We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - Clean and tidy older style units”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kellraine Beach Cottages
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The man at reception was friendly, cheerful, and helpful (I think it was Darrell).

The units would be around 30 yo. They are basic, but adequate, and clean. (It was kind of like stepping back in time.) They are not fancy, but the price is right for what you get.

We had a one bedroom unit - the bedroom was off the living/kitchen/dining, area, as was bathroom/laundry. There was a washing machine - no dryer, but there was an outdoor clothes line. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need to prepare a basic meal.

They have undercover parking in a carport at the rear of the unit.

We also checked out 3 other places in St Helens and this was the best condition and price out of the 4.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zeddy-boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

We were stunned that St Helen's wasnt was we expected as far as the township is concerned, but our stay at the Kellraine Units was very comfortable. Great, clean with dryer and washer allowing the traveller to do a spot of washing. This unit would be great for a family and you get value for money.

Very happy with our stay at the Kellaine Units, pity we couldnt say the same for the township which was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ozhelen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

The hostess was a delight and the units were immaculate. Despite arriving late and look a bit rough from a days riding our hostess was very friendly and helpful. A short walk into town for a great meal at Trimboles Italian Restaurant topped off a great stay. Thanks, we will stop in again on our next visit to tassie.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michellesm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Absolute value for money. Beautiful brick units in quiet surrounds. Seperate lounge, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, laundry. Very well appointed with everything you need. DVD player but you need to rent from in town. The DVD store in Town had great staff and so friendly. Accepted where we were staying as security. Where would you find this in Sydney? N O W H E R E.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank basicneeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2008

Like all hosts in Tasmania, the hosts in this motel are generally friendly people. However, they are relatively stricter and make their displeasure of nonsense known quite expressly. The notices on what needs to be done (such as that glass bottles are to be set aside at fixed places outside the unit, in front of particular units, and not inside the units) and what cannot (no excessive noise!) are clear enough. The hostess will also let you know expressly not to use the additional single bed in the apartment unit if there were only two of you (just use the double bed - we have to clean the single bed's linen you know). It's not that we can't accept it, it's just that having visited many motels in Tassie nights before with similar set up (self-contained units with more beds than we need), we feel the hostess was a tad too stringent for our liking (of course we would not touch the single bed). Use of coin-operated dryer is strictly subject to the hosts' use and the weather. If it is predicted to rain the following day, the hosts will not allow use to access the dryer. And if you want to use the dryer the night before, use it before 8 pm - for in the words of the hostess - 'we have a life too you know'. Otherwise, the AUD66 we spent for the room for the night was sufficient. The unit we occupied was clean and had the usual kitchenette and a washer. The hosts' internet facilities are strictly theirs and not for anyone else's use.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Discerning78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
10.2 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
0.9 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
418 reviews
1.4 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
Homelea Accommodation
Homelea Accommodation
#2 of 10 in St Helens
87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#5 of 10 in St Helens
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellraine Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellraine Beach Cottages

Address: 72 Tully St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Speciality Lodging in St Helens
Price Range: £75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding 1,2 and 3 bedroom cottages, all fully self contained providing separate bathroom, toilet and laundry facilities All units are on level ground and there is ample parking for cars, boats and trailers for the travellers or fisherman and the like Come and enjoy this very peaceful setting with manicured gardens and superb rural views and yet only 900 metres from the town centre and fishing facilities We are ideally situated being only 25 mins to the majestic Bay of Fires, Binalong Bay and the Gardens to the East while to the West we are approx. 25 minutes to the Pyengana Valley with its superb Cheese Factory, the Pub in the Paddock and St. Columba Falls State Reserve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kellraine Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellraine Units Hotel St Helens
Kellraine Beach Cottages St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing