We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Sands Scamander
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scamander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in the spa room for the long weekend and had a great stay. This self-contained room was neat, clean and modern and, once we had the heaters running for a bit, nice and warm. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was excellent. There was tea, coffee and milk for us when we arrived and the water view from the room was beautiful. The owners were friendly and helpful. Close to the beach and the shops, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Loved the spa room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AL68_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a relaxing & wonderful time. The Spa Studio is proving popular - where else can you sit in a Spa & overlook the beautiful waterfront. It sounds like you like many of our guests really enjoyed being so close to the beach with the stunning views.

No matter what time of the year, Scamander is a peaceful waterfront destination where you cannot help but relax & unwind.

Glad you enjoyed your stay.

regards


Maureen & Graeme Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment in February 2014 with our son. The apartment was beautifully presented, spotless with lovely accessories and furnishings. They supplied a cot and all linen at no extra charge and were the most wonderful hosts for my husbands birthday. Amazing view lying in bed viewing the beach across the river. Thank you :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5, stunning views from the bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Apologies for taking so long to reply to your lovey review!

No 5 is a favourite 2 bedroom apartment with lots of our guests who request this one in particular. You are right, the views from this apartment are exceptionally lovely with the living area opening up onto the deck overlooking this stunning vista.

It is the little complimentary things that make all of the difference. At Pelican Sands there is no extra for this & extra for that. It is our pleasure! We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

regards

Maureen & Graeme Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here in a 2 bed apartment on our trip between Coles Bay and the Bay of Fires.
The owners are lovely people, who obviously take pride in their motel.

The 'apartment' was an excellent set up. 2 bedrooms; kitchen and a decent size bathroom.
Parking was adjacent.

Views of the water were from the kitchen and the main bedroom. However we had to get in the car and drive 3 minutes to get to the beach that we could see in the distance. Too far to walk with a 3 yr old.

The beach was divine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweet_Natalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hi & thank you for your review!

You are right, we are very proud of our lovely property in Scamander & do our best to present it as well as we can. It is lovely to receive ongoing positive feedback that our guests like the accommodation we provide.

Mother Nature is something we have no control over; normally the river mouth is open and you have direct beach access onto the small sandy beach at the front of the property which is ideal for youngsters and easy access to the beach via a footbridge at the northern end of the property which takes you across the lagoon and straight onto the beach. When the river mouth closes the footbridge is inadequate as you need to walk through the water to get to it - not satisfactory. We have made numerous requests for the bridge to be lengthened as this is the primary access to the beach on the northern side of the river - sadly to no avail. We will continue to petition the authorities to have this rectified. The beach is just beautiful and you can walk for miles and enjoy our stunning coastal scenery so we are glad that you were able to do that.

Thanks again for your review and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Tasmania.

regards
Maureen & Graeme Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We were very pleasantly surprised with this little gem while travelling up the East Coast of Tasmania. Arrived unannounced and no booking to be greeted by the genial owner who proudly showed us one of her rooms with views to the mouth if the river at a very affordable price. Rooms were beautifully appointed we were more than impressed , very modern and very clean . Very comfortable bed and great shower . Rooms were self contained to do your own cooking, something you don't often see in accommodation . We loved our stay here walked to the beautiful surf beach which we could see from our room. Even had a Thai Restaurant on the premises , but that does close down over winter. Would stay there again .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Always ready to welcome a weary traveller!

Thank you so much for your kind words. At the risk of being repetitive, we try to provide what we would like to find ourselves when travelling. Clean, cosy, friendly & nicely appointed accommodation. The bed must be comfy and you need a good shower & a very high proportion of our guests like what we have.

It is very rewarding to read your comments. We love our property and love sharing it with our guests.

The beach at the front of the property is stunning, in fact the entire east coast & surrounding hinterland is a hidden oasis. This area is a gem!

regards

Maureen & Graeme Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just the most wonderful place to stay and venture out from to see other attractions on the east coast of Tassie. Fabulous view of the lagoon and beach from our room. We had the 'spa room' which was great-totally functional although compact. Maureen and Graham are most likeable and friendly owners of Pelican Sands. Thoroughly enjoyed our 3-day stay. Highly recommend Pelican Sands to all. PS. To Maureen & Graham - thank you for a wonderful place to stay and relax - absolutely loved it and will definitely be back. I hope Stephen's "twin" enjoyed his birthday!!! Definitely wish we had stayed longer. We will be back. It was the cheapest accommodation of our trip to Tasmania and was one of the best places that we stayed!!

Room Tip: We didn't require room service or fitness centre so cannot comment on these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela and Step... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you soo much!

I remember the lovely chat we had and discovered that our husbands where born on the same day, the same year and were about to both celebrate their birthdays.

Our NE coast here in Tassie is absolutely beautiful and the perfect location to relax and enjoy the clean environment. Long beach walks and clear starry skies at night, what could be better.

We just love it when our guests are so positive about the property, the beds & showers always rate highly.

It was lovely to meet you and rewarding to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

regards,

Maureen & Graeme Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Perfect is a high score, but for the value for money - well...very comfy bed, hot shower, comfy lounge, roomy unit, very friendly hosts, fabulous location - right on the edge of the lagoon at Scamander...a sand bank away from the ocean and white sand beach. And friendly 3 legged cat that accompanied me on sunset and sunrise photo excursions. A Thai restaurant on-site was a huge bonus...lovely meals.

Room Tip: All the rooms here face the sea (east) - perfect sunrise (and sunset water reflections) for photogra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaylene19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hi Gaylene,

Sorry it has taken so long to reply to your review & thank you for the beautiful photos you sent, including one of Gidget the 3 legged cat who manages to charm all of our guests. We have been very busy and as we are very much "hands on" Owners, we haven't had much spare time.

You described the location perfectly and your photos captured the beauty of the sunrises & sunsets.

It is lovely to hear that you found our property value for money and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back.

regards


Maureen & Graeme Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed in unit 2, sea views are awesome, it took me back to my childhood holidays at the beach, the crashing of the surf on the beach was so therapeutic, loved every minute we were there, which was two nights and we wished it was a week or two. We had a problem at home while we were there and they were most kind went out of their way to extend the hand of friendship, very knowledgeable of the local area. Rooms were clean and tidy, bathroom was modern and walk in shower was appreciated, a truly great place to relax and unwind, beautiful lawn and a most friendly cat.

Room Tip: All have lovely views of the water in different ways!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 424Juels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your lovey review.

We have had a very busy season here & I am just catching up with my responses, apologies.

We love our property & what's not to love? We are in one of the most beautiful spots, blessed with stunning views, a temperate climate & a clean environment.

It was our pleasure to be of assistance to you. When things happen and you are a long way from home you need all of the help you can get, so you are very welcome.

Next time you visit Tassie we hope that your stay with us is longer and "Gidget" no doubt will also welcome you back.

The surf crashing on the beach was one of things I noticed the first night I stayed here as it also took me back to my childhood beach holidays; there is something soothing lying in bed listening to that sound.

Thanks again & it was lovely to meet you.

regards


Maureen & Graeme Gill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scamander
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
40 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
422 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
12.9 mi away
Bed in the Treetops B&B
Bed in the Treetops B&B
#2 of 5 in St Helens
29 reviews
9.9 mi away
Anchor Wheel Motel
Anchor Wheel Motel
#3 of 5 in St Helens
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Sands Scamander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Sands Scamander

Address: 157-165 Scamander Ave, Scamander, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Scamander
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Scamander
Price Range: £90 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Sands Scamander 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on the waterfront where the Scamander River meets the ocean located midway between Freycinet and The Bay of Fires. Scamander is an excellent spot to stay, allowing you access to the many beautiful surrounding areas local attractions, National Parks, walking tracks, not to mention the fantastic surf beach located right at the front of the property or the amazing fishing, yes right off the lawn at the front of the property. 2 x 2 bedroom apartments, 3 Studios & 1 Spa Studio; all renovated, self contained & spacious; I even iron the sheets!Pelican Sands is a true getaway location, right on the waterfront where you can relax and re-charge your batteries. Owned & operated by Maureen & Graeme Gill - we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelican Sands Scamander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing