We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Babymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #5 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Babymoon”
Reviewed 26 January 2009

This was the perfect place for us to have a relaxing babymoon. Even though it was very windy and a little rainy, it was the perfect place to curl up and read a book. The large windows made for wonderful views of the beach and abundance of wildlife. Our second night there the wind died down and we were able to stroll the beach, which felt like it belonged to us, not another person in sight. Beautiful clear water and my husband was able to find an oyster to eat straight off the rocks.
Overall a very comfortable and relaxing holiday. I am sure we will be back again, I am dying to get in that crystal clear beach water!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
191
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

We really enjoyed our time at these eco-cabins. The view was exhilarating. Walking the deserted (early spring) beach was delightful. We found Stanley to be a wonderful small town with enough places to eat and shop for a few days. Had a wild climb up 'the nut', the hill that is the backside of Stanley. Chris and Janette, our hosts, were very helpful and one day Chris generously toured us around to some local sights and shops. We purchased a breakfast basket from them two days and ended up with more than enough food for some extra snacks and a third breakfast. We would heartily recommend this experience.

  • Liked — serene
  • Disliked — the weather was on the cooler side in the early spring but what we expected
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Beachside Retreat is just that - a collection of secluded eco-cabins designed for maximum privacy, overlooking a very beautiful beach. The interiors are aesthetically handcrafted from Tasmanian timbers which enhances the feeling of being in this enchanted isle. The Retreat is located on a stunning farm several kilometres from Stanley, a unique and unspoilt fishing village that retains a strong historical flavour without being touristy (but the coffee and food are excellent). As well as the wonderful beach, the farm has nature trails into the beachside forest. Every morning and evening we walked along the shore, often seeing sea eagles, and soaking up the ever-changing beauty of the water and sky. The sunsets on the beach are very special because of the gentle water of the inlet and the muted glow of the Tasmanian light. The accommodation is of the highest quality, and the hosts, Jeanette and Chris Bishop, are charming and most helpful. This is an experience not to be missed - you will assuredly want to come back!

  • Liked — The beauty and peacefulness of the setting
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Inparadiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

This was one of the best places we have stayed at in Australia - we did have a great time and with friendly people we really can say - stay here without fear of finding a dud!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — weather
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Die_5_SONKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narre Warren North
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Absolutely marvelous. Stayed in the Pelican self contained and we were left alone for the whole weekend. Greeted by our host Chris and Janeete and a breakfast basket. Then into the land of luxury. Views over the water all day, a few steps from the beach and wildlife on the doorstep. Close to the township of Stanley but we spent most of our time in this most incredible getaway.

Will stive to get back with our young son and have already recommended this getaway to our family and friends.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank ozball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2008

Staying in Pelican was an unforgetable experience. It's quirky architecture was complimented by the beautifully appointed interior and the fantastic views in such a peaceful location.
The supply of home made bread and preserves gave a nice homely touch.
Thank you Janette and Chris.
Sue and Roger

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank restronguet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

A great escape! Peaceful and private! Amazing location! Our cabin was a comfy and a simply fab little piece of architecture. Definitely recommended. The only thing wrong with our stay was that it was too short. We'll be back... sometime!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_and_S_escapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.4 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Property: Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing