We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheffield Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sheffield
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

It seems that there are limited hotel choices in Sheffield and I chose this hotel because of the positive feedback in Tripadvisor. The hotel did not let me down indeed.

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night in a family room. There were 1 double bed and 3 single beds inside. The room was spacious, clean and tidy. There was a small kitchen with sink and microwave. Bathroom was clean. Hot water supplied steadily with sufficient water pressure. There were 2 heaters in the room which was enough for warming the room.

You can park your car simply outside your room.

Reception staff was friendly. She introduced the locations of supermarkets, restaurants and murals to us soon after we checked in.

The location was super, there was an IGA supermarket just opposite to the hotel and another IGA within 2 min walk.

The complementary milk and biscuits were very delicious.

Recommend this hotel if you are going to visit Sheffield.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnoopyCHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    29
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The rooms were outstanding with how clean they were. I am a cleaner in hospitality myself and it was the first thing i noticed was how clean and nothin out of place, front desk again excellent service. Will defiently be back and will highly recomend this place to anyone. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardhat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Sheffield is a great place to stay as a gateway to the Cradle Mountain area. This hotel is right in the centre of the lovely township of Sheffield. The hotel has been refurbished and is very clean and comfortable. The hosts were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Hotel was great, township was great and the walk around Dove Lake, Cradle mountain was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_C_Senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This property is in the centre of town. Consists of a new section and an older section. The older section however, has been refurbished to a high standard. The hosts are pleasant and hard working, running a cafe as well as the motel. A pleasure to stay at the Sheffield Motor Inn.
The Chinese restaurant in town is a must to dine at, especially their home-made ice cream.
Devonport is a mere 20 mins drive away. Why stay in the big smoke ?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BugsyMaleny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nth brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This was a great find. Well equipped very clean and great value. We stayed here for two nights and were very surprised at how comfortable we were. Great location walk across the road to pub and small shop and a short walk to great fudge at Fudge n coffee. Was visiting friends but Mural fest was on so an added bonus. Can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allycat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
247 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a self contained unit early February, arriving late at night with 10 others....despite a hiccup on arrival regarding the group booking, we all settled in well.....our unit was around the back, away from the street noise, which others in the driveway area commented on, especially the trucks early in the morning....very clean unit, QS bed, little table/chairs, kitchenette, bathroom....plenty of hot water which was welcome after all day travelling....only complaint ... the complimentary Wi-Fi was absolutely useless, gave up after 20mins.....guess we were too far away from the central point.....the pub across the road had a lovely meal and reasonably priced......would have no hesitation in returning and take more time looking and admiring the magnificent murals that decorate the town

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sterwuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our way to Strahan, glad we did! Rooms were immaculately clean and a good size, super comfortable bed, real milk for coffee, great location, just walked across the road to the pub for dinner, shop across the road. Would definately recommend staying here!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
24.2 mi away
Cradle Mountain Hotel
Cradle Mountain Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
12.6 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Acacia Bed and Breakfast
Acacia Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
19.1 mi away
Mountain View Country Inn
Mountain View Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Deloraine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Motor Inn

Property: Sheffield Motor Inn
Address: 49-53 Main St, Sheffield, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Sheffield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheffield Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheffield Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheffield Motor Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing