We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #5 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb Getaway”
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Beachside Retreat is a stunning spot to get away from it all. The cabins are situated right on the beach with wonderful views and a real feeling of isolation. At low tide you can walk for miles along the beach, and the water is crystal clear (though a little on the cold side as I found out when I went for a morning dip). In fact the website doesn't do justice to just how stunning the beach is so I have included a few of my own photos to hopefully give a better idea of just how magnificent it is. We were fortunate in that we had lovely warm weather, and sitting on the deck overlooking the beach was glorious. Just 2 small qulams though - the deck is just a little too low so you can't really see the beach when you are sitting down, and the chairs on the deck are hard metal, not conducive to relaxing in the sun. A pair of comfy deckchairs would make this place perfect.

We stayed in Sandpiper which was really lovely. Very nicely designed and furnished. It's not really cheap given there is no breakfast or room servicing included, but that's no issue when you are lapping up the wonderful views and glorious serenity. And at low tide the beach is great for practicing your sand game (for those golfers out there!). Also Stanley is a beautiful quiet little town, and the views from the Nut are magnificent. Well worth the trek up there.

All in all a wonderful place to stay and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJ70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
191
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We just loved it but two nights just wasn't enough. We stayed in the sea eagle with the private hot tub, it was unreal watching the sun go down over the water. We give it top marks and would strongly recomend.

Simon & Nicole

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0nandNic0le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

We stayed in the family accommodation which was very 70s and not as upmarket as I expected (as i think the other accommodation is).
However there was plenty of room and all the necessities with very helpful hosts.
Stanley is a lovely quaint town but the highlight is definitely West Inlet beach.
For our 4 days there we hardly saw anyone else on the beach and you could walk for miles on unspoilt natural beach. There is safe swimming for kids and millions of soldier crabs birds shells etc.
Absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneSeashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinlet, Owner at Beachside Retreat West Inlet, responded to this review, 4 March 2009
Hi Melbourne Seashell,
Just to tell you a little about 'the family accommodation which was very 70s...'.
The lodge was built in 1993 for my elderly parents who wished to spend their twilight years with us, on our cattle property. After a short time the home was no longer required and was subsequently converted to holiday accommodation. Over the next 10 years the decor was upgraded; curtains, carpets and furniture replaced and a dishwasher, double corner spa, a barbecue deck and two additional bedrooms added, making it a very comfortable and spacious apartment.
I am sure that my parents would have been delighted to know that their late home is enjoyed by travellers from all over the world, including yourself.
Thank you for staying with us.
Your hostess - Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart, tasmania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Well deserved of its rating, the Beachside Retreat is the ultimate escape. Sheltered, secluded beach with not a soul in sight, right on the doorstep. Modern and unique accommodation, well equipped facilities, not far from picturesque Stanley. Truly relaxing! The roads in the north of Tasmania are the best in the state but be prepared for a long drive from Hobart. Enjoyed a terrific feed of fish and chips at The Seafood Restaurant above the takeaway but the Nut View Restaurant is to be avoided- overpriced and low quality pub-like food.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fariybreadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLaren Vale
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Just returned from this wonderful retreat.
Facilities were first class, hosts lovely and welcoming, setting spectacular, beach walks stunning.
Peace and quiet.... glad we stayed the two nights and would have stayed longer if we could.
The evening we arrived we were greeted by a superb sunset and, only metres from our deck, three dolphins gambolling along the Inlet accompanying a lone fisherman in his small boat.
Perfect !
Could not recommend this place more highly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Toilet and bathroom open and combined
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Leigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Blaxland
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Leonie & I spent 3 great nights in this well appointed lodge. The walks along the beach at low tide were terrific & the verandah of the lodge a perfect setting for a BBQ & a glass of wine. We will visit again & would certainly recommend this well run destination.

  • Liked — Location & Management
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lct12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

This was the perfect place for us to have a relaxing babymoon. Even though it was very windy and a little rainy, it was the perfect place to curl up and read a book. The large windows made for wonderful views of the beach and abundance of wildlife. Our second night there the wind died down and we were able to stroll the beach, which felt like it belonged to us, not another person in sight. Beautiful clear water and my husband was able to find an oyster to eat straight off the rocks.
Overall a very comfortable and relaxing holiday. I am sure we will be back again, I am dying to get in that crystal clear beach water!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
194 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#2 of 7 in Stanley
215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
186 reviews
2.4 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
128 reviews
2.3 mi away
Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Property: Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing