We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Queechy Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Helens
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Queechy Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2013

It is just a great place. I couldn't think of any negative point of this place (as commented by another user, maybe the fact that the toilet is downstairs while the bedroom is upstairs, not a problem for me but maybe for someone). Everything is clean and new and the location is great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

Queechy Cottages is a very clean, quiet and cosy stay in St.Helens.

We had a 2 bedroom cabin which was nicely equipped and very comfortable. Basic cooking/cleaning facilities, dining, lounge/tv area are provided. There was also a nice porch to hang out around the back.

Excellent location, perched on a hilltop overlooking the bay and only a few hundred metres walk across the bridge to the town centre. I liked how you could literally drive your car right up and park in front of the cabin's front door. Highly recommended and great value for a quiet country town escape, would loved to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had 4nights/5days at leisure; away from visiting family to briefly explore the East Coast of Tasmania. Touring route north east of Launceston; Lilydale, Bridestowe Lavender Estate, Scottsdale, Derby, Weldborough Pass – Rainforest walk, Little Plains Lookout, Pyengana Cheese, The Shop in the Bush – Bric-a-brac Shop, and St Helens as our 2 night stop over. Here we stopped at the History & Visitor Information Centre for maps, accommodation and shop hours etc…

Unbeknown to us, on search for the BIG 4 St Helens Holiday Park we pass by Queechy Cottages. After which, dissatisfied with BIG 4, we decided to investigate Queechy, and found it fitting our needs with better privacy, comfort, price - $105+/night and romantic views. It would have been a mistake to the senses or a thud to romance if we had stayed at BIG 4, when this superlative lodging overlooks Georges Bay!?

Originally booked for one night upon arrival, we extended it for 2 after inspection; and placed this town on my travel map as one of my favourite locations! Perhaps attributing to this, were the George Bay Oysters that night and the other Tasmanian culinary delights we had; all blending into one picture perfect postcard from our Cabin?

Cabin 1; a self-contained 2 bed cottage was found to be well equipped, absolutely spotless, with all appliances and facilities working. Queechy is within close proximity to the Township for grocery shopping and seafood at the Marina – 2 minutes by car. Queenslander’s please note; prawns are freighted frozen to Tasmania as we discovered, so it’s best to lap up the delectable crayfish ($75+/kg - from Bicheno). Fresh farm Georges Bay oyster’s $8.00+/dozen in shell are found on route east towards Binalong Bay, less than 5 minutes from St Helens.

From Queechy Cottages; you can manage day trips to Bay of Fires or Bicheno and return via St Marys (Mount Elephant Pancakes) on your way back to St Helens.

[Visited Mid-February from Queensland’s sub-tropics… Hence we were ill prepared for southern temperatures and whilst the water was pristine, it was absolutely freezing for us swimming enthusiasts!]

Hope our review has been of help and assistance…
Cheers ANGIE 4124

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANGIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had not booked anything and arrived on Mothers day weekend and were pleasantly surprised with both the price and the standard of the accomodation. We stayed in one of the 2 storey units with the bedroom upstairs (room aplenty) and pleasant decor and touches by the owners.
Bathroom and living area downstairs and again pleasant decor - my wife commented on the bathroom and the accessories toiletries provided at no extra cost - very nice.
Would stay again and would recommend highly for someone wanting a short stay or even longer.
Steve E

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed in a very clean and comfortable motel style room that was HUGE. Upstairs the bedroom and downstairs the living space. The only negative thing I would say is that the bathroom / toilet is downstairs - so if you have regular visits during the night - this could pose a problem.
Everything you need for an extended stay - well equipped.
There was a raft of useful information provided on check-in.
As there are very few restaurants / cafes we bought groceries and catered in our room. St Helen's is such a beautiful place - it is a shame we could only stay for one night.
We would definitely return to stay here. It is nothing flashy - but certainly has enormous potential.

Room Tip: Unless you specifically want a spa - the motel style rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rozzimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

The cottages have everything you need for a couple of nights. Situated a ten minute walk out of the centre of town the cottages are good value for money. Certainly nothing flash as far as decor but everything was very clean and tidy. Be warned that there is very little open after about 6 in the evening and we ended up eating pizza from a very friendly little shop. To compensate we went out for a beautiful lunch in Binalong bay cafe and had another snack dinner in house.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

we stayed one night there , but we wished we had stayed longer.
the house is big enough for 2 couples.The host is very kind and told us useful information. There is a tiny amusement site for kids, we had fun there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yzhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
9.2 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
9 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homelea Accommodation
Homelea Accommodation
#3 of 10 in St Helens
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queechy Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queechy Cottages

Address: 2 Tasman Hwy, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in St Helens
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Queechy Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Queechy Cottages Hotel St Helens
Queechy Cottages St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing