We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel”

Stanley Hotel Bistro
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$37
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: At the Stanley Hotel you’ll find a cold beer, a warm welcome and great food.Our bistro offers quality Tasmanian produce featuring great steak and seafood. Produce is sourced from the local region. In season try the fresh Lobster (crayfish), scallops, crisp battered fish ‘n’ chips, great local oysters, juicy tender grass fed beef and natural chicken.Join us for lunch or dinner which is served every day in our bistro or on our sunny deck.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

While the Hotel is full of character the Bistro has been modernized. The service is very good, the menu is a little above the usual. The prices are mostly between $20 - $30.
The Steak ($33) we thought was a little bit too much.
The Venison Sausages ($19) reasonable price and very nice, came with Chips and Salad.
Scallop Pie also came with Chips and Salad ($21). Great location, good service, had a fire going which gave a nice feel to the place.
Just a little bit to modern, needs a bit more character in the Bistro.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    225
    62
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

nothing to write home about but still worth putting it in tripvisor. ordered from the blackboard but the soup wasn't very good, the fish was OK but it came with pasta errrrrrrrr, would have loved a choice, but maybe to hard...the place need a upgrade it was ok in the 80s and maybe the 90s.......

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mary1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Staying in Stanley, we walked past this Hotel and noticed a Bistro, so we decided this would be where we would eat our evening meal.
On arrival we were met by Michelle at the entrance who showed us to our table for the night. After viewing the Menu- We decided on trying the Cob with Herb/Garlic Butter, 1/2 Dozen Oyster Kilpatrick, Eye Fillet Steak with Vegs, Chicken Parma with Chips and Salad.
The Bread arrived and it was nice and warm, with the season butters, the butter melted on the bread, just as it melted in my mouth- very nice indeed. Then out came the oysters, they were sensational and we could see why so many diners were ordering or eating oysters. Then the mains- The Chicken Parma was the Best Parma both in size and taste I have had in Tasmania and served with a good serve of chips and salad and nicely arranged on the plate. The Steak with the Vegetables was just cooked perfect to my partners request of Medium the Sauce was both tasty and generous in portion. Vegies where fresh and delicious. WELL DONE to the Chef and Team, and the Friendly Waitressing/Waiter Staff. It is a pleasant dining experience and VALUE PLUS for the PRICE - and would not hesitate to eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hadda Holiday P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value for money”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

What can I say that hasn't been said by other reviewers - the food was fantastic, the staff were so friendly and helpful. Obviously very popular with visitors and locals alike - we were lucky to get a table. Thankyou.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hal470709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were a group of 6 couples and had a beautiful meal at the Stanley Hotel. Staff were friendly and the food was delicious. Good Wine List too. No hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fletch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stanley Hotel Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Stanley Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing