We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“range of accommadation to suit budget”
Review of Bayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayside Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“range of accommadation to suit budget”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Clean large rooms. Very dated décor. I would take my own pillow next time, but bed was comfy.
Friendly staff, good dinner at the bar downstairs, and only a bit of noise around 1am when the bar closes. 2min walk from town, 5min walk to a range of food outlets, and right on the harbour.

Room Tip: budget accommodation, I think I would try the ground floor rooms looking out to the harbour next tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 662Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    84
    122
    59
    54
See reviews for
68
169
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Place need an upgrade as the furniture must be from 60's. No wifi,not too clean, uncomfortable beds but good location, great food at bistro and nice young staff at the bar.ok for 1 night.good value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AgnesSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Helens hotels

Queenstown, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good view, but not much else was good about the rooms. Staff were very helpful with my concerns, they even passed on an email i sent them to the board outlining all the problems we had like, very stained carpets, untidy and dilapidated curtains, dilapidated bathroom, old worn rusty fridge, to name but a few. There was a problem we had graffiti in the first room we had, but i can not print publicly what it was. A representative from the board contacted me and assured me that they were in the process of renovating the rooms (the staff know nothing of the sort happening ), they also asked me to remove a previous negative review i submitted, They offered me a complimentary voucher for a meal in the restaurant, but i have not yet received it.
Another example of a company lying to get what they want.

Room Tip: read reviews of property before you book and ask to see the room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Booked via wotif and not knowing what to expect. Upon arrival the two male staff members were not that helpful. If I was the manager they would not have a job. They did not make us feel welcome at all and seemed to be more interested in serving a gent who obviously stays on a regular basis. As a result we didn't even bother spending our money in the bar or restaurant and purchased our alcohol from the BWS next door and ate takeaway. The accomodation was ok for the price $75/night, but would definitely not pay the normal $99. Would not bother staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyFordyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good helpful staff. We had a choice of three level of accommodation. We chose the cheapest. Budget room. $75. Magic. We were in the old section. Like a horse shoe building. Water and park view. Actually like a small unit. Very old, shabby, a touch derelict but comfortable. It had a large comfortable bed and pillows, clean sheets and blankets, a heater, a dresser and side tables, an old bathroom with toilet, bath and wash basin. Then a small room that was a shower. Another room with sink, kitchen cupboards a few bits missing, a stand alone old "caravan" fridge, a sinking sofa, dining table and chairs, a tv. The day newspaper (nice touch). The ceiling light in the living room was not working. It had water stained insulation ceiling panels. Some ready to fall down. Same in the shower room. The unit had Lots of windows to admire the view. We had a very good sleep, a good hot shower and enjoyed the neighbourhood. The area was very quiet. I gave it a three rating for cleanliness because the place was run down and could not have been cleaned as standard. It you don't mind shabby, I highly recommend this place. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Unit 1 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wobblywombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clareville, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We arrived after a long drive from Launceston. The hotel is above the pub so very handy for eating and drinking. We ate at the pub each night and enjoyed our meals. The rooms are very big with lounge chairs it sit on. The room we stayed in faced the road but was adequate for our needs the room had a very 70s feel and could probably benefit from an upgrade but was clean and neat.

Room Tip: Book a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9.6 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
9.3 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Hillcrest Tourist Park
Hillcrest Tourist Park
#9 of 10 in St Helens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
9.2 mi away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn

Property: Bayside Inn
Address: 2 Cecilia St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Inn St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing