We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”
Review of Artnor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Helens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Artnor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Thank you to the friendly owners at Artnor Lodge in St Helens for looking after us so well when my wife and I came for a work function in March the room was clean and tidy and the facilities were good. Thanks again and we will be back to stay.
Ian & Carm. Porter

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vandip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great location, close to Main Street. Only short walk to supermarkets etc. Beautiful outdoor area with pizza oven and gazebo wonderful place to eat in the sun. Clean and tidy rooms with a comfortable bed and everything you need for a comfortable stay ina beautiful town.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Having read the reviews on here, I was a little concerned what we were going to, but I shouldn't have worried. We were in unit 1, which has its on ensuite. We had the best nights sleep in Artnor Lodge, in the whole time we were in Tassie. We were made to feel very welcome. If you can get the ensuite room, then I would really recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarlowO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

It's very clean here and obviously has a woman's touch. Our room had an ensuite, though I believe others have shared facilities. We thought it was all okay. The help-yourself breakfast, with toaster in our room, was perfect.
The only problem we thought is that the walls are very thin, so we could hear what was being said in the next room. Okay for chatting, but could be a problem if you had honeymooners next door!
Rooms have a little fridge with cold drinks that aren't rediculously priced.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalcolmBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very basic accommodation in a great location right next to the main strip of St Helen's. Rooms are hotel style, attached to the owner's house. Shared toilet and shower is located outside the rooms (one bathroom and one toilet for females). Room contained old furnishings, newish flatscreen telly and small bar fridge. There was quite a strong smell in the room (smelt of cat pee!), but to be honest, we didn't really notice it once in the room for a while, only when we walked back in from being outside. The grounds are well maintained and there is a cute courtyard outside with BBQ facilities. We really appreciated the kitchenette/laundry area - a light breakfast is kept in the there - bread, cereal, milk, juice - a washing machine and dryer which was handy (though a wee bit exxy at $5 for a load of washing and $5 for an hour in the dryer). The rooms and shower/toilet were very clean, albeit very old fixtures. Great heated bathroom though! The shower was the best I have had in eons though! All in all, I think this place could have fabulous potential if given a bit of a make over ;-) For $90 a night, who can really complain! Everything was there I needed (fresh towels, hairdryer, coffee making facilities etc. I would stay again ;-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meg_burn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We arrived after being assured they were dog friendly only to find ourselves being grilled by the female owner about our dogs & she demanded to see our dogs in the back of the car before we were allowed to enter the room & having nowhere to put the dogs as it was open to the street we had to arrange for them to sleep in the car.
We were then informed that despite it being advertised as fully self contained at $135 per night with cooking facilities we were not allowed to actually cook in the room, only a microwave, so we had to utilise the barbecue as the communal kitchen stove wasn't working properly.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tassieacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathew_ArtnorLodge, Front Office Manager at Artnor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2011

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Yes, although we allow dogs on-site, we don't allow them in the rooms but we make no demands on seeing the dogs in the car, (as we obviously can't watch the car all the time).

Also, you are absolutely allowed to cook in the room which has cooking facilities (otherwise there would be no point in having cooking facilities in the first place), but we do sometimes point out that there is a barbecue available right outside the front door of that unit that may be better for cooking certain items. I am sorry for any misunderstanding in this matter.

I am also unaware of any issues with the cooking facilities in the shared kitchen, as we have had no complaints nor have we found any problems as we test these ourselves on a regular basis. I am surprised that you had a negative experience as that particular unit has proved to be popular with our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Mathew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DriveUSA.JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9.7 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
96 reviews
9.9 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
0.3 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anchor Wheel Motel
Anchor Wheel Motel
#3 of 5 in St Helens
87 reviews
0.9 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artnor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artnor Lodge

Address: 71 Cecilia Street, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Artnor Lodge St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing