We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful quiet B&B right on the waterfront”
Review of The Ark Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ark Stanley
Ranked #1 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A beautiful quiet B&B right on the waterfront”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Belvedere Room after it was recommended by a friend and after checking out the Trip Advisor reviews. We are so glad we did. The room was lovely with its French decor, double shower bay, heated floors. There was lots of little touches that make you feel really welcome such as Tim Tams on arrival. Rhonda was an excellent host and gave us reviews for local restaurants which were also really good and saved us missing out on tea. The Ark is right opposite the wharf and under the Nut so has great views out the window. I will happily stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you Kyofuu for leaving a review for us. It is great to hear we were recommended and that you enjoyed yourself in Stanley. We do hope to see you again. Best wishes Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
149
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We found this place online on route to Stanley and booked online. Booking process was seamless and they were ready for us. We had been camping for a few days before hand and had some food we wanted to cook on the BBQ, which they were more than happy for us to use. The rooms were large and well equipped, bathrooms were spacious and included a double shower, heated floor and all the extras you would want to see such as robes, hairdryers, straighteners, toiletries etc. our hosts were wry welcoming and I would highly recommend staying here. I would definitely come back and stay for longer, great spot with great views and location was perfect for explore Stanley and the nut.
Also great value for money,,

Room Tip: We stayed. Bellvedere suite which had a lovely view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess3uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We very much appreciated your review Jess3uk and it was wonderful to hear you would stay with us again. Thank you, Rhonda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

While our stay was only one night I would have liked to have extended. We enjoyed a warm welcome from Rhonda on arrival who also offered us a room upgrade which was very nice to recieve. The accomodation was very comfortable with a spacious bathroom - all very clean and beautifully maintained. The point that I noted in particular was the high quality of the sheets, pillows, towels, etc and things like extra pillows and bath-robes provided. Breakfast was great and you couldn't do better than this location in Stanley. I will definately come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Weatherly Suit which I believe is the smallest room but is located at the side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Happy to hear Chris D that you enjoyed your time at The Ark and particularly that your time in Stanley encouraged you to return. It is definately a great place. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Rhonda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a two night stop in the Ark where had an excellent stay due to the the friendly and helpful hosts. We arrived before lunch after arriving in Devonport on the Spirit of Tasmanial. I was feeling off weather and was very pleased when we were able to book in early, our room was changed to allow this. This welcome was continued over the next few days with recommendations of places to eat and places to visit.
The room was comfortable, with a very modern bathroom. (They could have provided larger bath sheets to extend the luxuriant experience.)
Excellent location in walking distant to the best restaurants in Stanley.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Your review is much appreciated Vicki and we thank you for your comments. When you arrived at 9.20am and your husband explained you weren't well and needed a bed, we could not accommodate you immediately in the room you had booked as it had not yet been vacated by the previous night's guests who were still at breakfast. An upgrade to the Belvedere Suite soon fixed that and we were happy to oblige. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes. Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and I must say that everything Brenda S has said in her review is spot on. The location and outlook are great. The house has been beautifully renovated and our room felt nicely secluded. Rhonda & Christer were very welcoming and we were upgraded on arrival to the Anderson room at no extra cost.The room was immaculate and spacious and the décor very tasteful. The bed linen and soft furnishings were top quality. Breakfast in the gorgeous kitchen was scrumptious, with a great selection of healthy foods to choose from. Rhonda preserves fruits in season and a good selection of them is offered each morning. Would definitely recommend a stay. Only (slight) negatives were an intermittent WiFi signal and a firm bed, which is probably more about personal preference.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you Ann for your review. it was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality and special touche throughout the property. The intermittent wi-fi signal is unfortunately something that is generally encountered throughout town and more so indicative of our area, lovely as it is! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a fantastic overnight stay at The Ark. The owners were welcoming,friendly and very hospitable. The room was immaculate,clean,fresh and very tastefully decorated. Every little extra you could possibly think of was in the room. Including things like an aromatic candle,timtam biscuits,battery operated decorative light feature,umbrellas and robes in the cupboard, toilet spray,makeup remover,cotton buds/ balls and cushions for the outdoor chairs. Also provided were champagne glasses,wine cooler,plates and cutlery even though it wasn't self contained. A lovely breakfast was provided n the central kitchen. A choice of various cereals, fruit,yoghurt, breads,jams, fresh squeezed juice and a large choice of various coffee made fresh from the coffee machine. A choice of DVDs and magazines could be borrowed from the main lounge. One tiny criticism was the wifi signal didn't reach the room we stayed in as it wasn't apart of the main house. We stayed in the weatherly room. Should we ever return to Stanley we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: An internal room if you want wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us Brenda S. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay, that you liked the details in the room and would return if travelling to Stanley. That is a great recommendation and we really appreciate it. Hopefully your return visit will be sooner rather than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Myself and my Groomsman stayed at The Ark for 2 nights in the lead up to our wedding. It provided a perfect base and the B&B style of this property served us perfectly with rooms opening up into a shared common area. Breakfast was great and filling and Rhonda was an absolute dream to deal with. You won't be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
It was a pleasure John, for The Ark Stanley to have had the opportunity to be a part of your special day, and the lead up to it. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it is very much appreciated. We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 7 in Stanley
126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
493 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ark Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark Stanley

Property: The Ark Stanley
Address: 18 Wharf Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ark Stanley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House The Ark Stanley is situated in Stanley Tasmania, a restored period residence, positioned directly opposite Tatlow’s Beach and at the base of the plug of an extinct volcano standing approximately 150 metres high, known as The Nut. Our location takes in sweeping views across Sawyers Bay, and of course upward to the impressive and towering Nut. The Circular Head area, and the township of Stanley in particular, is a much-loved tourist destination and has something for all, be they adventurer, explorer, naturalist, historian, fisherman, romantic or holidaymaker. The residence has recently been tastefully restored, renovated and enhanced. With an eclectic decor, paying homage to yesteryear and planning for the future, an outstanding home has been created which is proudly offered for guest accommodation. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ark Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ark Stanley Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing