We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, wonderful stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ark Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ark Stanley
Ranked #1 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, wonderful stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were kindly upgraded to the Admiral Room as it was vacant at the time. Thanks to Rhonda for her caring attitude towards guests. A wonderful view across the water and a good location with an easy walk to the village. The room was lovingly decorated and felt very welcoming with some chocolates, tim tam biscuits and coffee machine to greet us on arrival. Wish we could have stayed longer but would love to return and stay again. Highly recommend.
Maureen & Chris

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
It was our pleasure to arrange the upgrade; we fell you can't have a great view like the one we have and not share it as much as possible! Hope to see you in the future Maureen and Chris, and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your Tasmanian holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
142
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Ark in April. On arrival received a bonus surprise that breakfast was included in the deal.
The place was spotless, with every conceivable extra - though it wasn't until the second night that I discovered the extra pillows, as those on the bed were too big and firm for my liking.
The host was friendly and informative and went out of her way to ensure the stay was as pleasant as possible.
Couldn't fault the place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us Phteve and our continental breakfast. Many guests choose to cater for themselves, or elect to have a hearty cooked breakfast at Moby Dicks which is a short stroll from The Ark. However, when we are in attendance at The Ark from approximately mid December to April each year, we very much enjoy sharing our homemade yoghurts, keffir, jams, preserves, breads, seasonal fruits, etc to ensure a healthy breakfast option. We do hope to see you again. Best wishes, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Belvedere Room after it was recommended by a friend and after checking out the Trip Advisor reviews. We are so glad we did. The room was lovely with its French decor, double shower bay, heated floors. There was lots of little touches that make you feel really welcome such as Tim Tams on arrival. Rhonda was an excellent host and gave us reviews for local restaurants which were also really good and saved us missing out on tea. The Ark is right opposite the wharf and under the Nut so has great views out the window. I will happily stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyofuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you Kyofuu for leaving a review for us. It is great to hear we were recommended and that you enjoyed yourself in Stanley. We do hope to see you again. Best wishes Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We found this place online on route to Stanley and booked online. Booking process was seamless and they were ready for us. We had been camping for a few days before hand and had some food we wanted to cook on the BBQ, which they were more than happy for us to use. The rooms were large and well equipped, bathrooms were spacious and included a double shower, heated floor and all the extras you would want to see such as robes, hairdryers, straighteners, toiletries etc. our hosts were wry welcoming and I would highly recommend staying here. I would definitely come back and stay for longer, great spot with great views and location was perfect for explore Stanley and the nut.
Also great value for money,,

Room Tip: We stayed. Bellvedere suite which had a lovely view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess3uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We very much appreciated your review Jess3uk and it was wonderful to hear you would stay with us again. Thank you, Rhonda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

While our stay was only one night I would have liked to have extended. We enjoyed a warm welcome from Rhonda on arrival who also offered us a room upgrade which was very nice to recieve. The accomodation was very comfortable with a spacious bathroom - all very clean and beautifully maintained. The point that I noted in particular was the high quality of the sheets, pillows, towels, etc and things like extra pillows and bath-robes provided. Breakfast was great and you couldn't do better than this location in Stanley. I will definately come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Weatherly Suit which I believe is the smallest room but is located at the side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Happy to hear Chris D that you enjoyed your time at The Ark and particularly that your time in Stanley encouraged you to return. It is definately a great place. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Rhonda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a two night stop in the Ark where had an excellent stay due to the the friendly and helpful hosts. We arrived before lunch after arriving in Devonport on the Spirit of Tasmanial. I was feeling off weather and was very pleased when we were able to book in early, our room was changed to allow this. This welcome was continued over the next few days with recommendations of places to eat and places to visit.
The room was comfortable, with a very modern bathroom. (They could have provided larger bath sheets to extend the luxuriant experience.)
Excellent location in walking distant to the best restaurants in Stanley.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Your review is much appreciated Vicki and we thank you for your comments. When you arrived at 9.20am and your husband explained you weren't well and needed a bed, we could not accommodate you immediately in the room you had booked as it had not yet been vacated by the previous night's guests who were still at breakfast. An upgrade to the Belvedere Suite soon fixed that and we were happy to oblige. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes. Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and I must say that everything Brenda S has said in her review is spot on. The location and outlook are great. The house has been beautifully renovated and our room felt nicely secluded. Rhonda & Christer were very welcoming and we were upgraded on arrival to the Anderson room at no extra cost.The room was immaculate and spacious and the décor very tasteful. The bed linen and soft furnishings were top quality. Breakfast in the gorgeous kitchen was scrumptious, with a great selection of healthy foods to choose from. Rhonda preserves fruits in season and a good selection of them is offered each morning. Would definitely recommend a stay. Only (slight) negatives were an intermittent WiFi signal and a firm bed, which is probably more about personal preference.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArkStanley, Owner at The Ark Stanley, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you Ann for your review. it was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the quality and special touche throughout the property. The intermittent wi-fi signal is unfortunately something that is generally encountered throughout town and more so indicative of our area, lovely as it is! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.3 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
11.3 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanlon House B&B
Hanlon House B&B
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.0 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#5 of 7 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ark Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark Stanley

Property: The Ark Stanley
Address: 18 Wharf Rd, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ark Stanley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House The Ark Stanley is situated in Stanley Tasmania, a restored period residence, positioned directly opposite Tatlow’s Beach and at the base of the plug of an extinct volcano standing approximately 150 metres high, known as The Nut. Our location takes in sweeping views across Sawyers Bay, and of course upward to the impressive and towering Nut. The Circular Head area, and the township of Stanley in particular, is a much-loved tourist destination and has something for all, be they adventurer, explorer, naturalist, historian, fisherman, romantic or holidaymaker. The residence has recently been tastefully restored, renovated and enhanced. With an eclectic decor, paying homage to yesteryear and planning for the future, an outstanding home has been created which is proudly offered for guest accommodation. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ark Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ark Stanley Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing