • Priceline
    30.3 miles from Ross Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Cherry Cottage - 2nd bedroom
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £95
    • Priceline
    30.4 miles from Ross Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • eDreams
    • Expedia.com
    30.6 miles from Ross Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    44.7 miles from Ross Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Ross
    Reviews (119)
    Filter reviews
    119 results
    Traveller rating
    51
    35
    17
    6
    10
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    51
    35
    17
    6
    10
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews the pub well worth a visit meals man winter
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    16 - 21 of 119 reviews
    Reviewed 10 May 2019

    Recently stopped there on the way from Hobart To Launceston for lunch.

    The service was friendly and excellent.

    The choice of meals was very good, in fact it was a little difficult to choose. Eventually I decided on the chicken and my partner the seafood. Both appeared quickly and were well presented, cooked to perfection and plentiful.
    Drinks were cheap by any standard.
    Will be making this our regular port of call in the future.

    Date of stay: May 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Ken M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 April 2019 via mobile

    Thank you to all the wonderful staff that made us feel welcome and very comfortable on our stay.
    Would highly recommend staying in this beautiful historic town.
    The restaurant caters for all. Impressive size meals.

    Date of stay: April 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank lholdem4
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 April 2019

    We took a day trip to Ross (about a 90 minute drive) and went to the hotel for lunch. The staff were welcoming and friendly and gave us a choice of tables. The menu is extensive and prices are very reasonable. We both chose the crumbed lamb cutlets for $24.00. We got 3 large cutlets, creamy mash and vegetables. All cooked beautifully and it was a delicious meal, coupled with a glass each of Devils Corner sauvignon blanc for $7. Highly recommended. The dining room had a great décor with photographic prints on the walls that could be purchased. There is also outside dining in the Beer Garden.

    Date of stay: April 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank CortinaGT
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

    We were a group of 5 adults and enjoyed the special Christmas menu. The meal was geat value ($25 for 2 courses) and the staff were very friendly and helped us with a few special requests eg ice cream rather than custard. I choose the turkey with roasted veggies and the pavlova with berries.

    The hotel is a great meeting place about an hour south of Launceston.

    Date of stay: December 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Jenny G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

    Upon arriving we immediately took in the lovely architecture of the building. Full of character and feels comfortable as soon as you enter.
    We arrive quite late though check in was very quick and staff led us to our room. The room was a large space, we have 3 beds and still plenty of room.

    The bathroom and lounge/kitchen space are shared though we didn't find this to be an issue at all, we really enjoyed being a me to site with other guests and have a chat.
    Kitchen has breakfast items provided for free; this was great as we arrive so late, and nowhere was oppen to purchase food, we could have a cheeky bowl of cereal before bed.

    Would absolutely stay here again, and would recommend anyone seeking laid back and affordable accom to stay here.

    Date of stay: December 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank burgersbutt
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews