We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A World Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
Ranked #5 of 8 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2007

Having lived in England and Jersey, Channel Islands for many years we have unashamedly become use to a certain standard of accommadation that is hard to find in Tasmania. To impress my wife Della and myself we want a place that is out of the ordinary, a place that you immediately feel like you could spent the day reading a book and not wish to go anywhere else. A place that offers stunning scenery, bountiful Tasmanian wildlife and intuitive service from a hostess that sincerely cares about your expereince. Having stayed at the Beachside Retreat once before we had no hesitation in taking our dearest friends from Jersey their as we showed then the splendour of Tasmania and especailly the North West Coast. On our arrival we made ourselves at home in the beautifully designed and appointed Tasmanian natural timber eco freindly cabins. James and Ally were immeditely impressed wit the natural timbers and the stunning vista from the north to the far west. As it was a hot day we made our way down to the inlet were the water was crystal clear and suprisingly warm, even Ally went in! Later that day we surprised Ally and James with a helicopter flight, suggested by Janet our host, to Wool North, a property on the most northwestern tip of Tasmania. The scenery was spectacular providing an expereince none of us shall ever forget. That evening we watched the sun go down from the cabin deck as we sipped one of the many delightful Tasmanian wines on offer. Later we made a short car trip into the historical township of Stanley for dinner at a restaurant that can only be described as outstanding. The ambience and service was unqestionable, not to mention the Tasmanian lamb shanks and seafood enjoyed by everyone. During the time our dear friends spent inTasmania we/they stayed at many locations, but it is the Beachside Retreat West Inlet Echo Cabins that has impressed us the most. In concluding it should be made clear that the comments made are not said lightly or with bias. It is a 'no brainer' for us, so if your visting the north west coast I highly recommend you try the Beachside Retreat West Inlet.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank PhillipHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2007

Recently returned from four fantastic months in the Americas, I am convinced that Beachside Retreat is perhaps the most truly peaceful and relaxing place I have ever had the good fortune to spend time.
This is our third visit in three years. We have done loads of the toursity things in and around Stanley and the West Coast. However, it is sipping Tasmanian sparkling wine whilst sitting on the deck or in the giant porthole window of our ecocabin and meditating on the surrounding bushland or beach that is what makes Beachside Retreat so special and so serene. It is private and secluded and the ecocabins are delightful. I can't wait until next year!
Skye Fraser, Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

6  Thank CieloHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2006

Janette, our friendly and informative host showed us around the eco-cabin and told us about the restaurants and tours available.

Imagine our delight when, minutes after settling into our cosy self-contained cabin we saw the majestic Sea Eagle soaring high above the beautiful sandy beaches of the bay. The seagulls hopped around at the water's edge and the little blue wren chose to perch on a branch just outside our window.

This was the best place we stayed in during our trip to Tasmania. The views were superb and the beaches quiet and secluded and only metres away. The beachside vegetation seemed largely undisturbed and yet the township of Stanley was only minutes away.

The weather was cold but the sun was streaming into our cabin making the heater unnecessary. All the appliances were modern and efficient. The ambiance of the eco-cabin was wonderful with the creative woodwork of the bedside tables and bedhead and the coffee table in the sitting room adding real class. The porthole window provided a lovely place to sit with the sun on your back and the watercolour paintings in the bedroom were
interesting.

I believe there are some good restaurants in Stanley. Next time maybe. We will be back.

Stayed: October 2006
13  Thank CatherineCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

When deciding on the perfect way to treat my husband for his 30th birthday this year, I looked no further than Beachside Retreat. Having watched the travel program "Getaway", my husband and I had vowed that we just HAD to stay there some day! So remebering this I found the website and to my excitement found that since "Getaway" had screened, Janette and Chris Bishop had added another unique adventure to their amazing accommodation experience...a helicopter ride!
Well...that sealed the deal! With the help of Janette, the flight was organised. My husband was greeted outside our cabin by a Bell Long-Ranger helicopter and to his delight found himself seated with our charming American pilot. As for myself, I was seated in the rear of the helicopter in luxury leather seating enjoying panaromic views from floor to ceiling windows! It was truly exhilarating and as we lifted off and journeyed out over West Inlet Farm and towards Stanley, we had a fantastic brid's eye view of the imposing and majestic Nut. The scenery really is spectacular and from our lofty vantage point, the sweeping coastal views of farmlands and secluded beaches was a wonderful reminder of how special this region of Tasmania is.
The helicopter ride was a wonderful memento of my husband's birthday and an invigorating way to begin a sunny Sunday morning. Fortunately, our experince was captured on camera and video and so we have re-lived our wonderful flight many times since!
Beachside Retreat is a truly unique place to stay. The Eco-Cabins snugly nestled by the secluded beach (where we also picked wild oysters off the rocks) are both innovative in design and extremely well appointed. We were delighted to see that Janette and Chris found the opportunity to showcase some of the talented artisits we have here in Tasmania by using artwork and handcrafted furniture throughout the cabin. The underwater themed bathroom is a real treat also!
My husband and I have recommended Beachside to many family and friends and we are delighted to say that they have also loved Beachside Retreat. The Bishop's are to be applauded for their unique vision and superior accommodation and we know that we will be back to saty again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank buffy-bear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2006

This is a superbly operated business that has used creativity and a genuine passion for the environment to provide accommodation that is unique and very user friendly. I went for 2 nights and wanted to stay a lifetime. Simply outstanding accommodation and views.

The accommodation is superb and matched by the wonderful, ever changing views. Everything in the ecocabin has been well thought out - right down to the provision of chef cooked frozen meals if required. Inclusions in the cabins were way beyond basic and very thoughtful.
Lots of information was provided about the wildlife, attractions, history and arts. The owners are polite, friendly and knowledgeable and justly proud. It's sensational!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Travelbug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
116
Reviewed 4 May 2006

If you are in the Stanley area then the Beachside Retreat is a great find. The setting is superb and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cabins are an original design but very well appointed with plenty of comfort and lots of attention to detail. The site itself has a wonderful ambience that takes advantage of the waterfront site and lets you look out on one of the cleanest environments that nature has to offer. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Perthshire-Scotland
117
Reviewed 4 May 2006

We toured tasmania for the month of february to escape the worst of our scottish winter. We had done a whistle stop tour for a week thirty one years ago and always meant to return but four kids and a thousand acres of potatoes got in the way. Tasmania is lovely , everything was great and about two thirds of prices at home. We played 15 golf courses , many without seeing a soul. We booked the bungalow beside the farm steading for three nights and stayedfor five. My wife fell in love with west inlet and did not want to leave. Stanley has the famous nut and many lovely restuarants. Shingle Inn was my favourite run by a very lovely mother and daughter , also Stanley-on-the -bay was very good , for lunch I sneaked of to "best burgers in the world" in the centre of town. If anyone is looking for lovely self catering facilities in a great location book into west inlet , you will not regret it. The Bishops offered an eco cabin when one became free , but although it looked great we were delighted to stay where we were in the bungalow. You have to learn to have your evening meal between 1800hrs and 2000hrs so probably will not suit the french. If flying from UK try Gulf Air business class not as expensive as some of the others and a great way to travel and the use of business lounges makes traveling half way round the world an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanley
2.5 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
204 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tall Timbers Tasmania
Tall Timbers Tasmania
#1 of 1 in Smithton
325 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 8 in Stanley
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hanlon House
Hanlon House
#3 of 8 in Stanley
223 reviews
2.1 mi away
Horizon Deluxe Apartments
2.3 mi away
@ VDL Stanley
@ VDL Stanley
#4 of 8 in Stanley
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachside Retreat West Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Retreat West Inlet

Address: 253 Stanley Highway, Stanley, Tasmania 7331, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range: £79 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachside Retreat West Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Retreat is a waterfront hideaway in north west Tasmania, where four contemporary beach houses, just for couples, nestle on the dunes, overlooking a secluded, private beach. A 3 B/R spa lodge, adjacent to the homestead , is available for 5 adults, or 4 adults and 1 child, in 2 double bedrooms, one with an adjoining single room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Beachside Retreat West Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Retreat West Inlet Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing