We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service in Dinning room prompts you to notice all the other shortcomeings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tidal Waters Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Reviewed 7 November 2011

After getting no response to online inquiry was able to get answers by phoning and booking. Did not get water views that we were expecting. Went to bar for pre dinner drink and asked to be seated at the booked time. Staff then ignored the 4 of us for 20 mins, had to ask reception staff to get service. Orders finally taken, entrees arrived 25mins later. Plates finally cleared and mains arrived a further 45 mins later. A perfectly good piece of fillet steak ruined by overcooking and standing too long at the pass. It had dried out. Complaint received NO response from kitchen. Smoke alarm in room flashed all night. Bathroom door should be hung in reverse so it opens to the wall and does not hit anyone on the loo. Agree about the trip hazard door stop in Bathroom
Not worth the big $'s

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. This was the worst property that we stayed in in 3 weeks in Tassie and the most...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Tidal Waters Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

This was the most expensive place we stayed at on our 16 night trip around beautiful Tasmania and also the worst. Where do I start... The shower head was broken so that you had to try to shower while holding the shower head up so that the water came down on you rather than entirely at the wall. The lights in the room were so dim that I had to read by torchlight. There was a door stop right about where your feet go when using the loo. The tap over the vanity basin was wobbly. The alarm clock was making noises through the night due to interference caused by mobile phones being used in neighboring rooms. The power to at least our room went out three times during the night for short periods. There was no cable TV nor was there any digital TV (who cares except that this was the MOST expensive place we stayed at out of 16 establishments!) At 9.45am it took me 15 minutes to search out a member of staff so we could check out. The staff were friendly and helpful and I think doing their best under the circumstances. Sadly I would not stay here again. Sorry Tidal Waters.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Arrived in dark, found driveway entrance unlit and hard to find.

The first impression on entering the foyer was that it was stark and unwelcoming. Soon found this to be an adequate reflection of the staff and their attitude.

The restaurant was particularly deplorable and obviously understaffed, and the staff attitude was not welcoming, more of a tolerating attitude at best.
The heating was inadequate, and uncomfortably cold, as was the corridors and entrance foyer.
On the first night we waited nearly ten minutes to be seated, and were patently ignored at the door by a restaurant staff person who walked by us 3 times.
Ordered a steak well done, and stressed well done to waitress. The meal arrived after 50 minutes, and the steak was cold and raw to the point of being nearly pink.
When I pointed this out to the waitress, she agreed it was totally not what was ordered and suggested it be taken back to the cook (not a chef in his/her dreams) to be redone. Having already waited over 40 minutes I declined. The meal was nevertheless charged at full price.

Bar staff appeared to have the same ‘ignore the customer’ attitude, as I and three other customers found when we got tired of waiting for service and went to the bar for drinks. The barman appeared far more interested in paperwork than customers.

On the third night, I ordered rack of lamb and after 40 minutes it was delivered stone cold, and near indigestible. I could only eat the (lukewarm) chips and a bit of the salad.

Our rooms faced the car park, which seems contrary to the view we were led to believe in the promotional information. The shower hot water system had a mind of its’ own, no matter how you adjusted the taps, and the fan distributed very cold air through the bathroom and operated in conjunction with the light switch, so it was a case of cold draughts or shower in the dark.

We booked online under a promotional scheme and stayed 3 nights. The poor service, deplorable meals, and lack of staff attitude were such I could not recommend it to anybody, particularly at the price.

Room Tip: try not to get ground floor room as noise from other rooms is loud.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, the room we stayed in had a great view across the bay and was neat and tidy but very basic, the kids enjoyed the large balcony because it gave us all a bit more room.
The building layout reminded me of a hospital wing or nursing home and I couldn't help wonder if It was designed that way incase the first venture didn't work out. Restuarant service was slow and meals expensive but the food was goods. We had a swim in the pool, but it was freezing. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend. All facilities excellent. Spotless and comfy bed. Food delicious. Only complaint was that areas other than reception very cold. Heating in room not adequate but otherwise very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillyo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had a 3 day package at this Resort. We upgraded to have a view of the bay. The room was large with a king size bed but the lack of a decent size table was annoying (if you have room service I don't know where you are supposed to put your meal). The room is certainly large enough to have a table & two comfortable chairs rather than the 'formal style' chairs they have as they are not comfortable after sitting any length of time.
The fan in the bathroom goes continuously when the light is switched on & this became very annoying as it was very loud.
The rooms are not easily accessed. After checking in you then have to move your vehicle to the car park which is still some distance from your room & you have the added problem of having to lift your baggage up a step & then try & open the door to enter the foyer. Once in the foyer if you have an upstairs room you have to negotiate the stairs with your baggage as there isn't a lift.
After having stayed in two properties prior to Tidal Waters where internet usuage was free we were surprised to be told it would cost up to $20 a day if we wished to access it there.
The TV is older style & there was no access to digital TV - only 3 or 4 channels to choose from.
A saving grace of this property is the fact that there are comfortable areas in this complex where you can go & sit around the fire (if it's cold) and just relax or on a nice day it would be very pleasant to sit out on the large deck.
Staff however were very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elainejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I took a photo of my sons aged 3 and 4 in the double bed together and notoced there was a mark on one of their pillow. they had just had cheese andbacon balls so a mark from them would of been vibrant orange but this was brown and had chunks on it.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aimee2hulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9.5 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
93 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
0.2 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#4 of 10 in St Helens
62 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bed in the Treetops B&B
Bed in the Treetops B&B
#2 of 5 in St Helens
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidal Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidal Waters Resort

Address: 1 Quail St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia (Formerly Doherty St Helens Resort)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range: £90 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tidal Waters Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tidal Waters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidal Waters Hotel St Helens
Tidal Waters Resort St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing