We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mid week honeymoon scape to Stanley” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley Seaview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stanley Seaview Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mid week honeymoon scape to Stanley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We were late arriving and the owners kindly left a welcome note and the key to our room easy to find. We were made feel very welcome and the room was clean & warm. However the breakfast prices (which we didn't avail of) was very expensive and the room itself we felfcould definitely do with an update, not so much for local TAS guests but more so for overseas travellers. Oh and the free WI-FI was very welcome.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DarrenDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    203
    42
    12
    7
See reviews for
110
244
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

A pity that the restaurant had to close,it would then have been the complete package.The views were great from wherever you were,sitting, on the balcony,glass in hand---total relaxation.Staff were excellent,courteous and willing to assist on every occasion.

Room Tip: If our room was an example of the accommodation standard,it would not matter where you were housed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks very much Kevin.
This is a great review for us.
Our restaurant has been closed for 16 months now - and we have tried to remove any reference about it from the entire market place, so that people don't expect an on-site restaurant.
If you can remember where you saw a reference to us having a restaurant, I would appreciate it if you could let me know, so that I can remove it.
Thanks again,
Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Immaculate room, stunning view of the 'Nut', great bathroom and kitchen facilities and delicious breakfast. Lovely and well-informed staff and an upgrade was a thoughtful gesture. We definitely plan on returning in the summer with the whole family. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write these very nice comments.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself here.
We'll look forward to seeing you again - with your whole family.
Kindest regards,
Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is a good place to base yourself for a night or two while in the region. Located just a few km off the main highway it is in a quiet location with good views. It provides reasonable value for money, has been given a recent make over (at least the room I was in) to modernise the bathroom, the bedroom is still 80s decor with pine dado but all clean tidy and comfortable. The only downside was that arriving late in winter there was only electric panel heating that struggled to get the room to temperature. In summer there will be no air conditioning for cooling.
The on-site restaurant is now closed but in-room continental breakfasts are offered.
The owners are very friendly and helpful.
The property is located about 5 minutes from Stanley village where there are good places to eat, but get in early for an evening meal (as they close early particularly in winter).
Stanley has a number of attractions from its heritage properties, Highfield House, Lyons (Australian PM) Cottage and the Post Office, the wharf and the ubiquitous Stanley Nut.

Room Tip: There is a slight extra cost for rooms with a sea view which if you are staying for leisure is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckywandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks very much for your comments.
I am sorry that you didn't manage to keep warm enough.
During winter, we usually turn heaters on in the rooms of expected arrivals, so that it is nice and cosy for them when they arrive. We must have missed your room - I am sorry.
Kind regards,
Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Good size room, clean, good for 1-2 nights. No bar/restaurant on the side so you need to go back to town center (5 min drive).No reception staff for check in as it was low season,but we didnt mind it,as key was left in the envelope. value for money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AgnesSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The staffs upon check in is very friendly, not just tell us the special things around stanley and the nut but also tell us where to look for the little pengiun and lend us the touch light for the night search for pengiun...

The room is very comfortable, clean and nice...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Syllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello.

Thank you - I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you got to see some Penguins?

Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Really great Property with fantastic views. Great 2 bedroom apartment, very happy and will come back.
Very good value for money. Shame Restaurant was not open and no hot breakfast. But otherwise great stay

Room Tip: Seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clint W, Manager at Stanley Seaview Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello and thank you very much for your kind review.

I am pleased to hear that you had a nice time here in Stanley.

Clint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
0.9 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hanlon House B&B
Hanlon House B&B
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley Seaview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley Seaview Inn

Property: Stanley Seaview Inn
Address: 58 Dovecote Rd., Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia (Formerly Dovecote Motel and Restaurant)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stanley Seaview Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanley Seaview Inn is a multi award winning AAA rated 3 ½ star property in the peaceful historical fishing village of Stanley, at the Western end of Tasmania’s North coast.Our hillside location provides most guest rooms with magnificent views over Stanley, the famous Stanley Nut and the surrounding waters of Bass Strait.Recent refurbishments provided guest rooms with modern décor, furnishings and bathrooms, complimented by flat screen TV’s and fast, free reliable wireless internet (Wi-Fi).Other guest room features include : Complimentary tea and coffee facilities, electric heating, electric blankets, hair dryer, ironing facilities, desk, dining table, refrigerator, mini bar and free off street parking.We have a variety of room types including standard rooms (garden view), seaview rooms, family rooms and self contained apartments. Our property also features two playgrounds and BBQ areas (the second opens in October). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Stanley Seaview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Seaview Hotel
Stanley Seaview Inn Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing