We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tidal Waters Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We enjoyed staying here: good sized rooms, well presented. However, what's not mentioned in any of the brochures is the noise. Management knows about it, and it was clearly a problem with the design and building, but it really brought down the enjoyment of staying here. You can hear anyone, (heavy or light-footed) walking past your room. You can even hear people walking around in their rooms next door. We were woken up by people simply walking past. It's a terrible problem, and one that seems incapable of being fixed. In summary: it's a good place to stay, but bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaycar98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    109
    133
    59
    31
See reviews for
61
223
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed here for valentines day and were let down ! The rooms were not finished nicely they smelt of dampness And we expected a lot more for the money.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiaan78wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Helens hotels

Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

My parents and I stayed here on a special deal otherwise it would have been much more expensive and less value for money. The rooms were 'just the usual' but we did enjoy the balcony facing east awith George's Bay, the bird life and morning sun. All rooms had either balconies facing the bay or the beatiful gardens. We found it to be quite noisy in the room early in the morning especially when the tour groups were up and about early. Rooms away from the main foyer would be quiter. The public areas were spacious and well appointed. We didn't try the pool as it was outside and not very warm:( Staff were always helpful,but at times too busy due to lack of numbers.
The town offered some great places to eat including amazing breakfasts and seafood dinners for reasonable prices. We didn't eat in the resort mainly due to prices. We spent 2 days and 3 nights in the S.Helen's area. All in all we fished, walked beaches and sheoak forrests, enjoyed picnics, searched 'Shelly Point' for amazing shells and browsed in the numerous local gift shops. It was only the beginning of the season and therefore not crowded, making it more enjoyable but not overly warm. Beautiful beaches, forrest areas and headlands to discover.

Room Tip: Arrange for rooms away from the main area due to early morning noise of the tour bus groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris31051961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The room was OK with a nice view. We found it to be very noisy in the room - we could here people walking in the corridor and upstairs. Also could hear the person in the next room snoring. Food was average except for the Continental Breakfast which was well below standard and not worth $19:00 per person. Staff were friendly but not attentive - they seemed extremely short staffed.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayGourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

The room was passable however the food was inedible and the dining room was like a refrigerator. Overpriced and underwhelming. I would not recommend this place to anyone. Everything is an extra cost and overpriced.
There were also problems with their internet service - it costs extra - the provider WiFi Zone double billed us for our use and we are still doing battle to get a refund - DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Well appointed rooms with nice views but otherwise underwhelming. Very generic feel to the place, lacking atmosphere (particularly in the breakfast lounge). Did not eat in the dining room but this area and bar did in fact look quite inviting. Service was friendly but it's evident that they are working with minimal staff.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannibun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

After getting no response to online inquiry was able to get answers by phoning and booking. Did not get water views that we were expecting. Went to bar for pre dinner drink and asked to be seated at the booked time. Staff then ignored the 4 of us for 20 mins, had to ask reception staff to get service. Orders finally taken, entrees arrived 25mins later. Plates finally cleared and mains arrived a further 45 mins later. A perfectly good piece of fillet steak ruined by overcooking and standing too long at the pass. It had dried out. Complaint received NO response from kitchen. Smoke alarm in room flashed all night. Bathroom door should be hung in reverse so it opens to the wall and does not hit anyone on the loo. Agree about the trip hazard door stop in Bathroom
Not worth the big $'s

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. This was the worst property that we stayed in in 3 weeks in Tassie and the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9.4 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
0.7 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#5 of 10 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bed in the Treetops B&B
Bed in the Treetops B&B
#2 of 5 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidal Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidal Waters Resort

Property: Tidal Waters Resort
Address: 1 Quail St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia (Formerly Doherty St Helens Resort)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tidal Waters Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tidal Waters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidal Waters Hotel St Helens
Tidal Waters Resort St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing