We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful seclusion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #4 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“peaceful seclusion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Beachside Retreat was everything we hoped for and more. Its location next to West Inlet is delightful with the constantly changing tide and the comings and goings of birds and other wildlife. Our accommodation at Oystercatcher Cabin was perfect with exceptional views over the inlet. Inside, the cabin was well appointed, clean and comfortable and the overall design most appealing. Staying on the property and walking along the beach would have made a wonderful holiday without going anywhere else, but that said, other attractions of the area are in close enough proximity. We enjoyed climbing the Nut and also drove to Arthur River and the End of the World. We are very much looking forward to another visit and highly recommend Beachside Retreat to anyone seeking peaceful seclusion.
Merrilyn and Roger

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Hi MerrilynS,
Thank you for your review. So glad you found everything you were hoping for and more. The location of the property can be dramatic with the changing colours of the landscape, the different moods of the sea and the interesting wildlife. The accommodation was specially designed with the comforts of guests in mind and using the services of an environmental architect, ensured we created the perfect holiday 'shack' within the coastal setting. Looking forward to seeing you again at a later date. Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    23
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
189
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

A beautiful, peaceful and convenient location for exploring the north west and west of Tasmania. Wonderful walks on the beach, stunning views and luxurious, eco-friendly accommodation. An ideal place to relax, enjoy a special occasion or visit the Tarkine. We didn't give ourselves enough time to do what we wanted so we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Hi GregS,
Thank you for your review.
Our property is situated conveniently to many attractions including a National Park, river cruises, lovely gardens and majestic waterfalls. Every taste is catered to, from rambling nature walks to historic estates. As you discovered, plenty of time is needed to experience and appreciate everything there is on offer and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future. Thank you for staying with us.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were warmly welcomed by the owners which set the benchmark for a truly enjoyable experience. The set up of this property allows for a very private stay with each cabin settled in its own private space overlooking a magnificent view across the Western Inlet and further to Bass Strait. We experienced wild weather and then total calm and the bay and its moods changed accordingly, absolutely stunning!
The cabin (Pelican) which we stayed in was not only unique in design and décor it was also very welcoming and comfortable - we felt very much at home.
We appreciated all the facilities provided ranging from BBQ to the very well set up kitchen.
We have no hesitation in recommending this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hi Bobs,
Thank you for your appreciative review. Pelican is everyone's favourite cabin; possibly because of it's position, adjacent to the bush track to the beach and it's quirky design. September was one of the wildest months we have experienced in the 37 years we have lived on the property, the stormy weather was relentless; mother nature can be very unforgiving. Love to see you again in the summer months when the weather is much kinder.
Best Wishes Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at beachside retreat in Pelican cabin based on the great reviews here on T/A and can honestly say that we weren't disappointed.
It is one of those locations that doesn't matter when the weather gods are not smiling, as was the case during our stay.
Beautifully and thoughtfully designed, each cabin is private from the rest and there is a nice feeling of remoteness whilst only being a five minute drive from Stanley township. The decor is unusual and of high quality and each cabin has both indoor & outdoor opportunity to absorb the beauty of its surroundings.

Booking and check in was simple and then the place felt like ours for the next 4 days. Access to the beach during our stay was difficult due to weather, however we did get a great sense of what it can be like during fine weather when on the last morning the wind stopped and the sun came out in full bloom... I was able to watch a local fisherman drift by and in the space of just a few moments landed 4 decent size fish right in front of our cabin.

If we return to this beautiful part of Tassie I would have no hesitation in rebooking at Beachside Retreat.

Room Tip: Pelican is the last Cabin and therefore does not have other cars driving by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belljoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi bellojohn,
Glad you enjoyed your stay in our latest contemporary cabin, Pelican and that it came up to your expectation. Location of each cabin was carefully considered, from the beginning, to ensure the utmost in privacy to guests. Only high quality fittings were sourced and designer-made furniture used. Many guests prefer booking directly from our comprehensive website; it is so quick and easy. As regards fishing in the inlet, we do have fishing rods available for guest use and also parking for boats. Sorry the weather was so wild when you were here; September has been exceptional this year. Hope to see you again in calmer times.
Best Wishes,
Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with a 3 week trip to Tasmania in March. The highlight was our stay at the Beachside Retreat! We spent 3 nights in the Sandpiper cabin. The beach was endless, and empty of people, but full of shells! We pulled the deck chairs out into the front and watched the Milky Way unfold above us. We took a tour with Chris into the Tarkine and really felt like we were seeing an insider's view into a beautiful part of the world. Both Chris and Janet are wonderful hosts! We would highly recommend this property and hope to return ourselves.

Room Tip: Loved the Sandpiper, perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattinichols21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hi Patti,
Belated congratulations on your 30th wedding anniversary. So glad you could spend it with us and Beachside Retreat proved to be the highlight of your Tasmanian visit. There are seldom more than a couple of people on the beach; usually you have it all to yourselves. Our night skies are the clearest in the world and the Tarkine the closest place to nature. Hope you will have the opportunity to return one day. Thank you for your review.
Best Wishes, Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had previously stayed for 2 nights in Oyster Catcher Ecocabin, a secluded waterfront self-contained unit and because we enjoyed it so much returned and stayed for a longer period of time. We were there during winter and found The Lodge to be cosy, comfortable and warm. We enjoyed walks on the secluded beach, eating fresh wild oysters from the rocks. Wild life was in its abundance ranging from pelicans, sea eagles, soldier crabs and oyster catcher birds. There are many attractions in the local area to keep you busy.
Janette and Chris were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much for them.
We are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hi JCLM,
Thank you for your review and repeat stay with us at Beachside Retreat.
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, despite the winter weather and that you are planning your next trip. The wildlife is wonderful and the area as a whole is totally unspoilt. Loved your sunrise image over the Nut. Looking forward to seeing you next time.
Best Wishes Janette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devonport
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Lovely spot right on the water. Well appointed cabin with interesting design. Loved the wildlife especially the birds. Good access to Stanley and other interesting places. Highly recommended . We would definitely stay again. Great hosts..

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hi Stephen,
Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The bird life is remarkable and the animals emerge shortly after sunset. We hope to see you again shortly, when your booking is for an extended stay.
Looking forward to seeing you again.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House B&B
Hanlon House B&B
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.4 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Property: Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing