We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the comforts of home (plus some!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scamander Beach Shack
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All the comforts of home (plus some!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

A very homely, well appointed little shack a easy 7 iron from the beach! Exspresso machine, pool table, board games, DVD's galore, books, magazines, well stocked fridge and pantry, Sheridan sheets and towels.... No expense has been spared to ensure that you feel like you are at your own home. A shack in appearance only!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScamanderBeachShack, Owner at Scamander Beach Shack, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Hi Matt!
Thank you so much for staying at Scamander Beach Shack and for the awesome review! We couldn't be happier that your stay was enjoyable and hope to see your family back at the shack sometime in the near future! Thank you once again! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

When we went inside this little house we were all said the same thing that we should stay here longer. A really lovely place! I was most impressed with the comfort beddings and the kitchen which has almost everything you ll need there. We enjoyed the nice aroma candle which make the room like our own home. We d love to go back there one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki S, Owner at Scamander Beach Shack, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you Tessa! That's exactly what we like to hear...that the shack is like a home away from home. We look forward to you returning for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

It's a really lovely place on the high side of the road with water view. It's nearly got everything as a home place you need. I was so impressed by the game cabinet, treasure garage as well as the little kid draw under the bed. I will come back again for summer for more water activities.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki S, Owner at Scamander Beach Shack, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review Jackie! :-) So wonderful that you enjoyed the games and entertainment. Looking forward to your next visit! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford Tasmania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Looking forward to our third stay at Scamander Beach Shack. Everything you can think of this shack has.! It's so neat and clean and if the weather is not a beach day, don't worry they have a great games room with entertain for the children and adults. The supplied fishing gear, surf and body boards are a great bonus having them available for you. Extra freezer space in the games room is fantastic and the view from the the shack of the ocean is just beautiful. So if the shack ever goes on the market, we would be first in with an offer. Thank You Vicki and Family

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tassiedweller, Owner at Scamander Beach Shack, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Hi Danielle
Thank you so much for your positive comments! We love it that you enjoy your stays at the shack and look forward to your next stay! We really appreciate your feedback and will be sure to let you know when the shack comes on the market! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We really enjoyed our Easter stay at the Shack! The location was excellent, just across the road from the beach and close to everything you need.. bread, milk and of the local 'watering hole'. The Shack itself was terrific, everything had been thought of and the little 'extra's' were appreciated.
Overall we had a great time, came away feeling relaxed (that was the intention) and committed to visiting next time we are in Tas. Would recommend to others...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tassiedweller, Owner at Scamander Beach Shack, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Sarah

Forgive this late response to your wonderful Tripadvisor Review on Scamander Beach Shack! Either it was operator error or a bug in the system at the time of your review that wouldn't allow me to respond. But that has all been remedied now. Thank you for such a fantastic review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the shack and hope you will come back to stay at the shack in the future! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Scamander Beach Shack and as usual we are never disappointed. This time we found some little chocolate treats left out for us and the complimentary soft drink and spring water in the fridge was a welcome surprise too. We always enjoy the views and homeliness of the shack. We can walk to the pub for tea and have a few drinks without having to worry about driving over the limit. This time the fishing in the Scamander River was successful and we enjoyed a fresh bream for breakfast. Our furry daughter Ruby loves the beach fishing with her Dad and I get to sleep in. What more can you ask for ?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tassiedweller, Owner at Scamander Beach Shack, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for such a great review for Scamander Beach Shack! It is very gratifying to know that you have been satisfied with your stay and have enjoyed the shack and Scamander surrounds. We are grateful to have such wonderful guests who always look after the shack. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scamander
0.1 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
8.5 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
9.7 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#5 of 10 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scamander Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scamander Beach Shack

Property: Scamander Beach Shack
Address: 130 Scamander Ave, Scamander, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Scamander
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Scamander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scamander Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tasmanian east coast accommodation, Scamander Beach Shack is located in a great position to explore the Bay of Fires and Freycinet Coast! Scamander Beach Shack is fully self-contained with uninterrupted views of the Scamander River mouth and surfing beach. An ideal cosy getaway for a couple, family, keen surfers or fisherpersons! Walk for miles along the white sandy beaches and take in the pristine blue-green crystal waters! Surf out the front at the Scamander River mouth or nearby Shelly Point. Catch a bream off the old Scamander bridge or try your luck at beach fishing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scamander Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing