We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
61
60
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
60
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen nice cottage guest laundry indian restaurant washing machine and dryer owners were friendly onsite restaurant great value for money great shower self contained unit large bathroom single bed short walk free laundry reception area flat screen tv main bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Queechy Cottages is a very clean, quiet and cosy stay in St.Helens.

We had a 2 bedroom cabin which was nicely equipped and very comfortable. Basic cooking/cleaning facilities, dining, lounge/tv area are provided. There was also a nice porch to hang out around the back.

Excellent location, perched on a hilltop overlooking the bay and only a few hundred metres walk across the bridge to the town centre. I liked how you could literally drive your car right up and park in front of the cabin's front door. Highly recommended and great value for a quiet country town escape, would loved to have stayed longer!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had 4nights/5days at leisure; away from visiting family to briefly explore the East Coast of Tasmania. Touring route north east of Launceston; Lilydale, Bridestowe Lavender Estate, Scottsdale, Derby, Weldborough Pass – Rainforest walk, Little Plains Lookout, Pyengana Cheese, The Shop in the Bush – Bric-a-brac Shop, and St Helens as our 2 night stop over. Here we stopped at the History & Visitor Information Centre for maps, accommodation and shop hours etc…

Unbeknown to us, on search for the BIG 4 St Helens Holiday Park we pass by Queechy Cottages. After which, dissatisfied with BIG 4, we decided to investigate Queechy, and found it fitting our needs with better privacy, comfort, price - $105+/night and romantic views. It would have been a mistake to the senses or a thud to romance if we had stayed at BIG 4, when this superlative lodging overlooks Georges Bay!?

Originally booked for one night upon arrival, we extended it for 2 after inspection; and placed this town on my travel map as one of my favourite locations! Perhaps attributing to this, were the George Bay Oysters that night and the other Tasmanian culinary delights we had; all blending into one picture perfect postcard from our Cabin?

Cabin 1; a self-contained 2 bed cottage was found to be well equipped, absolutely spotless, with all appliances and facilities working. Queechy is within close proximity to the Township for grocery shopping and seafood at the Marina – 2 minutes by car. Queenslander’s please note; prawns are freighted frozen to Tasmania as we discovered, so it’s best to lap up the delectable crayfish ($75+/kg - from Bicheno). Fresh farm Georges Bay oyster’s $8.00+/dozen in shell are found on route east towards Binalong Bay, less than 5 minutes from St Helens.

From Queechy Cottages; you can manage day trips to Bay of Fires or Bicheno and return via St Marys (Mount Elephant Pancakes) on your way back to St Helens.

[Visited Mid-February from Queensland’s sub-tropics… Hence we were ill prepared for southern temperatures and whilst the water was pristine, it was absolutely freezing for us swimming enthusiasts!]

Hope our review has been of help and assistance…
Cheers ANGIE 4124

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANGIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had not booked anything and arrived on Mothers day weekend and were pleasantly surprised with both the price and the standard of the accomodation. We stayed in one of the 2 storey units with the bedroom upstairs (room aplenty) and pleasant decor and touches by the owners.
Bathroom and living area downstairs and again pleasant decor - my wife commented on the bathroom and the accessories toiletries provided at no extra cost - very nice.
Would stay again and would recommend highly for someone wanting a short stay or even longer.
Steve E

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed in a very clean and comfortable motel style room that was HUGE. Upstairs the bedroom and downstairs the living space. The only negative thing I would say is that the bathroom / toilet is downstairs - so if you have regular visits during the night - this could pose a problem.
Everything you need for an extended stay - well equipped.
There was a raft of useful information provided on check-in.
As there are very few restaurants / cafes we bought groceries and catered in our room. St Helen's is such a beautiful place - it is a shame we could only stay for one night.
We would definitely return to stay here. It is nothing flashy - but certainly has enormous potential.

Room tip: Unless you specifically want a spa - the motel style rooms are great.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rozzimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

The cottages have everything you need for a couple of nights. Situated a ten minute walk out of the centre of town the cottages are good value for money. Certainly nothing flash as far as decor but everything was very clean and tidy. Be warned that there is very little open after about 6 in the evening and we ended up eating pizza from a very friendly little shop. To compensate we went out for a beautiful lunch in Binalong bay cafe and had another snack dinner in house.

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews