We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Plus and smiles all round for clean, friendly, relaxing & fun time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Scamander
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Our family needs were well catered for with clean facilities, friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, great pool, tennis court, well kept grounds, close proximity to beach & fishing. Our hosts Yen & Venida ensured every additional need was catered to. We had a deal that included breakfast and the lady keeping things organised for guests was very accommodating and friendly. The kids were kept busy with all the things they could do on site, while the adults could relax with kids play in full view. The beach directly across the road was so changable that it kept everyones interest. I highly recommend the Scamander Beach Resort for families. Great finish to the school holidays. L Dowd

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2010

As soon as we walked in the door of our room after checking in, I walked back up to reception to see if they had some "better quality" rooms. Unfortunately, being peak tourist season on the East Coast, there was nothing available. I would like to be clear from the outset that this review is based on the buildings, not the people who work there - we found them to be wonderful.
Our room was old and dirty. It was on the bottom floor of the northern end of the complex, right next to the children's playground. As parents with young children, this wasn't too bad, however the playground was unsafe and needs a great deal of repair. Broken swings, broken safety rails on the play boat, a metal slide that got very hot in the sun etc. etc.
We effectively stayed in 2 hotel rooms which were connected by an internal door. The kids loved it because of the bunk beds! There were cobwebs and mould in both bathrooms. The TVs were out of the dark ages - our 5 year old asked if we thought the one in our room would work because it looked so old. The decor of the room screamed 80s, and next to no renovations have happened since. The curtains were filthy and the screen door on the sliding door to the playground was off the tracks and dangerous. Overall - YUCK. However, we found the restaurant to be ok - the meals were fine and certainly family friendly. The pool was un-heated, so we did not go swimming. Far too cold.
The quality was far from good, however in reading other reviews of the "resort" they may be renovating one part at a time with better furniture etc. Some big money needs to be spent though for us to even consider returning.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mgtiger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

This resort was probably a nice place in 1980's... since then it hasn't been renovated... and you notice it.
We came from Launceston through winding roads. It was high season right after Christmas and the accommodation was difficult to find - so, we decided to book this place beforehand - so, we couldn't get out of the deal as we had paid beforehand. With the same price, you should be able to get much much better place.

The room had great views and that was it. Everything else was dirty and old. -Not old in a classic way... maybe retro... everywhere you could see that repairs had been done as quickly and cheaply as possible. In elevator you couldn't know for sure if it would be stuck between the floors.
To get out of the state the hotel is in would take few million dollars... if even that would be enough.
Walls were thin and you could hear your neighbors closing doors and doing their daily duties through the walls. Very sad place to visit.

The beach near this hotel is great.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drawnword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

we visited the scamander beach resort hotel the 1st night of our stay for a drink and found the staff very friendly in the public bar and the locals. The second night we went for dinner and were very disappointed..the food was very ordinary..the garlic bread was lousy, the fried rice dish was very bland and the steak ordinary..the food took ages even though the restaurant wasnt busy. The restaurant and the front of house staff were very nice though. The hotel looks in need of a facelift!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseGoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2008

A fantastic location and view.

The room was a little tired but we believe a renovation is in hand. It was very clean and airy. Bed was comfortable.

Parking can get a little tight on a well booked night and when the locals are at the bar.

The evening meal was brilliant, we need to go back to try some of the other items. Breakfast was from a menu rather than a buffet but was enjoyable.

All of the staff were super friendly and efficient. We felt very welcome.

Great value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luvtotripSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

Room was clean. Furniture was quite new. Bathroom was clean. Everything was acceptable standard. Balcony view of the beach and up the coast is very relaxing especially with the sea breeze. Would stay here again with the family. The staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SusieBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We stayed two nights at the Scamander Beach Resort, the room was small and smelt old and musty, bathroom needs some TLC, otherwise clean and a wonderful view. Hospitality in the bar was splended. But the food in their 5 Spice Restaurant was dreadful. We ordered ok entree's, but the main meal was either too over powering or very bland. I can't stay I would return to stay there again when travelling along the East Coast of Tassie.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank katiebomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scamander
0.2 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
96 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
352 reviews
9.7 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
34 reviews
10.2 mi away
Anchor Wheel Motel
Anchor Wheel Motel
#3 of 5 in St Helens
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmen's Inn
Carmen's Inn
#1 of 2 in Scamander
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scamander Beach Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scamander Beach Hotel Motel

Address: 158-164 Scamander Ave, Scamander, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Scamander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Scamander
Price Range: £59 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scamander Beach Hotel Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel motel is positioned on Tasmania's mild, sunny east coast within easy access of beautiful sandy beaches. Relax on your own balcony or enjoy a swim in our pool; sit in our gardens with a good book or discover native wildlife in close-by nature reserves. Daily meals of lunch and dinner are available from our family bistro and bar. Our Ocean View and River View rooms provide spectacular panoramic views from private balconies of the ocean and Scamander River. Our garden rooms open onto a secure children's play area and gardens, ideal for relaxing while watching the children play. Off-street parking and a guest laundry are also on site. We have a well stocked bottle-shop, Keno & UBET, available in both the Beach Bistro and Sand Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Scamander Beach Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scamander Beach Hotel Scamander
Best Western Scamander
Scamander Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing