We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop”
Review of Sweetwater Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sweetwater Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The owner was very friendly and knowledgeable. The double room that my husband and I stayed in was clean, and had recliners. We had a bay view and a private car space. Clearly sign posted along the road, so no chance of getting lost.

Drove into the town and Bingalong Bay. Not too far at all, but this depends on your definition of kms. For us, it was fine.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JojoCHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

I am extremely happy with the units, management & staff. I have now stayed here on a number of occasions. The units are always clean and staff & management always happy and friendly. They are understanding and easy going to personable problems ( my father is in the local elderly home Medea Park ) nothing is ever a problem with management or staff.i have tried a number of other accommodation places in St Helen's including the resort but it does by no means come anywhere near Sweetwater Villas, and the resort is a lot more exie. Value for money and the welcoming received is to die for.. Thanks for all your understanding Tim and Sandy for my personnel issues that have been happening with my dad and also my other issues over the last 10 months. Looking forward to our next stay in September for our 4th stay there in the past 6 months. Will never stay anywhere else in St Helen's now. Thanks Tim, Sandy, Janelle & Tim. YOU ARE THE BEST KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK........

Room Tip: Don't give this 1 a miss........ After 19 years of traveling to Tasmania this accommodation is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

After finding this hotel on the Wotif app, we were extremely happy with our stay. The property is located in a quiet area, slightly out of town, but within a quick drive to every amenity. The room itself had a very nice view, and a spacious layout. The leather recliners in the lounge were an unexpected bonus. The highlight of our stay was the friendly, knowledgeable and helpful owner. He was very willing to point out the local sites, advise places to eat and give suggestions for day trips. All in all, great value for money. For the price, you couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Don't let your mind fill with images of bougainvillaea and lakeside spring water.....what you get is an out of town traditional motel style building set on a hillside a fair way from the bay. But what you also get is a quiet setting and clean apartments that the new owner is modernising. They are fairly well equipped for self catering and you will get a friendly welcome and a great night's sleep. The new owner won't be able to use a 'we've just taken over' excuse for long though when you find you 'd like a beer glass or better dishcloth!
Sweetwater Villas is up a quiet side road a couple of kilometres south of St Helens centre. It's verandahs have nice if not spectacular views of the bay: set on a long narrow site each room faces the view. St Helens is a good base for the fine beaches to north and south of the attractive little town centre. Here there's the usual array of shopping and supermarkets and a particularly helpful iSite office.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shipyardtales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The new owners were very helpful when contacted in advance as we were concerned about bush fires. They also allowed us to pay on arrival which was useful coming from UK.

We stayed in a one bed apartment with sea view, as described. Interior was dated and in need of a re-fit. Wifi available but only if you sat in the office or on the picnic table. The apartment had too many notices: 'do this, don't do that'. Fridge not very cold, good shower, background smell of cheap air freshener.

Location was quiet in a residential area. The walk into town would be Ok but no footpaths along roads make it pretty hazardous.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TripadviceTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This was definitely no frills accommodation. Was very dated in decor inside and out having said that we were greated by the owner/manager in a very friendly manner and he gave us great advice on where we could eat and what to see in the area and also about our trip to launceston the next day. The accommodation was comfortable clean and tidy.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The views from the room were nice....but I wouldnt go as far as saying it was great. Seemed like the roof of the unit in front of us blocked half the views. Room was comfortable,well equipped and very quiet...although I agree with other reviews about saggy couch, . We had 1 issue with the fridge. It was barely colder than room temp. It was a bordeline decision whether to throw food out next morning. A little far to the shops to walk, but the waterfront was close enough to walk to

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dags111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Helens
8.4 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
99 reviews
1 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
365 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homelea Accommodation
Homelea Accommodation
#3 of 10 in St Helens
91 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#4 of 10 in St Helens
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Anchor Wheel Motel
Anchor Wheel Motel
#3 of 5 in St Helens
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Villas

Address: 16 - 18 Halcyon Grove, St Helens, Tasmania 7216, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > St Helens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in St Helens
Price Range: £60 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sit back and relax at Sweetwater Villas, your home in St. Helens. Sweetwater Villas is located in a region with lots of natural beauty that makes it unique and special, The best location to discover Tasmania's East Coast and to explore the famous Bay of Fires located only 10 minutes away!The motel apartments are positioned on a hill in a quiet cul-de-sac away from the main road providing serenity and a panoramic view of the bay. We have a great team of people that work and live on-site to help you enjoy your stay in St Helens. The award winning fully self-contained and spacious one and two bedroom apartments are Star rating accredited 3.5 Stars and offer full cooking facilities, fresh linen and onsite allocated parking directly outside your apartment, We also have BBQ facilities and a guest laundry. Guests also have access to FREE WIFI in public areas and flat screen HD TV with DVD players with latest release loan DVDs available. The 2 storey two bedroom apartments can accommodate up to five guests. The self contained one bedroom villas have a separate lounge area and en-suite. Take a leisurely two minute walk to the Georges Bay Walking Trail and the renowned Kirwin fishing pier or drive 10 minutes to St Helens Point and Beerbarrel beach which are the local surf beaches. Why not browse through the local shops in town and dine at the RSL or numerous seafood (Salty Seas, Mohr and Smith or Skippers), Indian, Chinese and Italian restaurants and cosy cafes. Come and experience the warm hospitality at Sweetwater Villas today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sweetwater Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Villas St Helens, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing