We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tidal Waters Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had our wedding at Tidal Waters in January 2013 and were very happy with the whole experience. The pricing was reasonable (not cheap, but not as expensive as some places in the cities), and the manager Eric and his wife were lovely to deal with and very accommodating.

We didn't use the accommodation so can't comment on that (although many of our family members did and I haven't heard any complaints).

By using Tidal Waters as a wedding venue you have to realise that you're not going to get the polished and experienced wedding service you would with big facilities in Hobart or Launceston, so if possible it's best to try and deal with Eric directly and be quite clear, organised and upfront with them about what you want (unless they've employed a more experienced wedding planning than when we used them).

On our wedding day it was over 40 degrees and no, Tidal Waters don't have air conditioning (something they should perhaps consider installing and even using just for big events). However, Eric and his wife bent over backwards to accommodate our needs in the heat, and this included moving the whole event out onto their beautiful waterside deck that adjoined the wedding reception room after the mains were served, on our request. This meant we had most of the speeches, cake cutting and a roaming dessert (instead of the originally planned plated, served dessert) outside on the deck and it was a lovely atmosphere. It actually added to the night to have us all move out onto the deck, and created more space as people could move between the reception room and the adjacent deck. The deck is really beautiful as it's huge and looks straight out onto the bay (though note the water recedes a long way at low tide so the water at that point is not right up to the deck - this didn't bother us at all though as it was still beautiful).

The food was surprisingly very good and there was a huge amount of it. We had food served in banquet style and many people commented on how great the food was. Because of the heat people's appetites were reduced and unfortunately there was a lot of food left over! I provided TW with a full list of the exact food requirements for the night, including which dishes needed to be vegetarian or gluten or dairy free and how many serves of each was needed, and while I was probably a bit of a control freak with this it meant that we had absolutely no problems with the food - quite the opposite!

So in summary, Tidal Waters are a great venue who will do their best to please and to make your event fantastic, it's just important that you give them clear directions on how you want things done (mind you to be fair, I can't say how it would have gone if I didn't give them clear directions, I just got the impression when I was dealing with their event coordinator that she didn't have a lot of experience and wasn't always across the issues - again, deal with Eric if you can). I would definitely recommend Tidal Waters.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CleoTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is far from what I call a resort.
We stayed 28th and 29th December 2013.
First encounter was trying to check in, no one at the front desk had to go to the bar for someone to help. There was a lot of people at the bar so in the end asked a girl who was behind the bar serving to could check us in.
Went to the room was OK, but then realised no air conditioning, table fan in the cupboard.
The whole building has both timber walls & floors. The floors in the hallways creaked so bad that every time someone walked past your room, It would wake you. The same went for the room above us, every time someone took a step, it was like they were stomping.
We tried to watch a DVD and the TV was poor quality with a built in DVD player, we could not hear the movie as the volume was no where near loud enough, we do not have hearing problems either.
We we keep up most of the night by the noise in the building. At 5am there was a radio up so loud it woke us up, then more noise by a lot of other people till 8am.
We did speak to the manager and he told us a lot of the noise was due to journalists following the Sydney to Hobart yacht race in the rooms above us. He gave us a complementary breakfast which was appreciated but not required as we were going to have breakfast there anyway. We were also offered a new room buy were told that there was no difference in the noise as the whole building is timber, so we stayed in the one we had.
The breakfast was the worst we have had in a resort. The food delivered was not what was describe on the menu. People near us complained the was a fly in there salad which we saw !!!!!!!!!!! The food took for ever to come and there was only 12 people having breakfast.
That afternoon we had a problem with our safe not opening and when we tried to call reception the phone did not work so we went to the front desk and of course no one there so back to the bar. We were told that the manager was the one to fix the safe and phone but was not on the premises and was due back in a couple of hours. We had all our money, cards etc in the safe so could do nothing but wait for him to get back !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2hrs later......
Also the gardens were in need of a lot of work and made the place look poor....resort ?????? no not at all.....0
Oh! and just one more thing, not only do they charge exuberant rates but they also charge a $5 feel to bring your room service to you. Watch out!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmo1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This property may have been a resort once, but it is now looking rather tired and sad. There is a huge amount of space everywhere (except in the shower!) but there is no warmth to the place. It feels more like a convention centre, but at the prices they charge, it's not surprising there were few people there, even on New Year's Eve! (We had to pay $195 for our room, 5 months in advance!) Like others, the safe didn't work, but was fixed promptly. The position of the "Resort" is unfortunate - on a smelly tidal estuary! Fortunately, there is quite a good heated pool within the grounds.

Room Tip: Somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel and staff are off their game! In all it's a reasonable Motel (not a Hotel) and the menu needs to reflect a lower standard as well. Meals were overpriced and the breakfast options were so complex.
When asked to "start a fire in the lobby" to enjoy a warm cup of tea, we were told that "we are too busy now...."
Got down to shifting our own tables for breakfast! Staff were not guest focused .The hotel was cold - there was no ambiance. What a shame there were so many fireplaces not lit during a cold spell in Tasmania.
Staff were stressed disorganised and were more focused on getting the service over with than guest comfort.
The bathrooms in the room were dated and un inviting - when you turn on the light, a very loud fan turns on too and makes you want to leave.We had a spa bath in our room which we did not use as there was no ambiance and the fan was too loud.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Abelev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It doesn't take much to realise Tidal Waters is a motel, even if the price tag (and, of course, the title) say differently.
At first glance our room looked OK. But then we started using it.
First there was the room safe, supposedly one of the accommodation's redeeming feature. It didn't work. Given we only stayed one night I saw no point in complaining, but I did note the safe's battery cover was open; clearly, the person preparing the room for our arrival should have seen what's going on.
Tidal Waters provides free wifi, but it's a bit tedious. I needed to call and get a special code which I could then use; alas, I found the motel's network rather a painful to use.
When it was time to hit the shower we discovered a rather archaic toilet featuring The World's Tiniest Shower™. We could not figure out why the shower had to be this tiny.
Through the evening and the night we could here way too much sound from all around us. Rather surprising, given we were given an upstairs room; this could create some unforeseen discomforts.
Last, when it came time to sleep, I realised that despite me not being that tall, my feet were sticking out of the bed. That, plus the rather mediocre nature of the bed/mattress, meant I had a very unpleasant night's sleep. I was not a happy chappy come morning.
A lot could have been forgiven were Tidal Waters to charge as per it delivers. Given that it chooses to charge like a resort but deliver like a mediocre hotel, I would advise steering away from this one.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Metal_Detect0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Lovely hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Good food and wine.
We stopped one night as a base to explore the Bay of Fires. Very happy with the room which was a good size with a big bathroom. All very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Apart from a much needed spruce, the paper thin walls need to be looked at. Can hear every movement from upstairs and downstairs. Gardens need attending to as does pool. The place has a very sad neglected air to it. Didn't eat in the hotel as has no appeal what so ever. Won't stay here again. At $220 a night it was a rip off.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9.5 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
97 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
0.2 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#4 of 10 in St Helens
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homelea Accommodation
Homelea Accommodation
#2 of 10 in St Helens
85 reviews
9.4 mi away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidal Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidal Waters Resort

Address: 1 Quail St, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia (Formerly Doherty St Helens Resort)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in St Helens
Price Range: £96 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tidal Waters Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tidal Waters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidal Waters Hotel St Helens
Tidal Waters Resort St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing