We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute tranquility!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #5 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed over the Australia Day long weekend in the 'Pelican' cabin. The cabin itself was immaculate, very well laid out and had a beautiful view from the living/dining room and the deck. We had breakfast on the deck both mornings, enjoying the scenery and we also took lovely long walks along the beach (it was pristine and we didn't see a soul). We also took a half day tour to the Tarkine forest with Chris - he was a very good guide and had lots of interesting facts to share. The picnic lunch (part of the tour) was also lovely - so much so that we even had a couple of bees join the picnic!
We also liked the fact that Beachside Retreat was less than a 10 min drive from Stanley town and the various tourist attractions such as the Nut, and not much further to the Cable Station restaurant where we had a lovely dinner.
This was our second visit to Beachside Retreat and it was everything we expected. We will definitely be back again. Thanks Janette and Chris for being such lovely hosts.
Justin & Joice S

Room Tip: If you don't need a spa, the Pelican cabin is the way to go as it is the newest cabin and is sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandjs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Hi Justin and Joice,
Thank you for your review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Pelican nature cabin. The Tarkine Tour is very interesting and is also very comfortable on the gravel tracks, in our new luxury 4WD vehicle. We have reduced the tour to a half day as this enables guests to participate in other activities, such as a seal cruise, when time is limited. Nice to see you again, the second time in 3 months. Bye for now.
Best wishes. Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

Beachside Retreat is tucked carefully into the sand dunes above beautiful West Inlet and only a few kilometres from the little township of Stanley. The four cabins are completely private from each other and all with their own unique character. Everything you could need for a peaceful 'retreat' but with all mod cons. There is a nature trail that winds through the bushland or take the path down to the sandy beach for a walk, a swim or to knock some fresh oysters from the rocks! If you order a breakfast hamper you will get lots of goodies including Janette's homemade jam and fresh made bread. Even freshly laid eggs if the hens are behaving!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Hi SusyQ,
Thank you for your recent review.
Our environmental architect designed the cabins so that each one is different in style and completely private from the next one. If you are looking for a retreat we do our best to make it happen. We have now added 3 more hens to our orchard, after the spotted quolls reduced our hen numbers and now have a more reliable egg supply. Lovely to hear from you and hope to see you again soon.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I loved to stay at this place. It is so relaxing to sit on the little terrace and look at the wonderfull beach. The cabins furniture is very nice and well planed, the cabin itself fits perfectly to the landscape. I do recommend to stay at Beachside Retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margarete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Hi Margarete,
Thank you for your review.
We hope that you had a safe journey home to Austria after your relaxing stay here.
We employed an environmental architect to design the cabins so that they fitted perfectly within the natural setting and we think that she came up with an amazing result.
It was lovely to meet you both. Maybe we shall see you again one day.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Many thanks again, Janette, for the continued fine hospitality manifest at your Beachside Retreat at West Inlet.

We've yet to experience the so-called Tassie weather in the shadow of The Nut -- it always been great for those few days of our visits.

And my highest praise, on this our fourth visit, for the surprise of a genuine lap pool, and the complementary spa – both enjoying heated water. A wonderful bonus.

You and Chris must come visit us sometime.

David & Lyn Derrick
Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

Room Tip: The architect-designed detached cottages are unique, and perfectly sited affording privacy and sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidderrick44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Hi Davidderrick,
Thank you for your review.
Good to hear you continue to enjoy our hospitality and also our latest development - a 15 metre heated lap pool and spa; a lovely way to relax at the end of the day.
Nice to see you year after year. Looking forward to your visit next Christmas.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The location alongside West Inlet is wonderful with a safe tranquil beach a place for enjoyable walks in the sand, oysters to pluck from the rocks, fish to catch if you so desire and eagles and hawks circling above the dunes. The cabin we stayed in (Pelican) has beautiful with fabulous joinery and superb wooden floors of Tasmanian timbers. Extremely well constructed cabins. Excellent design, spacious and comfortable. A great place to relax and read a book or enjoy the view or go for a swim. The service was top notch and the owners are lovely people we enjoyed meeting and talking to. The retreat is well located for exploring NW Tasmania. We will certainly return!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Pelican" chalet and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Hi KenB,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Pelican, our latest cabin overlooking the sea. The view of West Inlet is superb from the floor to ceiling windows and Pelican has possibly the best water view of all the four cabins. The inlet is a fisherman's paradise and we supply shucking knives and buckets to guests who wish to collect the Pacific oysters themselves. The location here lends itself to relaxation and guests leave here feeling rejuvenated after their stay.
We hope to see you again sometime. Thank you for your review.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Sandpiper cabin right on the sand dunes was perfectly located, with sparkling water views and everything needed provided in the cabin. A lovely deck to sit outside and admire the view was just perfect. Located on the road to Stanley, (well away from the road with no traffic noise at all) and just a few minutes drive into the town itself and all it has to offer i.e. cruises, restaurants, museum, interesting shops and boutiques and of course The Nut. Great position to explore the surrounding area - glad I stayed for a week and didn't keep changing accommodation.

Room Tip: I found Sandpiper to be in an excellent position, but all the cabins face the beach and would be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jampot666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Hi Jampot666,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Sandpiper is always a popular choice with it's views along the beach and very private deck area.
We try to provide all amenities for guests to self-cater as most do not want to eat out every night. Traffic noise is never a problem staying on a rural property, with only the sounds of the sea and the bird life to soothe you. Yet we are only 3kms from the pretty, historical village of Stanley and well placed to visit all the local attractions.
Glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed for two nights at Beachside Resort in the Sandpiper Lodge. Both Chris and Jeanette Bishop were there to greet us upon our arrival and showed us to the lodge. We were immediately struck by the unique, creative and superbly constructed lodge. Chris gave us a very comprehensive description of how every thing worked within the lodge before leaving us to enjoy the late evening sunshine. The lodge is superbly equipped with nothing missing from what we needed to make our stay special. The internal finishes are excellently co ordinated with lovely wooden flooring, a handcrafted bed, naturally dyed rugs and a very imaginative shower room. Chris and Jeanette have obviously put a great deal of thought into the construction of the lodges and there are some very interesting use of materials which really need to be seen to be appreciated. The following morning we could then fully appreciate the unique setting of our lodge which was just a few meters from the beach which is owned by Chris and Jeanette, it is a stunning vista, totally secluded and for the duration of our stay we only saw a couple of other people on the beach which for us was heaven! We made a trip to Stanley and climbed the very steep track to the top of the Nut to enjoy the wonderful views of the coast line and hinterland. Chris was very knowledgeable and informative about the history of Stanley and the outlying features of distant islands and features. We walked back to our lodge via the main beach and again only saw two other people despite the glorious sunshine and bracing wind.

We would thoroughly recommend a stay at any of the lodges at Beachside Retreat, this is a truly special place and it felt as if we were on the edge of the world, we left feeling we had experienced something that will stay with us forever.

Mark and Janet Wooff

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebottle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Hi Janet W,
Thank you for your much appreciated review.
We have tried to create something unique here, in the construction of the cabins and the way they fit into and complement the environment. We have utilized the beach stone and basalt rocks, which are plentiful on the property and the natural colours were chosen to fit in with the foreshore vegetation. Some of the innovative ideas actually came from our son's furniture designer background and his pieces in the cabins are always admired.
The top of the Nut is a wonderful place to experience our breathtaking scenery, but you do need to pick the right day as Stanley is renowned for strong winds.
We hope you had a safe and pleasant trip back to the UK.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
204 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
325 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
223 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
2.3 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: £79 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing