We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #5 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Magic”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Beachside Retreat, this time it was just the two of us, we stayed in the Sea Eagle Luxury Nature Eco Cabin with spa. The cabin was lovely and clean, very stylish, great views over the inlet with an array of birds and wildlife. The BBQ is a great asset, the kitchen has all mod cons the spa is an added bonus my husband loved sitting in it at dusk with a beer watching the beautiful sunsets. Bed is comfortable, huge windows looking out at the garden, every window has a view. Such a great place to unwind, just relax read whatever. There are lots to see and do in the area. The owners Janette and Chris are wonderful hosts, there is also WIFI, so you can catch up on emails etc in the reception area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrishayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi chrishaywood,
Thank you for your review on your second visit, this time without the family. Delighted you enjoyed Sea Eagle with it's dune-top spa. What a great way to enjoy a beer, whilst watching the sunsets. We love all the photographs. Thanks for spending the time to add them to your review; excellent for potential guests to get a feel for the place. Delighted you were able to get out and about and experience this beautiful region; there certainly is plenty to do. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
191
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our family group of six, which included the in-laws had two fantastic nights at BeachsideRetreat staying in the Lodge.
On its own, away from the cabins we felt totally self-contained in this well appointed building. The two main bedrooms were of a good size with very comfortable beds, the kitchen was well equipped and the lounge/ diner ideal for watching the TV after our days out. The lap pool and spa got a big thumbs up from young and old alike.
We had our own deck looking out onto the Inlet with its pelicans and oystercatchers; which was a great place to start the morning.
The cabins also looked super when Janette suggested I have a look at that part of the property, which was alive with pademelons at dusk.
A great place to stay both close to Stanley and the Nut and also handy for Smithton and the Arthur River cruise.
We certainly plan to return in the not too distant future!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Hi Andy S,
Thank you for your review.
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the spacious well-equipped lodge, which is ideal for a family group with its 3 bedrooms, situated well away from the cabins for couples. The lap pool heated to 29 degrees and spa at 34 degrees are a favourite with guests of all ages, as well as the tidal lagoons. Looking forward to your return visit; try the secluded cabins next time. Best wishes. Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stanley was our last stay before leaving Tasmania and we could not have stayed at a more perfect place than Beachside Retreat. Our beach 'shack' named 'The Sea Eagle' was delightfully innovative in its design, beautifully appointed with bespoke furniture and a mere step away from the sandy beach. Great views onto the beach from large picture windows, a large verandah equipped with a bar-b-cue for cooking those local crayfish and an outdoor spa where we could relax and stargaze while admiring the waves, very hard to beat all this!

Room Tip: Just ask for a couples retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaynick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi Kaynick2014,
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your last few days in Tasmania at Beachside Retreat and explored the beautiful Stanley area. Sea Eagle is our most glamorous and luxurious cabin, fenced within its own enclosed garden and courtyard, which allows for even greater privacy for skinny dipping in your own private pool, whilst taking in the amazing water views below; definitely hard to beat! Very nice to meet you both and hoping to see you again sometime.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We loved the two nights we had at Sandpiper ecocabin. The setting is wonderful, the decor is unique and everything we needed for our comfort was provided. Our hosts Janette and Chris were most welcoming. The tour into the Tarkine Forest with Chris was most enjoyable with every effort made to ensure we had a memorable excursion.

Room Tip: A sea view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clyde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Clyde S,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your two night stay in Sandpiper cabin. We have tried to make all the cabins inspiring with rainforest-timber, designed furniture, environmentally sympathetic decor and situated in such a wonderful natural setting, makes for a relaxing, restful stay. The Tarkine wilderness is an interesting place; unfortunately not pristine as the guide books would have you believe, as mining has previously and is presently, taking place. Nice to meet you both. Perhaps we shall see you again one day.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Stanley and certainly won't be our last.
Within the first hour of our arriving at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, we knew that our 2 nights' stay was not going to be long enough!
Loved the location, the decoration of our "cabin" and the fact that Janette and Chris (the property owners) had thought of every convenience for guests' comfort. The lap pool was a real winner, too!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hi Colleen C, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your first and hopefully not your last, visit to Stanley. All the cabins are individually decorated with designer furnishings and creature comforts, which you obviously appreciated. Many guests like you, enjoyed the heated 15 metre lap pool and spa, overlooking the beach, which is absolutely magical at night under coloured lights. Love to see you again, one day, possibly for a longer stay.
Best wishes Janette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in Oystercatcher a 1 bedroom Eco Cabin over the Christmas period. Chris & Janette were fantastic hosts and we enjoyed Christmas drinks with them and the other guests on Christmas morning. Accommodation is beautifully fitted out and very comfortable. We were seconds from the beach and enjoyed long beach walks and sitting back on our deck watching the birdlife and local wildlife. We will definitely be back for another visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hi JaneS,
Thank you for your review. We were delighted that all our guests enjoyed drinks and nibbles with each other on Christmas Day. Some were a long way from home and it is not a day to be enjoyed on your own. The bird life and fauna is prolific around the cabins and along the high water mark. The white-breasted sea eagle is a regular visitor and the few pairs of endangered Hooded Plovers still call the sand dunes home. Our forests and wetlands still support the rare, striped marsh frog and Eastern-barred bandicoots. Thank you for staying with us. Looking forward to your return. Best Wishes Janette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at Beachside Retreat West Inlet for 3 nights of a 25 night trip to Tassie. As I booked the accommodation on line myself, my husband was very impressed with the quality of the accommodation. Our cabin "Sandpiper" was fantastic - I am sure all cabins at Beachside Retreat are equally so. Sandpiper is a luxury private stand-alone unit with private beach access and perfectly situated for touring the North West coast of Tasmania. It added a special touch to drive past the beautiful brown cattle as we drove into the property. Many tours can be booked through the owners and we could have stayed a week or longer. We loved it. We visited Dismal Swamp and the Arthur River, climbed the Nut and had several dinners at Xanders at Stanley.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hi LorraineB,
Thank you for your review. So glad your husband was impressed with your choice of accommodation. Most of the cabins are different in design, but all have similar first-class, unique fittings and their own private space on the dunes. Our cattle are about to change from the red Maine-Anjou you saw, to black Angus, as we have changed from 40 years of stud breeding to finishing (fattening) cattle for export. There is plenty to see and do in this regional area of Tasmania and some guests have stayed with us for several weeks at a time. Looking forward to seeing you again one day. Best Wishes Janette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
197 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
188 reviews
2.4 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Property: Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing