We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely bed and breakfast in cosy little bay”
Review of The Ark Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ark Stanley
Ranked #1 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2013

it is a beautiful property to be sure. nice little touches like chocolate biscuits in a jar in the room. beautiful chandeliers, wooden floors, lovely long windows. but the bed was too soft for us and we both got no sleep. and you felt as though you had to be quiet all the time as it was a room in a house with other guests and the owners. breakfast was ok, muesli, toast, jams, yogurt etc. but one day we went out and it had already been put away even though it states breakfast til 10am and it was earlier than that. i told my sister who owned a b&b once and said mmmm, thats not "hospitality" really is it. i think a knock on the door would have been nice to see if we were wanting breakfast rather than just packing up and presuming.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethany2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Thank you for your review, it was nice to hear your comments. Certainly it is not easy to come across a bed more comfortable than your own at home. We are sorry to hear you found the bed soft and did not sleep soundly. Many guests have inquired about our full latex mattresses and pillows as they say they were quite comfortable and something they would consider when due for a replacement at home.
Breakfast, during the months that it is served, is usually available until 11am to accommodate late checkouts and relaxed guests staying on another night. When a couple advise the evening prior that they are going to have a hearty full cooked breakfast at nearby popular breakfast bar Moby Dicks, then when all other guests have departed the breakfast supplies would be put away. In the event plans change, it would be little effort to re-set the bench and a breakfast could certainly be arranged. Thank you again for your comments, we hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for The Ark Stanley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

I have no reservation recommending 'The Ark". Decorated tastefully to a very high standard, and immaculate. One of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed in, attention to detail second to none. Walking distance to various eating houses. quaint and quiet little village. Would love to come back if we ever visit Tasmainia again. Cheryl and Phil. Rosebud Victoria.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope you can find your way back to Stanley. Lovely to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stay in Stanley a few times a year, and the normal accomadation I stay in was booked out, so this was a second choice for me, as I normally prefer to stay in hotel or apartment rather than B&B's....However.... My stay at the Ark was a very recommendable one. very freindly and professional hosts, and excellent room with everything you could need for a stay away from home.
The house has had recent and complete renovations, and finished to a very high standard with quality fittings throughout. The location is very good, with a very short walk to the wharf, parks or the main shops..
All in all a excellent stay, and one I would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

It was lovely to read your comments, and to learn a guest house/b&b can be a great choice for a business traveller. We do hope to see you again; thank you for giving us a try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Upon arriving in Stanley we couldn't have been more happier with our selection on Wotif. We were so happy that asked to stay another night. We were lucky enough to stay for two nights in two different rooms, each unique but both very classy and extremely comfortable. The rooms were elegantly furnished and the bathrooms were very nice, the dual shower heads a highlight.

The location was also spot on. A beautiful view of the water in both rooms. Positioned nicely under the famous Nut and a short stroll to all the cool little, shops, cafes and restaurants in Stanley's town centre.

Little details were great too, chocolates, coffee and tea in rooms plus a good folder in each room to provide info on things offered in town. Continental breakfast as well was very nice with some quality home made jams.

Thanks Guys

Elanna and Jack

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay in Stanley. It was lovely to meet you and have chats over breakfast. We thank you for taking the time to leave a review and - Please visit us again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Arrived in Stanley with nowhere to stay for one night. After asking around at a few places - all booked out we found this cute B and B. I was hesitant at first as these places are usually not children friendly. Spoke to owner who was very happy to accommodate a child. Had a beautiful room, I became paranoid as the room was exquisite and i had a 2yr old who liked to touch everything. Complimentary chocs to go with our coffee. Even had a DVD player. Bathroom gorgeous. We paid $140.00 on wotif it was a back room, totally worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwind44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and, hopefully, you can stay a little longer next time! The heated floors we have in the ensuites, continuing through to the natural pebbles in the shower area, are definitely a great feature in the cooler months. While the Corinthian Suite is one of our most popular, both the Anderson and Belvedere are set directly at the front of the property so have the most amazing views and are the closest to the water. Thank you for choosing "The Ark", for your accommodation in Stanley, and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed one night at this great guesthouse. Best night's sleep in a long while with a very comfortable bed. And of course the location, short walk from the pub bistro. The highlights include an amazing heated tiled bathroom floor and right on the sea front.

Room Tip: We stayed in Corinthian room. I think the best view was from the Belvedere room? The one on the main...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Glad to hear you had a good night's sleep, not always easy when away from home, and bare feet certainly do appreciate a heated floor in the cooler months! Thank you for staying with us, thank you too for taking the time to leave your comments, and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This is our 3rd time to Stanley in 10 years. We found this place on the web and I can't remember it being open last time. Have stayed at a couple of places around town. Always try to search for a place with decent view.
We booked the belvedere suite which had an amazing double shower, and a view which can only be seen to be beleived !
Can't remember the owners names but they were most accommodating and very friendly.
There was all equip to make teas etc a few lil choccy's (yum) no full kitchen but we weren't on holiday to cook !
great eatery's within minutes of a leisurely stroll.
Can't wait for a 4th trip and will 110% book this place again ! WOW !
Daren & Georgia Maddison.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarenAndGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Thank you Daren and Georgia for your review, our first! Yes, we have only been open a few months and we are happy you enjoyed your stay at The Ark Stanley. Since then we have added free wi-fi to the services offered, so we hope this will be of benefit to you in the future. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Stanley
129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ark Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark Stanley

Address: 18 Wharf Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: £87 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ark Stanley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House The Ark Stanley is situated in Stanley Tasmania, a restored period residence, positioned directly opposite Tatlow’s Beach and at the base of the plug of an extinct volcano standing approximately 150 metres high, known as The Nut. Our location takes in sweeping views across Sawyers Bay, and of course upward to the impressive and towering Nut. The Circular Head area, and the township of Stanley in particular, is a much-loved tourist destination and has something for all, be they adventurer, explorer, naturalist, historian, fisherman, romantic or holidaymaker. The residence has recently been tastefully restored, renovated and enhanced. With an eclectic decor, paying homage to yesteryear and planning for the future, an outstanding home has been created which is proudly offered for guest accommodation. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ark Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ark Stanley Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing