We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST EVENING DINNER IN TASMANIA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Willow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willow Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Scottsdale B&B and Inns
east midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST EVENING DINNER IN TASMANIA”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Lovely old house on the outskirts of Scottsdale with nice gardens. The suite is very spacious and has all the comforts of home. Ross looks after the log fires at night and we had free use of their large video collection. Fresh flowers everywhere. Quality furniture and paintings provide a nice setting for this old colonial house. Only mark down is the small bathroom in our suite which spoilt the ambience a tad.
We stayed 3 nights, intending to eat out but once Dean had served us a dinner on the first night (pork for Carol & salmon with a spicy salsa accompianment for me) we revised our plans and ate in each night. Dean uses the freshest of veggies from an Aamish family in the region and the delicious brocoli was just cooked but still had a crunch. If you are unfortunate enough to only stay the one night at the Willow Lodge, the piece de resistance for us was a large prawn cocktail starter nicely flavoured and a rack of lamb to follow with a rich cherry sauce with a backtaste of chilli....incredible. We both like eating lamb on our travels but this was the best ever although his steaks are also excellent. A sweet of ice cream, fresh fruit and cream sauce to finish if you have the room for this.
Thanks guys for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgerEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    11
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
54
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

A magnificent weekend at Willow Lodge.
We thoroughly enjoyed two beautiful nights at Willow Lodge with hosts Dean and Ross. The gardens were peaceful and delightful, the house was beautifully presented and our suite was clean, comfortable and lovingly furnished. There was a fridge, television, two comfortable wing backed chairs, tea making facilities, beautiful crystal glasses and a decanter of port.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Greeted by dogs and chooks as we drove up the drive...good start. Then Dean welcomed us, shoed us around and then to our suite. Beautifully furnished, fresh flowers, fireplace (be great in winter), port and fine china. And outside.....wonderful gardens in a serene, clean country environment.
And breakfast...well, one of the best we have ever had.
Only regret...we had dinner in town at the irish pub...very ordinary. Dean did say to us the following morning that he would have cooked for us. Judging by his breakfast, it would have been superb.
And Dean has said they still have a way to go to further improve it. A must stay on our next Tassie visit.

Room Tip: Judging by our suite, I don't think it matters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB100255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronte, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

You have read the reviews, stop here! From the time you drive through the whispering trees to see the solar panels along the drive, you are in the place Tassie and your hosts are all about. You will find a beautiful heritage home with an established garden and amazing hosts looking to preserve and take this fantastic house and surrounds beyond its immediate charm. The bedrooms, dining room, verandah, garden and position are worthy of their efforts. When Ross brings out an ice bucket or a cup of tea and Dean shows you a menu, you are stunned with the beauty and elegance of it all. We felt spoilt and happy and are counting the days until we return to Willow Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bronwyn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had the most magical time at Willow Lodge. We just enjoyed every minute, and felt very special and spoilt! There are so many wonderful things to mention.
We drove into the immaculate gardens are were blown away already. Hundreds of flowers in bloom greeted us; roses and hydrangeas of all colours were breathtaking. The garden truly is stunning, as is the house itself.
Dean and Ross greeted us and immediately made us feel at home. The house is superbly decorated in a style absolutely in keeping with the house's heritage feel. We stayed in the suite and it was pure opulence. In addition to the bedroom, which was adorned with fabulous furniture and flowers on almost every surface, we also had our very own sitting room right next to the bedroom. It has two lovely arm chairs, and a fire place. It was a bit cold while we were in Tasmania, and the fire was already going for us. After a big day of travelling, we enjoyed sitting down here and relaxing around the fire.

I had the best sleep of our entire time in Tasmania while at Willow Lodge. The bed was so comfortable, and the linen was devine.

Dean is a very accomplished chef and cooked us a delicious breakfast in the morning. He even catered for my partner's gluten allergy, which we so appreciated! They had even gone to the trouble of sourcing gluten free biscuits for a little snack in our room. These are the type of thoughtful touches that were the hallmark of our stay.

It was a shame we only stayed here for one night, because it was truly devine, and I can't say enough good things about Willow Lodge and Dean and Ross. You should absolutely stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. We stayed in the suite with the sitting room and fireplace, which was delig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

What more could I say. The hosts (Dean and Ross) were simply wonderful. Made us feel like we were back home. The place was gorgeous. Loved the rooms, kept in great condition, and one could tell the hosts put in lots of effort making this place cosy. Breakfast was a sure not to muss out event. You will know what I mean when you try it, loved the settings and the food itself, bacon and eggs? Divine. Too bad we only found out Dean could make a wonderful dinner after we've arrived. At last the pets around the garden, like the bunnies and chicks around, just love it. Would recommend anyone to stay there and feel the whole experience themselves.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My hubby and I stayed at Willow Lodge for one night and my only complaint is that we didn't stay longer!! The house is gorgeous, being lovingly restored to its glory days, set in lovely gardens with a glorious backdrop. Dinner and breakfast were yummy served in the beautiful dining room complete with music. Our room was elegantly decorated, with a wonderful fire and all conveniences. Finally, Dean and Ross are great hosts - friendly and attentive without being intrusive. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
1.0 mi away
Rest Awhile B&B
Rest Awhile B&B
#5 of 5 in Scottsdale
9 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lords Hotel
Lords Hotel
#4 of 5 in Scottsdale
16 reviews
12.1 mi away
Platypus Park Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
St. Paul's Bed and Breakfast
12.5 mi away
Bridport Seaside Lodge
Bridport Seaside Lodge
#5 of 8 in Bridport
15 reviews
12.6 mi away
Bridairre B & B
Bridairre B & B
#1 of 2 in Bridport
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Lodge

Property: Willow Lodge
Address: 119 Kings Street | (Tasman Highway), Scottsdale, Tasmania 7260, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Willow Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Willowlodge* Is a stately, classic, Victorian Austrailian homestead..Built,1880's for Tucker family,Tuckers Corner(later renamed Scottsdale)Set on 2 acres of botanical standard, private, formal gardens, ponds and pathways..Situated on the edge of the township, set amongst a patchwork quilt of farmland, with mountain vistas...Enjoy a la carte cuisine, prepared fresh by our renounded chef, in the formal, Dining room served on fine bone china, silverware & chrystal,menus are pre arranged for your liking...The Garden View room: A large bay window,brocade, wingback, chairs, Queen bed,fine linens,elc blanqets,lge flatscreen,DVD,ensuite The Suite:Pillowtop Queen bed,elc blanquet,sumptuious furnishings, ensuite, priv sitting room, fireplaces,lge flatscreen,DVD, fridge, tea&coffee,fruit, snacks on arrival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Willow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willow Lodge Scottsdale, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing