We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Willow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willow Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Scottsdale B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The sad thing is we only stayed one night. Willow lodge was everything good about staying in a B&B, the room was beautiful, the bed was comfortable, the host was wonderful and the breakfast was delicious. I would recommend this pace to everyone, and if I get the chance I will stay there again, only this time more then one night and preferably when the weather was better, it was the worst weather ever and I felt snugly and warm inside the Willow.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank QueenBAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    11
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
55
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Scottsdale itself, set in the middle of beautiful green farming land, is fairly underwhelming...it's a country town with some nice shops. Willow Lodge, however, is a goregeous haven offering luxury accommodation and fantastic food!! We stayed in the Fireplace Suite (sadly, for just one night) which was divine. A bedroom, luxuriously furnished and decorated, and a sitting room, complete with log fire, which was set and lit by Ross at 5pm! It was really relaxing to sit in front of the fire having a pre dinner drink after a day or driving, touring and sightseeing. We opted for dinner at Willow Lodge. Dean and Ross offer 2 courses for $45 and 3 for $60. And no set menu here, we chose from 5 entrees, mains and desserts. It was a great menu, viewed online and phoned in the day before we arrived. Before dinner, Dean bought to our sitting room some delicious duck pancakes which we wolfed down appreciatively, and announced dinner in ten! The dining room table was beautifully set (just for us), the log fire was roaring and the scene was set for a memorable dinner. It was really great, entrees of smoked salmon and prawn cocktail (with a modern twist), mains of beef and pork (both fabulous) and a bread and butter pudding to share for dessert. A great meal..carefully executed and beautifully presented. The next morning Dean made us a coffee and we drank it as we wandered around the gardens. Of course, breakfast was also fab...again in the dining room though set this time to take in the charming gardens of Willow Lodge. Fruit, cereals, and a hot platter of breakfast favourites. Perfect! We loved the dogs, the chickens, the wonderful antique furniture, the fresh flowers (from the garden) in our suite, the dining room and throughout the house. Willow Lodge offers exceptional service, in a beautifully restored home set amongst goregeous gardens. All done with love!

Room Tip: The fireplace suite was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyfunBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east midlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Lovely old house on the outskirts of Scottsdale with nice gardens. The suite is very spacious and has all the comforts of home. Ross looks after the log fires at night and we had free use of their large video collection. Fresh flowers everywhere. Quality furniture and paintings provide a nice setting for this old colonial house. Only mark down is the small bathroom in our suite which spoilt the ambience a tad.
We stayed 3 nights, intending to eat out but once Dean had served us a dinner on the first night (pork for Carol & salmon with a spicy salsa accompianment for me) we revised our plans and ate in each night. Dean uses the freshest of veggies from an Aamish family in the region and the delicious brocoli was just cooked but still had a crunch. If you are unfortunate enough to only stay the one night at the Willow Lodge, the piece de resistance for us was a large prawn cocktail starter nicely flavoured and a rack of lamb to follow with a rich cherry sauce with a backtaste of chilli....incredible. We both like eating lamb on our travels but this was the best ever although his steaks are also excellent. A sweet of ice cream, fresh fruit and cream sauce to finish if you have the room for this.
Thanks guys for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgerEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

A magnificent weekend at Willow Lodge.
We thoroughly enjoyed two beautiful nights at Willow Lodge with hosts Dean and Ross. The gardens were peaceful and delightful, the house was beautifully presented and our suite was clean, comfortable and lovingly furnished. There was a fridge, television, two comfortable wing backed chairs, tea making facilities, beautiful crystal glasses and a decanter of port.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Greeted by dogs and chooks as we drove up the drive...good start. Then Dean welcomed us, shoed us around and then to our suite. Beautifully furnished, fresh flowers, fireplace (be great in winter), port and fine china. And outside.....wonderful gardens in a serene, clean country environment.
And breakfast...well, one of the best we have ever had.
Only regret...we had dinner in town at the irish pub...very ordinary. Dean did say to us the following morning that he would have cooked for us. Judging by his breakfast, it would have been superb.
And Dean has said they still have a way to go to further improve it. A must stay on our next Tassie visit.

Room Tip: Judging by our suite, I don't think it matters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB100255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronte, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

You have read the reviews, stop here! From the time you drive through the whispering trees to see the solar panels along the drive, you are in the place Tassie and your hosts are all about. You will find a beautiful heritage home with an established garden and amazing hosts looking to preserve and take this fantastic house and surrounds beyond its immediate charm. The bedrooms, dining room, verandah, garden and position are worthy of their efforts. When Ross brings out an ice bucket or a cup of tea and Dean shows you a menu, you are stunned with the beauty and elegance of it all. We felt spoilt and happy and are counting the days until we return to Willow Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bronwyn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had the most magical time at Willow Lodge. We just enjoyed every minute, and felt very special and spoilt! There are so many wonderful things to mention.
We drove into the immaculate gardens are were blown away already. Hundreds of flowers in bloom greeted us; roses and hydrangeas of all colours were breathtaking. The garden truly is stunning, as is the house itself.
Dean and Ross greeted us and immediately made us feel at home. The house is superbly decorated in a style absolutely in keeping with the house's heritage feel. We stayed in the suite and it was pure opulence. In addition to the bedroom, which was adorned with fabulous furniture and flowers on almost every surface, we also had our very own sitting room right next to the bedroom. It has two lovely arm chairs, and a fire place. It was a bit cold while we were in Tasmania, and the fire was already going for us. After a big day of travelling, we enjoyed sitting down here and relaxing around the fire.

I had the best sleep of our entire time in Tasmania while at Willow Lodge. The bed was so comfortable, and the linen was devine.

Dean is a very accomplished chef and cooked us a delicious breakfast in the morning. He even catered for my partner's gluten allergy, which we so appreciated! They had even gone to the trouble of sourcing gluten free biscuits for a little snack in our room. These are the type of thoughtful touches that were the hallmark of our stay.

It was a shame we only stayed here for one night, because it was truly devine, and I can't say enough good things about Willow Lodge and Dean and Ross. You should absolutely stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. We stayed in the suite with the sitting room and fireplace, which was delig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
0.6 mi away
Anabel's of Scottsdale
Anabel's of Scottsdale
#2 of 5 in Scottsdale
42 reviews
16.8 mi away
Plovers Ridge Country Retreat
1.0 mi away
Rest Awhile B&B
Rest Awhile B&B
#5 of 5 in Scottsdale
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
St. Paul's Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Lords Hotel
Lords Hotel
#4 of 5 in Scottsdale
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Lodge

Property: Willow Lodge
Address: 119 Kings Street | (Tasman Highway), Scottsdale, Tasmania 7260, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Willow Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Willowlodge* Is a stately, classic, Victorian Austrailian homestead..Built,1880's for Tucker family,Tuckers Corner(later renamed Scottsdale)Set on 2 acres of botanical standard, private, formal gardens, ponds and pathways..Situated on the edge of the township, set amongst a patchwork quilt of farmland, with mountain vistas...Enjoy a la carte cuisine, prepared fresh by our renounded chef, in the formal, Dining room served on fine bone china, silverware & chrystal,menus are pre arranged for your liking...The Garden View room: A large bay window,brocade, wingback, chairs, Queen bed,fine linens,elc blanqets,lge flatscreen,DVD,ensuite The Suite:Pillowtop Queen bed,elc blanquet,sumptuious furnishings, ensuite, priv sitting room, fireplaces,lge flatscreen,DVD, fridge, tea&coffee,fruit, snacks on arrival ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Willow Lodge Scottsdale, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing