We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pelican Sands Scamander
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scamander
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Arrived late-ish, Maureen (owner) most accommodating, stayed in newly renovated unit, nice and clean even the sheets were ironed, towels and furniture all matched. Views of river and ocean excellent, booked out late, no problem, a great overnite stay for us.

Room Tip: Pub over the river has nice meals, but closes early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    34
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
56
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I booked this and only read the reviews after- it sounded scary! Nearly cancelled to avoid a catastrophy. (It was a birthday surprise for my boyfriend, so wanted something really nice) Prepared for the worst, we got there, and it was actually very nice. The buildings are a bit basic, but clean and comfortable, we could even make good use of the little kitchen. The best part was the view, overlooking the garden and the sea. We could walk straight down to beach. The owners were very friendly and didn't say a word when we checked out at 12 instead of 10!
I would recommend it for a quiet weekend stay for couples or families and a good base to explore the East Coast; not so much for backpackers travelling without a car or if you're looking for a lively place. There's not much around in terms of restaurants or entertainment, the nearest Coles is in St Helens. Just relax and enjoy! (oh and avoid the resort across the road. Looked like a very run-down old "holiday factory" , evoking childhood memories of good old communist Eastern Europe...)

Room Tip: go for the seaview rooms! (not the garden view, that might look on the driveway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoniF-H-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

This was supposed to be 4 star, I am sure is would struggle to even manage 3 star. We paid $130 aust for a night here and were not impressed. It was old, very basic and all the furniture and kitchen equipment was mismatched. There was a sign on the wall advising that we should not drink the water, but no bottled water was provided, we had to drive 1/2 hour to find a garage that was open to purchase water. Compared to other places we stayed in Tasmania for price this was a dump!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulineGrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

This place was not at all what my partner and I expected. It is clearly an old block of motel rooms that haven't been updated since what I quessing would be the 70s. The rooms were dirty and we even had an item left in it from the previous occupants. There were a few light bulbs that needed replacing and the bed was not comfortable, moved and squeaked loudly even with very little movement. You could hear your neighbours all too clearly which made it hard to watch the extremely small and only half working tv in your own room. Kitchen facilities were poor quality and outdated, the supplied utensils were of very little use and much needed items were not supplied. We had to clean everything before we used it. Cars were just parked on their lawn which we found awkward and annoying. This property was close to the beach and we did have a nice view but we won't be staying there again. It was extremely overpriced for the facilities it supplied.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EspressoTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Tasmania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

This place took a little finding and I didn't like the driveway much. However the lady in the office was very nice and helpful.
Our room was a little unit down near the beach. It was clean and compact. The only thing that we didn't like much was the bedding arrangements with out daughter having to share the lounge/kitchen area with us. Makes watching tv or doing anything else after the kids have gone to bed a bit difficult.
We had read the fantastic reviews about the restaurant and were looking forward to trying it out. Unfortunately this was not to be as the chef had left when we were there. Highly recommend the Scamander Sporting and Community Complex (Campbell Street up on the hill) as a place to eat though.
All in all a nice place to stay. Very central for day trips and lots of things to do.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakedistrict
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

The Accom was OK, good views and the staff very helpful. They have internet at the office via wireless! But you must go to the Seasalt restaurant. The general decor is good and tables nicely laid out. Food is great and very well presented. Good size glasses of wine to boot.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

Pelican Sands was nothing like I expected. It was an old block of motel rooms, not the wonderful experience claimed on the website. The room was shabby and dirty - you wouldn't sit on the sofa... The wind whistled through the badly fitting windows and it was very exposed. I asked for my money back and the owner refused saying there was nothing wrong with it. Claimed by him to be well priced at $160. I refused to stay and moved on to a good quality hotel at the same price in the next town - totally different and included breakfast. The only bad experience in 3 weeks travelling. You will be very dissapointed if you book here..

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freddie11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scamander
0.3 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
9.4 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
9.3 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
9.9 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#5 of 10 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Sands Scamander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Sands Scamander

Property: Pelican Sands Scamander
Address: 157-165 Scamander Ave, Scamander, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Scamander
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scamander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Sands Scamander 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on the waterfront where the Scamander River meets the ocean located midway between Freycinet and The Bay of Fires. Scamander is an excellent spot to stay, allowing you access to the many beautiful surrounding areas local attractions, National Parks, walking tracks, not to mention the fantastic surf beach located right at the front of the property or the amazing fishing, yes right off the lawn at the front of the property. 2 x 2 bedroom apartments, 3 Studios & 1 Spa Studio; all renovated, self contained & spacious; I even iron the sheets!Pelican Sands is a true getaway location, right on the waterfront where you can relax and re-charge your batteries. Owned & operated by Maureen & Graeme Gill - we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pelican Sands Scamander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing