We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really beautiful place to stay!”
Review of Hanlon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanlon House
Ranked #2 of 7 Stanley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Really beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Awsome location .... Mouth watering breakfast.... Beautifully appointed rooms... What more can I say..
Location - majestic sea views
Food - incredible breakfast (made to order) menu
Rooms - Very clean, beautiful quality linen and very well appointed
Cost - very reasonable net deals

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SisterRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
138
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

It is such a treat when you find not only wonderful accommodation but the service to go with it. Maxine and Graham epitomise what great service should be in Tasmania. Do yourselves a favour and enjoy their hospitality. Hanlon House is just a short stroll to the bottom of the Nut, the beach, and to the centre of the town. We did day trips and used the B&B as our base. It was an added bonus to have locals as hosts to help us out with suggestions for sights and for dining. The whole experience would be very hard to fault. Many thanks!

Room Tip: Loved the Mary Ellen room as it had a balcony with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255097KaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We chose Hanlon House because of it's Tripadvisor rating and we were not disappointed. Perfectly located almost on the Nut's doorstep and right around the corner from restaurants and the pub, the property presents as a charming, beautifully restored and maintained residence.
Greeted by Maxine and Graham, our hosts, we were immediately made welcome; treated to afternoon tea in their gorgeous dining room which looks out to the beach and houses a huge, beautifully constructed dining table built by Graham out of blackwood. Maxine recommended some local eateries (she had copies of menus) which proved spot on.
Next morning we were treated to the best breakfast of our trip selected from a sizable menu. We chose the eggs benedict which was delicious! Sharing breakfast with other guests it was clear that Maxine and Graham have many loyal guests who return over and over again. It's hardly surprising - Hanlon House is a very special place where you leave there feeling like you have been enveloped in a big, warm hug!

Very sorry to leave this morning
Our room was immaculately clean and well appointed

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Illawongtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

From the location, to the rooms, to the service to the owners personalities - just perfect

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggles23Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

What a superb property with truly delightful hosts! Maxine and Graeme were the perfect hosts - the property is truly stunning. One of the locals we met on the Seal Cruise asked where we were staying - when we mentioned Hanlon House - his response was ' well, you have chosen the best of the best'.... and he was right! We are sorry our stay was for one night only - we look forward to returning and staying longer. The breakfast was AMAZING and the menu one of the most extensive I have ever come across. If you are looking for a truly memorable place to stay - look no further - a perfect B & B in a lovely place - loved Stanley - loved Hanlon House! Thankyou Maxine and Graeme!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arctophile_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Two nights of sheer luxury, overwhelming hospitality, superbaccommodation and scrumptious and generous breakfast is what you we enjoyed recently. Maxine and Graham are first-class hosts, a beautiful B&B, excellent location and the view from the breakfast room as you looked across the ocean was worth a million dollars. All that you could possibly want is there and if not, Maxine and Graham know someone who knows someone else who does! A stay to remember and hopefully to return one day. Jo and Andy from Canberra

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanberraJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Maxine and Graham are wonderful people with a real talent. They made us feel so welcome in their family home, whilst giving us privacy. There were 5 other couples staying the same night, yet we all received personal service and the house did not feel at all crowded. I honestly don't know how they do it!

We stayed in an upstairs loft room which was both quiet and comfortable. The house itself is on 3 levels and has the most amazing views of the ocean from the spacious dining room.

Included in our rate was a 3 course dinner which Maxine lovingly prepared for my husband, son and I (the other couples ate at the local pub, their loss, haaa). We had fresh chicken and vegetable soup, lamb shanks with vegetables and apple/rhubarb crumble for dessert and it was DIVINE! They also have a great selection of Tasmanian wines to chose from, all reasonably priced.

Breakfast was amazing. A huge array of choice. We had the 'maxine special' which was eggs with salmon and baby spinach but there was a choice of at least 10 other optionsfor hot food. Homestyle jams, King Island yougurt, home-made bread was among some of the other tempting offerings included for breakfast.

I was very impressed with Hanlon House and my only regret is that we only stayed one night. We will definitely return again. Stanley is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melwollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stanley hotels
0.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stanley
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ark Stanley
The Ark Stanley
#1 of 7 in Stanley
186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanley Seaview Inn
Stanley Seaview Inn
#1 of 3 in Stanley
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BayView Guesthouse
BayView Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Stanley
128 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beachside Retreat West Inlet
0.3 mi away
Stanley Cabin and Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanlon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanlon House

Property: Hanlon House
Address: 6 Marshall St, Stanley, Tasmania 7330, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Stanley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hanlon House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanlon House is everything a seaside accommodation should be - a perfect mix of history, character and hospitality. Centrally located under the Nut and close to the beach. Enjoy our quality en-suited rooms and spectacular dinning room overlooking the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanlon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanlon House Stanley, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing