We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful on the lake!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smithton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed in one of the lakeside apartments. The view was beautiful and we instantly felt relaxed. The rooms are quite modern, large and clean. It was wonderful watching the ducks and wildlife wandering around just under our deck, and so peaceful.
Had one of the best night's sleep in Tassie! The only downside was the meals in the restaurant. Not quite the quality we were expecting but the staff were helpful and very friendly.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank FreqFlyers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

We were disappointed as locals with the service and food. We were offered drinks once throughout our dinner dining. The food was very average and cost a fortune. A steak that you pay $40 for should be cooked to perfection- not well over cooked! Overall a disappointing night.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazzytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Hi Tazzytiger,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. As North West locals you are certainly aware of the top quality produce the region offers and it is disappointing your evening was marred with this experience.

The Tall Timbers experience strives to offer quality food and service to all guests and patrons at the bistro. I am sorry to hear that your drinks wait staff were not attentive to your table and please be assured I have spoken to the suitable people about this to ensure this is dealt with.

In regards to your steak it is inadequate that your meal was not served how you had ordered it. I would hope that you made a suitable complaint about your meal at the time whilst here at Tall Timbers and our staff were able to rectify the situation.

Our complaints policy is that we deal with issues such as this as soon as they arise and unless we are aware of what is happening we are unable to resolve such issues. Once again thanks for your review.

Regards
Sophie
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

we only stayed one night as we were touring around Tassie but it was one of the best our cabin was clean and comfortable plenty of room. the surroundings were beautiful unfortunently it was raining so our exploring was limited but we were greatful for the restaurant as we didn't have to go out in the weather the food & wines were great and the staff had a lot of local knowledge so it helped us in the planning of the rest of the trip. We went a little out of our way to stay there but it was well worth it and would recommend it as a must if your travelling that way

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom lakeside apartment. We found the accommodation to be clean and very comfortable. The kitchen is fully equipped and even has a dishwasher. There is a bottle shop at the entrance and there is also a restaurant on site (very handy if you want to have a drink and not drive).
Our only negative comment was the water. It was brown in colour and looked like it had dirt in it. While I understand that this is not the resorts problem, it would have been nice to have a note in the information booklet about the water to confirm that it is ok to drink and to explain why the water is the way it is. I boiled all of our drinking water just in case!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDCBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Hi KDCBA,

Thanks for the review! It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed the Lakeside Accommodation during your visit and I note you mentioned the amenities and offerings these rooms have. It does make the stay enjoyable for families, travelling couples or longer term travellers/ corporates. I hope you also made use of the restaurant facilities or cooking facilities in your room whilst staying with us.

In regards to your negative comment about the water it is disappointing to hear this and we appreciate your feedback. I would like to assure all visitors that this was checked once the guest had informed us. The room had no issue with the colour of the water and we concluded it may have been a child in the bathroom with dirty feet that may have led to this issue arising. The water quality at Tall Timbers is safe to drink and this is not an issue we have ever had previously. Once again it is disappointing to hear this impacted on your stay but glad all other facilities were enjoyed during your visit.

We appreciate the feedback and thank you for making our staff aware of the situation prior to your departure so we could ensure this was dealt with immediately.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Sophie
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We only stayed one night in an executive apartment and wished we had booked a longer stay. The apartment was spacious, spotlessly clean and well fitted out with laundry facilities and a kitchen equipped for a gourmet! But we were passing through...so we had dinner and breakfast from the hotel restaurant which was excellent - the trout was a highlight.

The hotel is well located for day trips to Stanley or the Edge of the World - add friendly staff, great dining and exceptional value for the tariff - we highly recommend this hotel to all trip advisor members.

Room Tip: The Executive apartments are roomy, self contained and well appointed - the ones that look directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RnR_Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

we stayed here 3 years ago on our honeymoon and it was so good we came back and it was just as nice this time friendly staff, lovely room comfortable and clean and well presented, the local ducks like to visit........ the shower fits 2 people and it's nice to have dimmer switches on the bedside lights

Room Tip: they are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were travelling with friends and needed two bedroom accommodation.
On turning the key to door of the apartment we were stunned at the size of the rooms, the quality of finish and the outlook over the small lake, for the cost of the night.
One bedroom contained a King bed with ensuite and the other a queen with an adjacent bathroom. The lounge/kitchen/dining was large enough to hold 12 of us for predinner drinks and nibbles before heading to the bistro for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClassicMX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi ClassicMX5,

Thanks for your recent review of your stay at Tall Timbers Tasmania. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the size and quality comforts during your stay in one of the two-bedroom lakeside apartments. It is great to hear you have been impressed by the quality of the venue for what you have paid; we certainly aim to keep prices competitive in the region and appealing to travellers like yourselves.

The living room area in these apartments is to suit families and groups and this sounds like it has served you purpose during your visit. Hope you had a lovely meal at the bistro following your pre-dinner nibbles and drinks and thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Again thanks for the review and hope to see you again in future travels.

Kind Regards
Sophie
Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithton
11.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
204 reviews
10.7 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
514 reviews
11.3 mi away
Stanley Village Waterfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
AAA - Ye Olde Post Office Cottage - Smithton
1.1 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Smithton
44 reviews
9.0 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timbers Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timbers Tasmania

Address: 5/15 Scotchtown Rd, Smithton, Tasmania 7330, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Smithton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smithton
Price Range: £80 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Timbers Tasmania 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timbers offers modern 4 star accommodation located at the gateway to the Tarkine Wilderness in North West Tasmania. We offer a range of accommodation options from studio suites through to fully self-contained 1 & 2 bedroom luxury apartments. Guest facilities include an indoor heated pool, spa, gym, tennis court and BBQs set in landscaped grounds. Tall Timbers also has an award winning bistro, bar, bottle-shop, gaming facilities and function rooms available for conferences, weddings or conventions. Free parking at your door, free Wi-Fi and daily newspaper provided. Fully guided luxury 4WD and helicopter tours of the Tarkine can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tall Timbers Tasmania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timbers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing