We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother.”
Review of Stanley Seaquarium

Stanley Seaquarium
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Stanley Seaquarium transforms the ordinary building into a fascinating discovery of Tasmanian Sea-life. Colourful and vibrant, the emphasis is on fun and facts as you come face to face with resident sea creatures. From delicate Seahorses to Sharks and Lobsters, maritime artefacts, shells and ships, Stanley Seaquarium provides a unique world of delight for all ages. Sea theme gift lines and souvenirs, frozen local seafood and cooked crayfish (Southern Rock Lobster) in season. Adults- $6 Children (4-16) - $4 Family- $15 School and Tour Group discounts available
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have seen many aquarium and sea life exhibits from Cairns to Hobart and this one at Stanley is the worst. Small, dodgy, leaky besser block sided ponds. Extremely poor quality specimens in even worse condition surrounded by rubbish. Stanley aquarium is worse than Vic Hislop's at Urangan QLD.
Poor opening times too.

3  Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaquarium, Manager at Stanley Seaquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

You are entitled to offer your own somewhat unkind opinion.
However, all our sea creatures are healthy and well cared for.
'Rubbish' is better known as flotsam and jetsam
Hobart does not have an aquarium so I am unsure how you can compare us with one there
I hope you enjoyed your stay in Stanley
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice little attraction that lets you get up close to some of the local marine life. Staff were very friendly and informative. Good value for money if you're into nature.

1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaquarium, Manager at Stanley Seaquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Stanley Seaquarium, we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

No joke, it's a Seaquarium with a difference, we bought our fresh cooked crayfish here and to boot the friendly lady explained how to prepare it!

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Seaquarium, the ladies we met were friendly and helpful. OK it's not SeaWorld but then neither are the prices! The facility is well set up to cater for children with lots of information for them to absorb and the lower tanks are really down at their level.

4  Thank oztripperz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaquarium, Manager at Stanley Seaquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing Stanley Seaquarium, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and the Crayfish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Didn't know about this place before we went, only small but worth a quick visit to see the seahorses and cuttlefish alone.

2  Thank DebC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaquarium, Manager at Stanley Seaquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Stanley Seaquarium, we are glad that you found us and enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
76
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Great educational visit. There's an interactive rock pool where you can pick up the huge hermit crabs. They sell cheap quality frozen seafood too. If you visit the seaquarium after climbing The Nut, your entry is discounted and vice versa.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaquarium, Manager at Stanley Seaquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Stanley Seaquarium. We are pleased to know that your enjoyed your visit and had fun getting to know our sea creatures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanley Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Stanley Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing