We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Stanley Hotel(Stanley)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stanley Seaview Inn(Stanley)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waterfront Wynyard(Wynyard)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wellers Inn(Burnie)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tall Timbers Tasmania(Smithton)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ikon Hotel(Burnie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
214
26
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
26
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachwindow seatround windowthe kitchenoutdoor spatimber decktwo nightslarge windowsbeautiful locationliving roomthe cottagesself containedstayed longerbass straitsandpiperwildlifeoystercatcher
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The property had all we needed and more and the view was amazing. We had a very relaxing stay and recommend this property to anyone wanting to stay at Stanley. The breakfast provisions were yum, especially the home made jam! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serrin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Hi Serrin,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you had everything that you needed to enjoy your stay here. Also thank you for recommending us to everyone; it is very much appreciated. Maybe we shall see you again one day.
All the best Janette.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We travelled to Tasmania to plan a 2 week holiday for a group of 15 couples driving old sports cars. We drove over 700kms the first day and 800 kms the third but in between had a 2 night 1 day stay at Beachside Retreat - what bliss. The weather was kind so we enjoyed the spa in the sand dunes, walks around the lovely local town of Stanley and on the beach near the Retreat and the intriguing local wildlife. Chris and Janette were wonderful hosts with advice before our trip about the best places to eat, the need for careful driving after dark (to avoid the intriguing wildlife) and had answers for any of our other queries, We cant recommend this retreat as a great place to stay for those who are look for a complete rest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hi Kerry,
Thank you for your review.
You certainly were on a mission. I'm sure your old sports cars will travel at a more leisurely pace, later in the year. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the outside, heated spa in the dunes, over looking the beach and exploring the pretty town of Stanley; one of Tasmania's iconic villages. Glad to help you out with local information and pleased your flying trip went to plan. Also hope that your group of car enthusiasts have a lovely trip in November. Maybe see you again one day.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014. It was a great way to end our three week trip around Tassie. We really enjoyed our wonderful cabin and the serenity of the location. The cabins are very unique in the way they are designed and positioned well in relation to each other offering maximum privacy. The Retreat is close to the quaint town of Stanley so you can enjoy all it has to offer, but still have lots of peace and quiet. The inlet views are wonderful and the hosts are very gracious. We definitely would return if we ever make it back to Tasmania.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JessRobt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi JessRobt,
Thank you for your review.
We are very pleased that you found your way here on the off-chance that we had availability on the day and were so impressed that you stayed three nights. As you noticed, all cabins are situated in the coastal vegetation and offer individual screening and privacy from each other. You would never know that other cabins are about thirty metres away. The fishing village of Stanley has a lot to offer, including several first-class restaurants, galleries, antiques and collectables, plus many historic places of interest. West Inlet is a very secluded place with interesting bird life, beautiful sunsets and a plentiful supply of oysters. Love to see you return, if you are ever in this part of the world again. Regards Janette.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in the Pelican cottage and found it to have everything we needed. Although we were not there in the red hot summer we did find a lot of heat comes in via the large windows, and the A/C was struggling to keep the place cool. But otherwise the place was fantastic. Bed very comfortable. The beach was very private, and how good is it when you can go and scrape off the oysters from the rocks and eat them then and there.
Lots of native animals visiting during the night. I suggest leaving the blind up at night to see the wonderful star system plus any little visitors.
Wi fi although available, would not reach to the Pelican cottage. Apparently if you want to take advantage of the wifi you must go and sit in the sitting room at reception. No big deal, if you have a good carrier, it worked ok for coverage in the room.
The little patio/sun deck was great for watching the sun going down while partaking in a nice drink and some local cheese. Great place to base yourself, and we visited a great place called Bluff Hill Point (lighthouse) and Mawson Bay, dirt roads but worth the drive.
Had a fantastic counter lunch at the hotel in Marrawah, so if you can fit that in, please go and enjoy.
In the cottage there were plenty of power points if you need to charge batteries etc up, and there is a laundry just up near the owners house which was also very good although I think you need a few coins to operate the machine(s)

It is not a cheap place to stay, but the privacy and of course the never ending supply of oysters on your doorstep are a big plus.

Room Tip: I would go for the Pelican if we stayed there again, although I upgraded before arriving from what we had ordered (Oystercatcher) simply because it had been very hot and I wanted to have an airconditioner in the cabin. But as I said it really struggles to cool the place down.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikowgcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi nikowgcf,
Thank you for your long review.
Fortunately with a cool maritime climate, north west Tasmania escapes the searing heat and high humidity of many mainland states, with a mean average summer temperature of 21 degrees C. The 4.5 kva inverter should have been sufficient to maintain a comfortable temperature. Glad you enjoyed the contemporary cabin, secluded beach and wild Pacific oysters. Try the heated, outdoor saltwater lap pool and spa next time. The laundry facilities offer a new automatic washing machine, outside drying lines and washing powder, all complimentary. The large commercial dryer ($2 for 40 minutes) is mostly used in the winter months. Looking forward to your return.
Regards Janette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We spent a week at the Beachside Retreat West Inlet and used it as our base to explore the west coast of Tassie.
The worst part of the experience was having to leave.
Friendly staff, great facilities, easy walk to the beach and a great base to explore from regardless of how far or wide you wished to travel.
Would certainly stay again on our next trip and would recommend it to anyone who wishes a pleasant stay in this woundful part of the world.

Room Tip: Self contained units are excellent
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachsideretreat, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hi Robyn,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your long stay here. Our staff are all friendly and helpful and our facilities are second to none. The heated saltwater pools are magical at night under the stars and the lap pool is great exercise during the day. Birdwatching and oyster harvesting are popular with our guests, and our Tarkine rainforest tours in Chris' Mercedes 4WD, guests find very interesting. We look forward to your next Tassie visit and meeting you again. Thank you for referring us to others. Regards Janette.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews