We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tidal Waters Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tidal Waters Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had read the reviews on here and I was a bit concerned about what to expect.

The food was mostly lovely, we had a 3 course dinner included one night. Breakfast didn't offer any inspiration though. Ours was included but I would look elsewhere if it is not included in your rate.

The room was good and we enjoyed the spa & balcony but as others have mentioned the hotel does lack atmosphere and is getting a little dated. It isn't run down at all just the decor, colours and fittings are getting dated.

The staff were professional and friendly apart form 1 waitress who appeared to be new! We'll put that down to inexperience. The housekeeping staff were the friendliest of all and always presented a cheery greeting. An asset to the hotel.

Overall an ok stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    106
    132
    57
    30
See reviews for
58
219
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed one night and were lucky to be upgraded (for a small fee) to a room with a spa-bath (our original room only had a shower). The room was very nice at the very end of the wing, so was relatively quiet. It is quite a distance from the main eating/restaurant area. We were a family of four and it was perfect for what we needed. We got the hot breakfast and ordered the Big Breakfast... it certainly was that! HUGE! As others have noted, Bianca on Reception is a standout asset of the Resort. She really is one of the most helpful people I have ever come across. Other than cleaners the next day, she seemed to be the only staff member. Overall it was very nice and our room had a lovely view. It is near the Bay of Fires/Binalong Bay, which was one of the highlights of our trip to Tasmania.

Room Tip: A view of the water is nice, and a quiet ground floor room would be best as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KyiieBHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We continue to stay at Tidal Waters when we go to St Helens.

I cannot praise highly enough the lovely girl on reception - her smile was so welcoming & she went out of her way to be of assistance. We certainly appreciated being able to check into our room before 2.00 pm.

The accommodation is fine - a little dated - but the rooms are large & very clean. You have a choice of a king size bed & spa with water views (morning sun) or two queen size beds with garden view & no spa (full afternoon sun) .

Unfortunately the fan in the bathroom comes on with the light switch & the noise is deafening. It really is annoying. Should the need arise to use the bathroom during the night you have the choice of either stumbling in the dark or putting the light on & waking anyone else in the room.

This 'resort' has many large rooms for relaxing/dining etc. But why will they not light the fire??! During our stay it was cold (& we are Tasmanians - so can imagine what it would be like for guests from warmer places). It was late morning & wet & I asked would the fire be lit - only to be told if it got cold late in the afternoon yes they would light the fire. The fires were not lit during our two day stay - & it was cold. I might add the fires were all set & all that was needed was to strike a match.

I realise in the summer this would not be a problem but as our stays have all been in the colder months it would certainly improve the ambience of the place to have a welcoming fire.

Room Tip: Upstairs has a nicer outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed there for 1 night on a room/meal package and whilst the room was up to standard (if a little dated) the meal was ordinary. The entrees came out worryingly quickly (and were small portions), my Wife's pasta was fine but my fish tasted like it came from the Safeway frozen food department. The Deserts however were delicious! Breakfast was uninspiring. Overall the place wasn't terrible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DK4OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were in st helens to visit friends and they recommended this resort. Receptionist was nice and friendly. Room is nice, clean and warm with beautiful view over the water. We had our lovely dinner in restaurant . It is enjoyable stay. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Room on water side with more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter kyo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauty Point, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Have stayed before and was wonderful but this time was the most disgusting meal we have ever had anywhere. Got in touch with management but they didnt give two hoots about their service.
Will let everyone I know and Im sure they wont stay either.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Helens hotels

McLoughlins Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Tidal Waters was our last stop on an amazing holiday in Tasmania, we stayed two nights in a King Spa Room with beautiful views over the bay. Check in was a pleasure, the reception staff were so friendly and efficient, we couldn't have asked for better service throughout our visit.
The room was generous with a very inviting spa, a very welcome sight after hours of driving, the king size bed was as comfortable as it looked for two weary travellers with achy backs.
Dinner in the restaurant with the fireplace burning to keep the chilly August weather away, was a totally enjoyable experience, our entrees and main course were delicious and our waitress
couldn't have been more friendly or helpful with our questions about the resort and St Helens.
We will definitely choose to stay at Tidal Waters Resort if we find ourselves in St Helens again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tailz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9.4 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
0.8 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#2 of 11 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bed in the Treetops B&B
Bed in the Treetops B&B
#2 of 5 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidal Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidal Waters Resort

Property: Tidal Waters Resort
Address: 1 Quail St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia (Formerly Doherty St Helens Resort)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tidal Waters Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tidal Waters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidal Waters Hotel St Helens
Tidal Waters Resort St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing