We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An obvious choice for CMCA member travellers, or anyone else for that matter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“An obvious choice for CMCA member travellers, or anyone else for that matter”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I had wondered if this were a little off the route to explore further west, but could not have been wrong. It is only a few kilometres back to the Bass Highway, and Stanley is just delightful, The Nut beckoning for the climb to the summit or the chairlifts for the time poor or unfit. The caravan sites are spacious, clean and grassy, the amenities and kitchen just great. Right next to the beach, walking is easy to everywhere. A perfect spot and even more perfect offering discounts for CMCA members.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    61
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
85
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed for one night but wished we could have stayed longer. The parkis located on the beach front at the foot of the Stanley nut. The reception building is very flash with excellent service from the moment the doors open. We stayed in a spa cabin on the beach front and woke up to the ocean and a stunning view. The park is walking distance to the shops, food and tourist attraction.
Park grounds are very well looked after and the owner was so friendly. We hope to get back another day to enjoy more of the park and stanley.

Room Tip: Spa cabins waterfront have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationfamily101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawhia,New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here on my own in September.
It was much cheaper than staying at the Hotel on the main street and I had all my own facilities.
Cabins are a bit like from HI DEE HI days but quite doable with everything you need.
But they are FAMILY/BUDGET.
But at the price I was more than happy.
The weather was wild and windy and the unit was warm enough with good heating, small tv and own bathroom facilities.

Room Tip: Realise that they are family type no frills and accept a reasonable price for a warm night. Stanley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Reached Stanley on a wet, cold and very windy day. Got inside our little cabin to find a well laid out, practical and comfortable space, with lovely water views. The kitchen is luxurious compared to some "self-catering" we have seen. Full fridge and stove provided. So glad we had 2 nights here. Fresh and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieFen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

The cabin we stayed in was pretty much a shipping container! When the wind blew overnight the cabin would move.very expensive option for a couple.better with a family.only "budget" option on this small village

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neilmckerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Right at the bottom of the "The Nut" and right next to Tatlow's beach. A well situated park. Took a powered site for the night. The facilities were all very good and clean. Not the cheapest but you don't have much choice in Stanley. No free wifi, but can be purchased.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qofd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
339 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

This place is really pleasant. It's quiet, clean and tidy.
We took a cabin overnight and it was clean and well presented. The cost is a little high for what you get but I guess it's in keeping with what you pay in the area.
We paid $130 for the night for 3 of us in a family cabin and were given the linen and a towell to make up the bunk bed for my son.
There was no extra charge for the kid but at $130 and make your own bed you wouldn't expect extra charges.
All up it was very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffdemanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.2 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Touchwood Cottages
Touchwood Cottages
#3 of 10 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park

Property: Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park
Address: 23a Wharf Road, Stanley, Tasmania, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanley Cabin & Tourist Park is in the ideal position for a perfect holiday for families with children with the choice of staying in a cabin, motel or bring your own caravan or tent for a budget holiday on one of our powered sites. On site boardroom available for meetings/bookings includes internet access (broadband) with overhead projector for PowerPoint presentations etc...A wonderful gay, friendly atmosphere will be experienced when you stay in our warm cosy cabins located in a beautiful historic village beneath "The Nut" along the seaside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Cabin And Tourist Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing