We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not if you want a comfortable sleep...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ark Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ark Stanley
Ranked #1 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ryderonthestorm
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not if you want a comfortable sleep...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Perhaps some of the earlier reviews of this property are from family or friends, because they bare little resemblance to the actual experience. The priority for any accommodation is a good night's sleep. The bed at The Ark is uncomfortable and the pillow is hard and rigid - and there is no alternative option of a softer pillow. I was kept up much of the night unable to get comfortable, and awoke with an aching neck. The place lacks warmth, style and sophistication, and seems to have been decorated by someone with little travel experience. The room itself although adequate in some respects, suffers from having no comfortable seating and from having very little insulation from the next room. We could hear our neighbours every sound. The heated floor in the bathroom was a welcome touch and worked very well. However, there was no bath (which is needed in Stanley given frequent cold weather) despite having abundant room. Instead, there was a strange double shower set up which was odd. I would not stay here again. It's average (3 stars is generous), however I would not recommend it to couples who want their privacy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryderonthestorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
It is very regrettable Ryderonthestorm you had an unsettled night and that this effected your experience at The Ark. While you might not think so, we do truly appreciate the time you took to leave your review and the fact that you shared your experience with others; as that is what it is all about.
Pillows on our beds are of full latex (dressed with 1200TC Sheridan pillowslips) , as are the mattresses, however, there are always additional soft Tontine pillows (dressed with 1000TC pillow slips) available in the wardrobe, which appear not to have been located on the top shelf on this occasion. FYI - We advocate the use of natural products and believe full latex pillows and mattresses are the preferred choice for bedding as they protect against beg bugs.
Looking over past reviews - I note that whilst friends and family have certainly not left reviews for us, I personally recall the majority of our past guests. I confidently say that while they arrived as guests, they left as friends. Not for the reviews they left in hindsight, but because we had friendly and connected interactions during their stay.
With regard to your comment about sound and insulation - all internal walls were installed with sound proofing insulation, as was the floor in the upper level, whereby it might be due to the unfortunate situation of not being comfortable in a strange bed that the midnight noises were distracting.
Finally, we would encourage all potential guests (to avoid disappointment and surprise) before booking anywhere; to please check photos and descriptions. As an example, our suites show we do not have baths, we do have double showers, and the decor is identified on numerous photos online.
Regards, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
137
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Bar, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

stayed one night on our honeymoon and this place was amazing. great hosts, location beautiful, room was modern and trendy. stanley on the bay restaurant on valentines day was also brilliant. can't wait to go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wal688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Congratulations Peter K on your recent nuptials and thank you for choosing The Ark Stanley to be a part of your honeymoon! We are very pleased you had a great time in Stanley and we certainly do hope to see you back for your 1st wedding anniversary, and every other one after that too! Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a review for us. Kind regards, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horsham
Level Contributor
436 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We could not fault any aspect of our stay at the Ark. We had booked the Weatherly - as other rooms with sea views/balcony were showing as booked. When we arrived we were asked if we wanted to swap from this - the smallest room - to the Belvedere at no additional cost as this was also available. We thanked our hosts and accepted.
The house has been extended and completed renovated to a very high specification and very tastefully decorated by Rhonda and Christophen. Our room was large and bathroom huge. We enjoyed having a drink overlooking the beach on our veranda.
The breakfast was, in my opinion excellent. All home made jams, fresh fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, choice of breads, cereals, yoghurt coffees and teas.
There have been negative comments about the absence of the landlord when they stay. Rhonda explained that they live on the premises during peak season Dec - Easter and live elsewhere during the off season with local staff providing the necessary support when they are not there. Our hosts were extremely welcoming, friendly and booked dinner for us.
This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. I cannot recommend this more highly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Happy to hear "Boaster" you were pleased with the upgrade to a front room. While we believe you would have been quite happy with the Weatherly suite, which has its own balcony and an entrance separate from the main house, we do like to offer an upgrade when it is available as we love to share our great front room views. Thank you for your helpful comment in relation to our occupancy at The Ark. We do live on site from December to approximately the end of April each year; we try and stay as long as practicable as we do love it here, but eventually the seasons change and fewer and fewer people come through in the cooler/colder months. We are helped out in our absence by fantastic local people, whereby the quality of the service and accommodation is maintained at all times. Breakfast is provided each morning during the busy season, served at the breakfast bench with great water views, and we enjoy preparing and sharing our home-made yoghurts, bread, jams and preserved fruits (and lots of recipes) with many amazing guests. It was lovely to have met you and we wish you happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Quality renovation on this property. Beautiful rooms, great bfasts and the owners were fantastic hosts. Situated in ideal location near wharf with spectacular views. Had dinner at Xanders one night and Stanley's on the Bay the other - both were very good. Loved it.

Room Tip: front rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Boof2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Happy to hear "Boof" you found your stay with us very enjoyable, and that your meals were memorable at the restaurants in town. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Out of all the places I've stayed in Tasmania, this was my favourite. It was a little bit of luxury and I didn't actually expect it to be so nice. We chose the room looking out onto the boats especially for the view but once we got there I was distracted by the classy decorative features. It was all the little things that made the difference like the heated floor and towel rack in the bathroom and the glass switches. I would highly recommend it. Oh, and we loved Stanley too. One of our favourite places. There is not a lot to do necessarily but we loved the atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deSchone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
It is really appreciated DeSchone you took the time to write a review and express your thoughts about our house, and your appreciation in finding the special features in your room. Wonderful to hear we were your favourite accommodation in Tasmania, and that we managed to surprise you with the quality and luxury. Kind regards Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Aust
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stunning B&B in Stanley. Beautifully renovated house right in the heart of town. Great hosts who really made an effort to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Rooms were stunning, with all the luxury extras. The best B&B we've stayed in, should be a 5*

Room Tip: They're all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Great to have been able to share our house with such a lovely family; thank you for your review and kind comments about The Ark being the best B&B you have stayed in. Perhaps we will see you again one day! Kind regards, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

From the moment we arrived at The Ark we knew we were in for a treat. The planter boxes near the entrance were filled with growing strawberries and the view over the bay was simply stunning. We were warmly greeted by our hosts Rhonda & Christer and shown about the house. Our room took our breath away, and we felt like we had walked into the pages of Better Homes & Gardens. The furnishings were top quality and the travel toiletries smelt delicious and were heaven on our travel weary skins. Nothing was spared by our gracious hosts who put on a delicious breakfast of homemade jams and yoghurt. Whilst you're in Stanley be sure to take the chairlift up the top of The Nut and dine at Xanders Brasserie. Although we only spent one night here, we could quite easily have spent our entire holidays in this beautiful home.
This is the B&B we are most definitely going to be recommending to our friends and families; if you're holidaying in Tasmania then you HAVE to stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms are decadent and extremely comfortable, you will be happy with your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWebley89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you name us "Best B&B in Tasmania! More particularly we are glad you were able to have some time in the town experiencing the nut and one of our wonderful restaurants. We are fortunate to be able to grow our own strawberries for the breakfast table - they do look great growing in the planter boxes, and it was great to be able to share our kitchen bench and great view with you in the morning. Thank you for your kind words. Best regards, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.0 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanlon House B&B
Hanlon House B&B
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#5 of 7 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ark Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark Stanley

Property: The Ark Stanley
Address: 18 Wharf Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ark Stanley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House The Ark Stanley is situated in Stanley Tasmania, a restored period residence, positioned directly opposite Tatlow’s Beach and at the base of the plug of an extinct volcano standing approximately 150 metres high, known as The Nut. Our location takes in sweeping views across Sawyers Bay, and of course upward to the impressive and towering Nut. The Circular Head area, and the township of Stanley in particular, is a much-loved tourist destination and has something for all, be they adventurer, explorer, naturalist, historian, fisherman, romantic or holidaymaker. The residence has recently been tastefully restored, renovated and enhanced. With an eclectic decor, paying homage to yesteryear and planning for the future, an outstanding home has been created which is proudly offered for guest accommodation. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Ark Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ark Stanley Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing