We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best caravan parks we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

It is true that we normally chase price and for that reason we might do ourselves a disservice, missing out on the better caravan parks. This has to be one of the best we have stayed in. And I noted facilities we don't usually bother with given that our caravan is basically self-contained. The communal kitchen - activity room is wonderful, complete with log burner for warmth on colder days. There are heaps of facilities for children, an enclosed activity room together with several areas of playground equipment, the obligatory bouncy castle and heaps of room for them to run wild without driving people like us crazy. We considered other options and in the end were very pleased we had chosen this, so very convenient from which to explore the beautiful St Helens area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Whenever we travel we like to stay in either units or cabins, we do not like motel rooms. To be honest on a comparison you really don’t pay that much more for a separate living and bedroom accommodation.

The place is clean, tidy, has lots of facilities, including the jumping castle, which thankfully they deflate at sunset and refill at sunrise as our cabin was nearly opposite it, overall a well presented caravan park.

The cabins are roomy, well presented, clean, and perfect for families, couples and us.

When down this way again we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed for several nights on a powered site at the St Helen's Caravan Park. The park is very well cared for and has very good facilities including a campers kitchen.

St Helen's is a great base for exploring Bay of Fires - we liked Binalong Bay and Eddystone Pt. We also had a wonderful time in our boat in the ocean from the St Helen's boat ramp - saw lots of dolphins and seabirds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally4Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

We hired an ensuite powered site and it was great!
The service was fantastic and the location was ok but a bit far to walk to town.
Other than that the park was spotless and the amenities great. It was definitely one of the nicest parks we stayed at while in tasmania.
Will definitely stay again if we return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trw1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This was our second time at St. Helens Big 4 last year we stayed in a tent this year we had brought a caravan, I loved it last year & couldn't wait to return. We originally planned to stay 9 nights but ended up staying 11 There is plenty to see in the area, close to Columbia Falls, Bay of Fires, Pub in the Paddock & heaps more great photo opportunities. The Managers Lyndell & Neville were wonderful, nothing was to much trouble for them, tips on the best places to go out for a meal ( and they were right) even sorting out friends of ours who had just taken delivery of their 1st Motorhome & wanted to come stay a night & didn't arrive until 9 p.m. No bother at all our friends were just as impressed as we are. Amenities block spotless, camp kitchen huge with 3 BBQ'S, Microwave, Coffee Machine, Stove & T.V. plus another outdoor BBQ area. Games room, play area & jumping pillow if you have children. I can't praise this caravan park enough quiet, peaceful, close to shops. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellebella01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed recently, facilities ok. As for the noise abatement policy, well its no good if not enforced. No point in telling patrons to keep it quiet after 10pm when they allow motorhomes to drive in and set up at 930pm (and take an hour of reversing alarms, banging and clanging). Kids liked the jumping pillow, but the games room only has one free game, an old ping pong table, all the rest are coin operated.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RRR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed for two nights in a cabin for four. The bunk beds were in a corridoor outside the bathroom and the main room was a squeeze. The living area was small but comfortable and had everything you could need. The main thing was that the cabin and park was very clean with friendly and helpful staff. The kids activities were plentiful and there was even a morning kids craft workshop that was free of charge- our daughter enjoyed this and met other kids through the activity. The campers kitchen here was first class and even had a coffee machine and plunger for those who had their own coffee! It is a fair way out of town, however we had a car so this was not really an issue.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Family4Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
8.1 mi away
Scamander Tourist Park
Scamander Tourist Park
#3 of 3 in Scamander
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
364 reviews
8.6 mi away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
39 reviews
17.4 mi away
St Marys Hotel
St Marys Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Marys
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park

Address: 2 Penelope St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in St Helens
Price Range: £70 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park is located close to the beautiful Bay of Fires on Tasmania's north-east coast. Our immaculately maintained holiday park offers 20 private cabins set in a picturesque setting, along with multiple powered and unpowered camp sites. Park facilities include fully-equipped modern camp kitchen, free BBQ area modern amenities block, coin-operated laundry and helpful and informative staff. Families are sure to have fun with all our park activities including a giant inflatable jumping pillow, an indoor children's games room, including a toddler play area and movie area, outdoor playground and of course plenty of space to explore around the park. We are the perfect location to explore the local area, which abounds in natural wonders from the Bay of Fires to St Columba Falls. Don't miss unique attractions such as the Pub in the Paddock and Pyengana Dairy. BIG4 St Helens a truly welcoming park for families and grey nomads alike, come and visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing