We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with extras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smithton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value with extras”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great base for exploring the north west. Clean and quiet. Great rates especially when you factor in the pool and other amenities.

Location is perfect for exploring the north west of tasmania. Stanley is a bit too far from the west coast.

Restaurant is excellent but slightly overpriced but overall it was great experience and would recommend to all, especially families with kids.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Mark,

Thanks for the review! Great to know you enjoyed Tall Timbers as your base for exploring the area, sounds like you enjoyed the facilities offered on site during your visit.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the restaurant, so lovely to hear you recommend the venue for families with children. In regards to the pricing of the menu we offer several options to suit those on the lower budget – Sports Bar meals and the Pizza Menu along with the higher quality menu options offered in the Bistro. Prices reflect the high quality fresh and local Tasmanian product served and are on par with other Tasmanian establishments serving meals at this quality.

Nice to hear you enjoyed your visit and experiences, hope to see you again.

Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    105
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
65
114
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This big complex seems to have it all. The rooms are a decent size, excellent bathrooms, lovely pool and grounds but the smell from the local abattoir drove us out after one night of a intended three night stay. The smell was not in the room but was outside. It is a real shame. I understand the abattoir had a large expansion a couple of years ago as we had stayed four years ago and could not remember any smell.

Room Tip: The rooms with the stones at the bottom of them on the outisde are much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMBH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms are fine, staff where rude. Ask if there where oysters on offer, and response was "is it in the menu" mine "no" hers "well no then"... I know it wasn't on the menu but can I ask the question?? No need to be smart/rude.
Got the beef & reef, small bit of steak with 3 prawns 3 scollops on top for $43!!! Same as the salt and pepper squid. All salad with 4 pieces of squid. I'm always happy to pay good dollars for food but quality is just as good a quantity !!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodd2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Dodd2510,

We appreciate you taking the time to place this review however do find your comments very hard to believe. After management have spoken to kitchen and front of house staff they are not aware of this case and we feel you should have discussed your issues with the service and the meals with the supervisors on that night in the bistro.

Looking at the stunning reviews below of the establishment and the bistro meals that are a fine example of local produce we find your experience hard to recognize but see your need to discuss on Trip Advisor. Our bistro prices are no higher than similar establishments providing meals of the same quality and I would like to think if you are unhappy with meals or service you would let appropriate staff know at the bistro or with reception staff upon your departure.

Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at Tall Timbers in March 2014 for 2 nights. We had a 2 bed 2 bath unit overlooking the lake. It was very clean comfortable and the staff we very friendly. Smithton is in an out of the way area but as we were there for a wedding and the reception was at Tall Timbers we found the jewel in the crown. I wish now we had stayed longer and if we are ever back in Tasmania we will go to Tall Timbers again

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake are a bit more expensive but worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieChrisMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi Marie and Chris,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Sounds like you had a lovely stay with us in a Lakeside Apartment when you visited the area recently for a Wedding.
We appreciate all comments about the clean and comfortable rooms and our friendly staff.
Lovely to know you made the journey to Smithton for the wedding and decided to stay with us at Tall Timbers where the reception was being hosted. Wow, great comments about the hidden jem you discovered here on the far North West, Thanks! We would love to have you visit again in your future travels.

Thanks again, best wishes
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Docklands Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

While on the biennial Trikefest (a Group of Aussie Trikers) we turned up unannounced at the hotel for lunch, due to some ugly North West Tassie weather. There was quite a mob of us, but the hotel to their credit, summoned staff from all over and fed us all well and truly in a reasonable time frame. I ordered the Venison Shank which had a completely different flavour, it was yummy. My lovely lady had the Mushroom soup and because we were riding, cool icy soft drinks were the go.

The actual building is made almost completely of Tasmanian Timber, absolutely terrific to look at, with the customer service being friendly, very efficient and given our large number of riders, our overall visit was handled with a minimum of fuss.........

The way the staff handled our influx was nothing short of amazing, so I can only guess if the place was quiet, the customer experience would be outstanding......

I don't get to Tassie often but I do guarantee that next time we go, we will be tempted to stay here as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocklandsTrikeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi DocklandsTrikeMan,

Wow, what a surprise it was when the group of Trikes came in as the bad weather hit them during Trikefest!! As you mentioned the unannounced turn up put all wheels in motion from our staff to ensure the entire group were catered for and received lunch in a timely manner in our Bistro and in the Sports Bar.

Thanks so much for you lovely review of the staff, nice meals you received and the great feedback about the venue overall. I will be sure these comments are passed on to all staff that were working when your group visited. It's nice to receive these sorts of comments from visitors to the area who are passing by.

We would love to see some of you again one day to enjoy more of the Tall Timbers facilities offered. Safe travels on your trikes and hope the rest of your time in Tasmania was very enjoyable.

Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,137 reviews
305 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

One night with a group. Rooms adequate, no AC, wifi very slow, I think overwhelmed which prevents any significant use age, just way too slow. Staff friendly and helpful, room clean, no safe in room. Local bottle store on site, pool, restaurant on site with good service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

From the moment we checked in, I was impressed! The check-in staff were wonderful and so thoughtful. Then we went to our room: one of the family cabins by the duck pond. From the moment we walked in the door we were all blown away! Fantastic cabin! Stunning decor, huge cabin, amazing balcony and outlook. The kids absolutely loved the cabin, couldnt stop raving about it and we have stayed in many 5 star establishments. Then we hit the pool! Wow - wonderful, crystal clear pool with an awesome spar. Kids had a ball! Then dinner at the restaurant! It was simply fantastic food! Quality!! And attentive, lovely service! Kids games room in the restaurant was superb! We just couldnt rate this place highly enough and we are already planning reasons to come back to this part of Tassie just so we can stay at Tall Timbers! Thank YOU!!

Room Tip: Choose the pond cabins: Number 62-65.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieK14, Director of Sales at Tall Timbers Tasmania, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Hi Chris,

Thanks for the review, some lovely feedback you have provided. Sounds like you really enjoyed the lakeside apartments with the unit layout and space suiting your family.
Glad the kids (and big kids!) enjoyed the pool facilities.
Thanks for the great comments on the restaurant, so nice to have the feedback and I will be sure to pass service comments onto our front of house team.

Hope to see you again soon

Regards
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithton
11.4 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
194 reviews
10.7 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
490 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheer Pleasure Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
AAA - Ye Olde Post Office Cottage - Smithton
1.2 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Smithton
36 reviews
9.0 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Timbers Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Timbers Tasmania

Property: Tall Timbers Tasmania
Address: 5/15 Scotchtown Rd, Smithton, Tasmania 7330, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Smithton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Smithton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Timbers Tasmania 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Timbers offers modern 4 star accommodation located at the gateway to the Tarkine Wilderness in North West Tasmania. We offer a range of accommodation options from studio suites through to fully self-contained 1 & 2 bedroom luxury apartments. Guest facilities include an indoor heated pool, spa, gym, tennis court and BBQs set in landscaped grounds. Tall Timbers also has an award winning bistro, bar, bottle-shop, gaming facilities and function rooms available for conferences, weddings or conventions. Free parking at your door, free Wi-Fi and daily newspaper provided. Fully guided luxury 4WD and helicopter tours of the Tarkine can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tall Timbers Tasmania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Timbers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing